Customer Reviews for

Vanishing Acts

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you've not read Jodi Picoult before, start here!

Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So ...
Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So many things stand out to me about this book. The presentation of the story from several of the character's perspective is nothing short of literary genius. It affords you the reader a fuller, broader, more well rounded story because it's all in the first person. The second thing that stands out for me was the amount of research that went into this story. Kudos to Ms. Picoult for a job exceptionally done. It added to the vibrant fabric of this well crafted story in such a natural way that it only enhanced the experience of reading it. And of course there was the story itself. I could talk about the story, the characters, the revelations. But honestly all I can think of is love. The love of a father for his daughter. The bond that such a love can create. It's about when your life is put on trial and under the microscope, what realizations, enlightenments do you come away with. If you haven't read a Ms. Picoult book start here. STATS: EBook pagers (Nook):359

posted by CeCeSG on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

please dont ruin it for others

with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of...
with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of it, it doesnt retell the story and ruin it for others. thanks.

posted by 5774980 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Wow

    All i can say is that this is a very good book i wont be a spioler but i jist want to say dont read this unless you are 12 or over or very very mature

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    GREAT READ

    This is deff a page turner. It was very interesting and I like the whole mystery and trying to figure out how the story will end kind of theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Love

    Could not put this book down!!! Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Decent

    It was pretty good overall. Likable characters. Not sure what the point was of all the Native American references and stories. But good story overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Awesome book

    I loved this book! Its a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Great Read!

    I love reading Jodi Picoult books and this is another great story! This novel would make a great movie as well!l

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    One of Picoult's Best!!!!!

    I really liked this book!!! It is one of my favorites Jodi Picoult wrote because it did not have a disapointing ending. I read Handle with Care and really liked that book but the ending just made me so mad I ended up not liking the book because of the ending. A few books Jodi wrote ended that way. The ending of this book is very good and is a page turner all through out the novel. I would highly recomend it!!! Great Job Picoult!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    The worst book ever!!!!

    I dont recomened this book at all the author repetes themselfs a hundred times just to fill up pages and it is very hard to follow the story line and did not need to no all about the tribe in this book

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    One of my favorites by picoult!

    This is great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Read it!

    I wasn't sure if i would like it that much, but once i got into the book by a few chapters, i couldn't put it down! I have yet to read a book by Picoult that isn't awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Another Good Read!!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Excellent book. Causes one to wonder what you'd do given the same circumstances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    awesome

    coudnt put this book down, i think it is one of her bests!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Great Book

    Jodi has done it this time. You should read it, it's a 'Great Book'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    As with all of Jodi Picoult's books, the topic was intriguing. However, as the book progressed, I thought it became too mystical and lacked storyline and drama. This remains the only downfall of Jodi Picoult's writing. She often gets carried away by Native American magic and folklore, that few would find interesting, and only serve as a backdrop and don't really have anything to do with the story. I am often tempted to skip entire sections in order to get back to the story. This was not one of my favorites of her's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    i could not put this one down!!

    i loved this book, it was passed on to me from a friend! it was suspenseful, i just could not stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Just an okay Jodi book-

    I really like Jodi Picoult as an author. This was not one of her better books. She has written better. This is the story of Delia who was raised by her father. Her father believed her mother was dead. Now Delia has a daughter and a fiancee'. We find out that her father took her away from her mother as a girl because her mother was an alcoholic. This book was too predictable and just okay. Jodi has written better stories. I would pick a different Jodi book to read. This was just okay not anything great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    Great book

    This author never seems to disappoint. I could not put the book down. The story line was good, and you got to know the characters and feel what they were feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    An adventure in human emotions

    The author has done it again! A book that was hard to put down without completing. On to her next writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vanishing Acts Book Review

    I thought Vanishing Acts by Jodi Picoult was a wonderful book! You really got to know each character so well that you felt you were almost that person. The thing that made this book so grabbing was the sudden plot twist right from the beginning. It started off with the main character, Delia searching for missing people when in fact she was a missing person herself! I would recommend this book to everyone because by the end of the book you will feel fully satisfied but also sad because the characters you knew to love suddenly change in a flash of a second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17