Customer Reviews for

Vanishing Acts

Average Rating 4
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you've not read Jodi Picoult before, start here!

Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So ...
Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So many things stand out to me about this book. The presentation of the story from several of the character's perspective is nothing short of literary genius. It affords you the reader a fuller, broader, more well rounded story because it's all in the first person. The second thing that stands out for me was the amount of research that went into this story. Kudos to Ms. Picoult for a job exceptionally done. It added to the vibrant fabric of this well crafted story in such a natural way that it only enhanced the experience of reading it. And of course there was the story itself. I could talk about the story, the characters, the revelations. But honestly all I can think of is love. The love of a father for his daughter. The bond that such a love can create. It's about when your life is put on trial and under the microscope, what realizations, enlightenments do you come away with. If you haven't read a Ms. Picoult book start here. STATS: EBook pagers (Nook):359

posted by CeCeSG on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

please dont ruin it for others

with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of...
with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of it, it doesnt retell the story and ruin it for others. thanks.

posted by 5774980 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book by Jodi Picoult.

    I enjoyed the book but there were some things in the book that got me mad.Delia's father did what he had to for his daughter.He did everything to protect her.He didn't want his daughter to see that she had an alcoholic for a mother.Plus that she cheated on her husband with a guy named Victor. That was a no no.While her mother was passed out,Victor abused her daughter without Delia's mother finding out about it.Delia put it way back in her mind and forgot about it.Until later in life.The Judge had such harsh things to say about him being from New Hampshire.Judge says"I don't know how you hicks do it down in New Hampshire but in Arizona, we do it differently."Emma Wasserstein wasn't any better. The two characters that made me upset.Well,Eric who is Delia's fiancee upsetted me too when he got so mad at her father-Andrew.He did what he needed to do to get away from the abuse his daughter was getting from Victor and mistreatment from her mother Elise.Don't get me wrong.This was a great read.Jodi Picoult is an excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great story by a great author

    Picoult has a way of pulling you right into the story and making it your own. Her storylines seem far-fetched at first glance, but once you start the book you realize just how easily it could happen. Have to nominate Jodi Picoult as one of the best authors/storytellers of this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    amazing

    From beginning to end, this book was just amazing.You'll find yourself loving all the characters and recommend other Picoult books. This story is about a man who made a mistake in his past but has no regrets about kidnapping his own daughter. It has a little bit of everything... READ IT! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    WOW!

    This book was GREAT! Ms. Picoult is just an amazing writer! I was hooked from the very beginning, and it was so very hard to put down. I would recommend this to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Vanishing Acts-- A huge Success

    Nineteen Minutes was the first book I read by Jodi Picoult and when I was finished I was ecstatic to dive into another one of her novels. Vanishing Acts lived up to my high expectations and exceeded them at times. The twists and turns kept me anxious to pick up the book any time I had spare moment. The ending left my mind to wander a bit which wasn't exactly the ending I was hoping for but none the less I was once again impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Even better than expected!

    I liked the concept of things disappearing throughout the book. For instance, the main character's father is a magician. The main character's vocation is searching for missing children. The main character's life disappears when she discovers secrets about her early life. Riveting, thought-provoking plot, and very satisfactory ending. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Great Author Escellent book

    I read a few other books from Picoult. I had read Plain truth and enjoyed it. Her books have a certin touch. Vanishing acts had that for me. Picoult has been a great author that i have read in such a long time. Read Vanishing ACts and you will see my point. And i cant wait to read The Tenth Circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    She searches for missing people, when all along, she was the one missing.

    Delia works as a search and rescuer. It is unexplainable that she searches for missing people, because twenty-eight years later, she finds out she is missing. Her father kidnapped her at age four. Her father was taken to jail. Delia¿s fiancé, Eric, was a lawyer, so he represented her father. Delia met her mother in Arizona, but she wasn¿t at all what Delia expected her to be. Her father told the jury that he took Delia because her mother was an alcoholic and couldn¿t take care of herself, so obviously she couldn¿t take care of a four year old child. Another reason he said he took her was because the man Delia¿s mother was having an affair with at the time, abused her. Is that true? Or does he just want to be proven innocent? I liked how in the book Fitz, Eric, and Delia were all best friends almost the whole time. I also liked that the father was willing to break the law in an attempt to let his daughter have a better life. Another thing I liked was how there were several incidents in the book that made Delia feel how her mother must have felt twenty-eight years ago. Really the only thing I disliked was how at the end Fitz, Eric, and Delia weren¿t as close of friends. This book is not part of a series, and I haven¿t found any other books like it, but if I ever did, I would definitely read them. I think people that like to be kept in suspense would really enjoy this book. This book is one of those books that you don¿t want to put down until you¿re finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Excellent

    Being a first time read of this author, I must say that this book was excellent. It was very gripping and sucked you in from the first page. I found myself smiling of some of the characters remarks and then filled with tears at other. I thought the author did an excellent job at keeping this story so real. It was as if you were Delia, Eric, Andrew and Fitz. I love how each chapter was about an indiviudal character while still flowing along with the story. I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Another amaising book by Jodi Picoult.

    I love all of Picoult's books, and this one was definately no acception. I disagree with the comments saying that there were too many references to the Native American culture. Part of what makes Picoult's writing so fantasic is her ability to take other situations and apply them to her story. If you looked and read closely, the chapters about Indians only added to the depth of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Another great book by Picoult!

    I do agree that I could have done without some of the Indian scenes as they tended to move slow, but overall the book was excellent! I wanted more of the two characters at the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    WOW

    Awesome great read, do more please. You make me feel like I am there. My life has not been easy but your writings take me to nice places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2005

    A magical book

    What a magnificent book. It is beautifully written and I hated to finish it. This is the first book I have read by this author, but it will not be the last. I cannot wait to read her earlier works. It is a story of family love and life and sadness and joy, with a legal thriller and suspense mixed in. Beautiful, engaging characters fill the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2005

    Oh my what a good book!

    If you judge the captivating power of a book by how late you stay up to read just one more chapter or how many things you trade to have reading time, be prepared to stay up late and postpone shopping for this book. The author has created three young adults, best friends and lovers for life; three adults who sometimes are wise and sometimes not; and a darling little girl to tell the story of love so strong you lie to protect the one you love, even if it hurts. Whether or not you believe this is valid, the bits of wisdom dropped here and there are alone worth the read. The author's device of using the differing characters to explain not only themselves but the other characters works smoothly. All the characters are flawed, except the little girl, and all are good, also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Picoult Does It Again

    Jodi Picoult is my favorite author. She never disappoints. I picked this up at the library before the release date and couldn't put it down. Picoult always chooses a contemporary hot topic and weaves her magic through the plot and characters. If you're a Picoult fan, this book is for you. If you're not, start reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Definitely a MUST READ

    Hope, discomfort, the struggle to find one¿s true identity, shame, forgiveness, and love from deep within fill the pages of this drama. Vanishing Acts makes one think about whom you can depend on to tell you what you really stand for in life. Picoult is famous for the way she creates such insane family conflicts. I love it!! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous legal thriller

    In New Hampshire, Delia Hopkins and her dog Greta work as a great team helping the police find missing people mostly children. Every time she and Greta succeed in reuniting a mother and child, Delia reflects on her own life raised by her father since her mother died in a car accident when she was three. She also always ponders how she would react if her beloved child Sophie vanished. Though engaged to her daughter¿s father, Delia raises her daughter mostly with the help of her sixty years old dad Andrew, who runs a senior-citizens' home.--- The relationship between father and daughter that seemed perfect for over three decades collapses instantly when Arizona police arrest and have Andrew extradited to Phoenix on kidnapping charges; the victim ironically is Delia. She learns that her mother Elsie still lives and that her father abducted her when she was three because he insists she was an alcoholic dangerous to their child. Delia meets her mother, who is a sober caring healer while her dad¿s tale has inconsistencies; she wonders whether the truth will surface in court?--- The changing perspectives as each of the key players take turns as the lead provides an intriguing look at what is truth as the audience will observe the same incident interpreted differently, which leads to reality seemingly shifting. The story line is fast-paced, but character driven and filled with angst. Though sidebars like the prison scene add excitement that seems unnecessary to a fabulous thriller that grips the audience in and out of the courtroom wondering whose point of view will ultimately be accepted as fact.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7