Customer Reviews for

Vanity Fare: A novel of lattes, literature, and love

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings This book was c

Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

This book was centered around a woman who is in the middle of going through a pretty bad divorce, while raising her son and trying to find the next job to support her family.  With three leading men in this book, the read...
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

This book was centered around a woman who is in the middle of going through a pretty bad divorce, while raising her son and trying to find the next job to support her family.  With three leading men in this book, the reader was left to wonder who would end up in her life, if anyone at the end of the book.

posted by KrittersRamblings on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This was a fun book to curl up on the couch with and read. Molly

This was a fun book to curl up on the couch with and read.
Molly Hagen’s husband left her and their 6 yr. old son for a younger, blonder woman.
At her wits end with no child support, help finally comes in the form of an old friend who
gives her a job as a copywriter for...
This was a fun book to curl up on the couch with and read.
Molly Hagen’s husband left her and their 6 yr. old son for a younger, blonder woman.
At her wits end with no child support, help finally comes in the form of an old friend who
gives her a job as a copywriter for a new bakery in town.
The last thing on Molly’s mind is romance but, with a sexy baker and an arrogant handsome
Business partner romance is exactly what she finds.
The food puns are fun and the recipes at the end were a welcome “the end” for me.

posted by anniemichelle on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Okay, I might gush about this book a little, because I absolutel

    Okay, I might gush about this book a little, because I absolutely adored it! Heartfelt, witty, and emotional. I usually gauge a good book
    by whether or not it makes me cry, and I teared up more than once while reading this. I could relate to Molly's character, her insecurities,
    and I cheered her on as she found her inner strength. 

    I loved the food/literature puns that preceded each chapter and the supporting characters were wonderful. There was nothing overdone  
    about this story. It felt real. The characters felt real. Molly's divorce, her son, and her life were real. 

    And to top it all off, there are recipes at the end of the book! For pastries! You just can't beat that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a fun book to curl up on the couch with and read. Molly

    This was a fun book to curl up on the couch with and read.
    Molly Hagen’s husband left her and their 6 yr. old son for a younger, blonder woman.
    At her wits end with no child support, help finally comes in the form of an old friend who
    gives her a job as a copywriter for a new bakery in town.
    The last thing on Molly’s mind is romance but, with a sexy baker and an arrogant handsome
    Business partner romance is exactly what she finds.
    The food puns are fun and the recipes at the end were a welcome “the end” for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    This book was witty, charming, heartfelt and so fun to read! I l

    This book was witty, charming, heartfelt and so fun to read! I loved it! I was excited to go home and read it at night and happy to pass it along to my friends and co-workers looking for something fun and light to read.  I don't often read chick lit, but I am glad I picked this one up and would highly recommend to anyone needing something lighthearted or a laugh.  Plus, the main character's addiction to coffee and patries was totally relatable to me! Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings This book was c

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    This book was centered around a woman who is in the middle of going through a pretty bad divorce, while raising her son and trying to find the next job to support her family.  With three leading men in this book, the reader was left to wonder who would end up in her life, if anyone at the end of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2015

    Nice surprise

    Sometimes you find books that you hear are either good or not, depending on the ratings sometimes. And then when you read the book yourself, you find that they were right. Or you find a nice surprise and actually like the book.

    I really liked this one. The writing was good, especially the food mentions and descriptions of the different food book titles for each chapter.

    Oh right, the book. I wasn't sure I was going to like this. But the more I read it, the more I wanted to see the MC succeed for herself and son.

    The characters I liked as well, like John, Lissa and her therapist. Especially Nick. I mean near the end, I had a big smile on my face. And was like, thank you an MC using the common sense. Much appreciated book. And character development.

    Also, that cover is eye catching. Cookies and books. A good combo.

    Basically, this was a good book themed book. And glad I finally read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Molly's life is a mess.  Her husband leaves her for a younger wo

    Molly's life is a mess.  Her husband leaves her for a younger woman, loses his job and informs her that he won't be able to pay child support.  Her mother is in financial trouble and forced to move in with Molly and her son.  She needs a job.  Fast.  While looking for a permanent job, she finds a temporary copy-writing job working on a project with a big celebrity chef and his somber partner.  On top of these problems, Molly has insecurities and worries brought on by her husband and years of not speaking up for herself.  Molly soon finds that as long as she has her coffee and her son, she's prepared to face her problems.




    There were so many things done incredibly well with this book and few things that just bugged the heck out of me.  All in all, Molly really grew on me and found myself able to just sit back and enjoy.  Oh and did you see this cover and caption?  It's so cute.  That alone made me want to set aside a whole afternoon to read this book and drink coffee.  If that isn't enough, there are cute catchy book/bakery puns that were quite adorable.  I loved them.  However, the story didn't quite match the vibe that I was expecting based on the cover and packaging.   I didn't find Molly that funny or witty and there were a few contradictions to her character that I just didn't get.  The funny/witty moments were there but many just fell flat for me.  But that little disappointment aside, this was good read.  Molly experienced so much growth and grew into a confident person.  Her interactions with her son was cute and seemed real to life.  Plus, the romance was super cute.  It made me smile and feel all warm inside.  Just like coffee.  I also liked how the book ended.  It threw a huge surprise out but seemed more realistic.  The side characters were likable and fun, though a bit one-dimensional.  I enjoyed learning about their conflicts and resolutions.  




    Overall, not what I expected but well worth the read.




    P.S.  I was quite impressed with the overall vision of this book (geeky I know).  I felt like there was a common theme from the front cover all the way through to the description.  While I'm not doing flips over the story, I don't think I would give this book away.  It's a keeper and I want it in my library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Enjoyed it!

    Charming story of a middle aged mom from Brooklyn who's husband leaves her, forcing her to dive back into the workforce. A fun, witty read perfect to unwind with after the hectic holidays. Looking forward to future works of the same genre by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Secondary stallions' dens

    A few seperate dens next to each other that are large enough for a secondary stallion and his mate. ~MAR€D

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2015

    Completely down-to-earth character that anyone can identify with

    Completely down-to-earth character that anyone can identify with on some level. Witty, smart and sometimes
    hilarious, banter. The plot is fast-paced and the characters are beautifully developed.
    Need more books from Megan Caldwell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Fun read

    After reading this book i feel the need to read some classics. This is a fun chick lit book that inspires you want to read a smart book or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    I found this book to be fun. The plot was very well done, and I

    I found this book to be fun. The plot was very well done, and I kept reading later and later into the night to finish the book and get to the ending.  I didn't feel the book was the least bit predictable. 
    I was very happy with the ending.  A delightful summer read in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Fusion and Dauphin

    Fusion whinnied in sadness as she watched her brother collapse and struggle on the ground. •¿•¿•¿• Dauphin stumbled up and was able to get a few feet then collapsed again.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Storm Chaser

    Walked over to Dauphin. "Stay. Don't come out of cave until better. That's an order." The stallion gave Dauphin a couple apples then padded out.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Thanos

    He walks in, knowing which mare he wishes to share his den. He lays down, then closes his eyes, daydreaming.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1