Customer Reviews for

Vapor Trails

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lose the synths, please

    I can't really hear Geddy's bass very well, too much synthesizer, and I only heard 3 ''solos'' from Alex, and those were mostly covered up by synths. Don't get me wrong, I like keyboards when used sparingly and tastefully, but this was overkill. Geddy should go back to singing without harmony overdubs, or have someone else sing the harmonies. Moving Pictures is still their best album, they have went downhill(more pop than substance) ever since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Makes up in poor audio for what it lacks in creativity.

    This album is certainly different than the other Rush albums but not in a positive sense. The new songs are ''OK'' but lack the complexity and creativity that we typically see from this band. I get the feeling that anyone could have made this album. Also, the lack of guitar solos and over-harmonized vocals give the entire album a muddy sound, but perhaps that is for the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They're baaaaack!

    Vapor Trails finally booted Dream Theater's Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence out of my car CD player. If this isn't the best Rush CD in the past 10 years, and I mean a totally complete CD, then I need my hearing checked. Everything clicks, from Neil's precision, to Geddy's remarkable voice with those great harmonies, to the wondrous Alex Lifeson showing that you don't have to be in your twenties to sound amazing. He owns Vapor Trails. Peaceable Kingdom and Secret Touch completely floored me, and remain my favorites at this moment. Earthshine and How it is should be considered for the next single. One Little Victory is so going to rock the house. Now if only they could get Dream Theater to open for them, life would be just perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RUSHing into Extinction

    Why do you have to listen to these songs 10 times and try very hard to enjoy them?! That is so sad. When I first heard Limelight, The Camera Eye, By-Tor, 2112, Lakeside Park, La Villa Strangiato etc it was instant enjoyment and admiration for the power trio. I agree with the 'few' 1 & 2 star raters that these songs lack melody, timelessness, craftmanship etc and are on the whole not worth even copying. I have struggled with Rush's progressive style since Signals (maybe that is my problem).By the way does anyone else out there get sick of the childish lyrics like ''Dog Years''?....get Terry Brown back now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    boring bad blah bleh etc....

    Wow, is this bad. Take away the vocals, and this could be any other grunge band from the 90's that sucks.... Too bad. Rush used to rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very, very good. One more time, Rush shows your talent

    Sou brasileiro e adoro o Rush. Desde 1992 escuto essa super banda canadense, tornando-me um grande fã. Esse disco só reforça a imagem do Rush como uma das mais completas e competentes do mundo. < I'm a brazilian rush fan, since 1992 i listen this band that, for me, is the best of the world. Vapor Trails become a great job of this band, like a moving pictures or permanente waves and 2112. >

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Condensation Strangiato!!!

    The anticipation outweighed the final product! I love Rush, but I'm let down by the release. It don't think this attitude will last long however: I felt the same way after the Signals album. Grace Under Pressure gave me the same first impression and to this day it's one of my favorites post ''Moving Pictures'' album. Despite my letdown, the lyrical content is superb and really gives me hope. I can't compare my losses to Neil's in the past few years, but I am a person in suffering from grief as well. I half-expected the songs to be intense with feelings, but I was in for a shock to see that the lyrics more of an emphasis on hope and promise, vs sorrow and self-pity. Nevertheless, this release is a pivotal step foward in style musically. ''The stars look down'' reminds me of Geddy's solo ''Headache'' and it's very melodical, but my absolute favorite so far has to be ''Secret Touch'' The way out is the way in! The music begins and ends the same! Overall, an excellent 'follow-up' to Test for Echo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    This is by far their worst record since ''Moving Pictures,'' when I first became a die-hard fan. The ''rage-rock'' sound is very hard to take. I have all the studio and live albums, as well as copies of Alex's and Geddy's solo cd's. VT conjures up memories of Victor (which also stinks). I definitely miss the synthesizer over-dubs and Alex's delayed, chorused guitar, not to mention his solos. It's hard to believe this record took them 11 months to record. Must've been all the guitar, bass and vocal over-dubs. Tolerable tracks: Vapor Trails, Earthshine, One Little Victory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I can relate.

    Having been a Rush fan for more than 25 years, I always anxiously await new releases. But this album has significant meaning for me as in the past year, I lost my wife of fifteen years to a horrible disease called ''Amyloidosis''. For those of you who have not suffered such loss, you can not imagine how many of the thoughts, feelings and experiences are so vividly presented in these lyrics. Peart is a master at this craft and this album, which could have been dark, instead becomes a reflection of acceptance and recovery. Geddy Lee once said that he could easily sing Peart's songs because everything Neil wrote reflected his own thoughts and beliefs. Again Rush has put together a winning combinaton of thought and music that could only be crafted by the likes of whom Ayn Rand referred in her book ''Atlas Shrugged''. A big thanks to ''The Boys'' for this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Back in top form

    I expected a very good release from Rush since they have been very consistent over the years, but this was superb. It was even better than I had imagined. The songs are melodic and powerful at the same time. There are no dissappointing tracks on the cd. I've listened to it every day since it's release and it's hard to pick a favorite song. Secret Touch is awesome with a bit of everything from melody to blasting guitar and bass lines. Nocturne is another powerhouse the whole way through and features some very interesting drumming by Neil Peart. Peaceable Kingdom allows Geddy Lee to use the bass as a rhythm guitar in a sense. The Stars Look Down has a sound that grows on you and is done beautifully. The lyrical content is great as usual. Although dark at times, the lyrics are delivered in an upbeat hopeful way. Leaving out the keyboards on this cd works well and the vocals are exceptional. The layered backing vocals that Geddy does adds nicely to the melodies. The guitar sounds on this cd are much heavier than Test for echo and more varied than Counterparts. The recording quality is also very good. This is by far one of their best releases ever and certainly the best in the last 20 years. It's a definite winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome CD!!!!!

    Yet another great effort from yet another great band! Rush has always put forth records that never sounded like their predecessors and I LOVE that! Why do people keep stagnating on what Rush ''used'' to sound like??? They compare the new releases to the old ones and folks....get with the program. Rush is nevergoing to make records that sound like the old ones. They never have and neverwill. How many 30 yr old bands can do that? Different sound - different FEEL with each record. Amazing! And so what if there are no guitar solos in this record. Listen to some of the ''jams'' these guys pull off during songs like ''Ceiling Unlimited'' and you have GOT to listen to the cool guitar/bass/drum collaboration toward the end of ''Secret Touch''! Smokin'!!!! Buy this CD - especially if you're a Rush fan. If it's you're 1st time ever hearing them, well, I have to say that I'm envious. I can still remember the 1st time I heard a Rush album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rush sets themselves on fire with ''Vapor Trails''

    Rush has a fresh, new sound fom beginning to end. Alex's guitar work especially stands out, limiting his solos for a more diverse range of chord work. Geddy and Neil are in their standard forms, if not better. Each song leaves a mark similar to the Terot Cards symbolizing the individual tracks. ''Earthshine'' by far steps out on new ground for Rush. Whereas, ''Sweet Miracle'', ''Secret Touch'' and ''How it is'' resemble the hits of the 80's. ''Freeze'', ''Nocturne'' and ''Peaceable Kingdom'' spin off into a more futuristic Rush sound. The remainder of the track list, are excellent Rush hits, but probably more refined. Overall, by far their best work emphasized by Neil's lyrics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still the best band in rock n' roll

    Over the years Rush has slowly changed there sound back and forth as to not sound like a nostalgia act. They are very careful to not sell out to the pressure of the media. This is why even though they are one of the top selling rock n' roll bands of all time, they have never been on the cover of rolling stone. Once again, they have released a fresh sounding, new album that would be a huge hit if they were a new group just starting out. Luckily they have a large enough following that they can overcome there lack of push from the media to keep producing excellent music. For those who complain about ''no heavy guitar solos'' or ''no layered keyboard melodies'', remember that these were all gimmicks from other eras that Rush touched apon but wisely moved away from in order to not sound dated. Buy this album. Listen to it. Compare it to the weak rock that is being produced today. Buy a ticket to see the best show this summer. Vote for Rush to be inducted into the Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Vapor Trails'' GETS BETTER WITH EVERY LISTEN!

    Rush's new album, ''Vapor Trails,'' is, admittedly, a hard album is grasp on the first listen. It is far different than any of the previous albums. Having said that, it is one of the most intensely satisfying albums I've listened to in years. Peart's lyrics finally are approachable on a personal level. Lee's bass playing is, as always, impeccable. But, the most remarkable, and welcome, change is Lifeson's guitar work. While he eschews traditional solos, the songs do not lack in intensity or inventiveness. The tracks are true songs with emphasis on songwriting, instead of being merely showcases for impressive, yet hollow, instrumental passages. This type of songwriting does not lend itself to easy consumption. But, all that is required is patient listening, along with a concentration upon the music itself (instead of just putting the disc on as aural wallpaper.) If you want an album that will stand the test of many, many listenings, then ''Vapor Trails'' is for you. Standout tracks (in my opinion): ''Peaceable Kingdom''; ''Sweet Miracle''; and ''Vapor Trail''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The way out is the way in..

    After reading the previous 61 reviews almost everyone concurs that the album is solid yet different. I liked the old synths and Alex solo's also, but you just can't help but love the riffs and melody of this disc. And though not political/societical, the album is deep with Neal's signature idiosyncracies. And like always, I will probably pull this album out ten years from now and notice something new. At first I thought Witch Hunt was shallow? The album is full of songs to enjoy for the ages. The last line says it best, ''endlessly rocking!''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The wait is over

    The wait has certainly been worth it. What a fabulous collection of song and lyric! (Again) Good job boys!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Earthshine is worth the price of the entire CD

    One of the few CD's I own where I like every single song on the album. Geddy Lee sounds great, and the guitars are nice and thick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good enough

    Been a Rush fan since 2112. While not as good as 2112, Permanent Waves, or Moving Pictures, this CD is the strongest outing for Rush since Moving Pictures. Looking forward to seeing them this summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Vapor Trails smokes

    This disc rocks from start to finish. The lyrics are more introspective and thoughtful and reflect more human emotion. The musicianship is outstanding. You would never guess its been five years since their last release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    2 stars since it is Rush....

    I concider myself to be a big fan of Rush. I own 9 albums and love most of them with great enthusiasm. The last Rush concert I attended was at the Molson Ampitheatre in Toronto at the end of the Test for Echo tour. However, it seems to me Vapor Trails emphasizes Rush on a vaporizing trail down musical lethargy. Take the last three albums and we see a disturbing pattern. Counterparts had a few songs that could be taken or left, yet was still well done and kept me listening. Test for Echo had ''Driven'', an excellent rockin' song that partly made up for the boring existence of the majority of the remaining album. When I put Vapor Trails in my cd player on May 14th, I was almost brought to tears in agony, waiting for an odd time signature, syncopation, or a riff that caught my ear. Thats the Rush Ive been missing. The Rush that wrote songs that not only gave me chills, but made me listen to that last change again to see if I had really heard what I had heard. Vapor Trails bores me to death. I cant believe after the past 5 years, it sounds like they are just going through the motions. Yes, the sound is different, but, in my opinion, the quality of the songwriting has disappeared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5