Customer Reviews for

Variable Star

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have written two books and I would find it nearly impossible to copy another authors style. This was true of Mr. Robinson attempt to match Robert Heinlein's skills. I have enjoyed Spider Robinson's work and of coarse I greatly enjoy Heinlein's books but this was a disappointment. The plot was obviously Heinlein but the way it was written was to far from his style for my taste. I guess my basic problem with the book was the inclusion of Spider Robison¿s musical references and the inclusion of songs which I found out of place in a Heinlein plot. I applaud Mr. Robinsons attempt but if you like Robert Heinlein style this may not be the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Amazing book!

    Amazing book! I read and enjoyed all of Heinlein's books when I was in Jr High School and became a fan of Spider Robinson when I discovered the Callahan series. When I read that Spider Robinson was working on this book I knew that I had to preorder it so I could read it as soon as it was available.

    This book is perfect blending of the two authors and has wonderfully developed characters. It is definitely my favorite book that happens to be science fiction. I have read it three times and find new things I missed in the previous readings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Great read

    Captured Heinlein" s style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    A good read, with many touches that made me really laugh. The m

    A good read, with many touches that made me really laugh. The musical references are surprising but fit the tale. The style is good but feels quite different from Heinlein's: less youthful innocence, and the major catastrophe well along in the plot would seem out of place for one of RAH's early written-for-youth books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    A worthy tribute

    Spider has made a welcome addition to the HEINLEIN universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heinlein would be proud

    The combonation of writing styles does not hide the bones of this book. That Mr. Heinlen started it many years ago is still very apparent.Like all of his works there is a certain something that catches the imagination. Spider Robinson takes this skelaton and fleshes it out into a 21st century space journey. If you like a romp through another reality with space travel a little partying a broken hearted sax man and some just fun reading you will enjoy Variable Star.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you are a fan of Heinlein's prose, this book will necessarily disappoint. Advertising it as 'written by Robert Heinlen 'with Spider Robinson'' is extremely misleading. Robert Heinlein is to Vosne-Romanee as Spider Robinson is to grape Kool-Aid. Variable Star is written in a very slangy, stream-of-consciousness first person. The entire middle section seems lifted from a goofy New Age yoga manual, begging the question: is this a novel or a self-help book? It is also a preposterously sexist text. The whole premise of a patriarchal dynasty grooming a deadbeat musician to become its new leader rather than the perfectly qualified already-member-of-the-family granddaughter, Jinny, was retardedly unbelievable. The book reminded me mostly of a male version of the Harlequin romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Leaving Ganymede to seek his dream as a successful musician and composer, Joel Johnston meets Jinny Hamilton on earth side they fall in love, but he is broke and must choose between a family with his beloved or his musical quest. Jinny rejects his either or theory as she informs him that she loves him and that she is the granddaughter of the wealthiest person in the solar system. Knowing he loves her not her money, she explains how his future will be.-------------- Heartbroken and betrayed, a drunken Joel leaves earthside and Jinny as he refuses to give up on his dream. He travels to start fresh on the new colony planet Brasil Novo 85 outside the reach of her grandfather. However, galaxy wide catastrophe beyond anything even of biblical proportions changes his quest from musician dreams to survivor.----------------- This is an interesting collaboration as Spider Robinson brings his view of the future and merges that seemingly contradiction with that of Robert A. Heinlein into a delightful coming of age science fiction tale. The story line is a journey on several levels as the hero tries to find himself on an emotional plane while wallowing in doubt and soon is in the midst of a survivor adventure. Though Joel adjustment from runaway musician with a broken heart to calamity champion seems too easy, fans of both authors will appreciate the tandem¿s fine futuristic thriller.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2