Customer Reviews for

Variant

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

When I first got this book, I had absolutely no expectations. I had read the blurb, of course, and the summary was so intriguing that I was definitely looking forward to reading the book. I did not expect to fall in love with it! I finished it all of two minutes ago ...
When I first got this book, I had absolutely no expectations. I had read the blurb, of course, and the summary was so intriguing that I was definitely looking forward to reading the book. I did not expect to fall in love with it! I finished it all of two minutes ago and couldn't wait to write my review for it. I'm not sure what to praise first.

This was one of those books that just grabs you from the very first sentence, takes you on an absolute roller-coaster ride of constant, relentless suspense, and doesn't let go, not even with the last sentence. I read this story in one sitting with very few breaks, because I truthfully didn't want to put off reading a single page. I had to know what happened next. There was very little "down time" in the book. It was constant...taking you from one breathtaking event to another.

The characters were real, honest, sympathetic, and you just couldn't help but love them. Especially Benson. This is one smart guy, brave, but smart enough not to be stupidly brave when bravery won't work. So much of the time you see a good character make a really stupid decision trying to be brave. Not this guy. He knew when to back off and live to fight another day. He knew how to keep things to himself and make smart choices. You had to admire him. The other characters, even the bad ones, were so well drawn that I could imagine them so clearly. You also had to feel sympathy for the bad ones because it seemed they were misguided.

When the "big reveal" comes about halfway through the book, where Benson finally discovers a small piece of what might be happening around him, I was utterly floored. I never in a million years expected it. And when the last big secret is revealed, I didn't expect that either. The author did an awesome job planting doubts in your head and yet still managing to surprise you.

This story was brilliantly plotted, beautifully written and was so suspenseful that you can't soon forget it. It had me right up until the end, and even now I am still in suspense. There is obviously going to be a sequel and I can't believe I have to wait for however many months, or a year, to read what happens next.

Read this story! I dare you not to love it!!

posted by Readergirl_Revus on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ehh

Its okay. If you were blown away by the Hunger Games then this book will be below par, but its fast and i liked the idea

posted by 7063028 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    When I first got this book, I had absolutely no expectations. I had read the blurb, of course, and the summary was so intriguing that I was definitely looking forward to reading the book. I did not expect to fall in love with it! I finished it all of two minutes ago and couldn't wait to write my review for it. I'm not sure what to praise first.

    This was one of those books that just grabs you from the very first sentence, takes you on an absolute roller-coaster ride of constant, relentless suspense, and doesn't let go, not even with the last sentence. I read this story in one sitting with very few breaks, because I truthfully didn't want to put off reading a single page. I had to know what happened next. There was very little "down time" in the book. It was constant...taking you from one breathtaking event to another.

    The characters were real, honest, sympathetic, and you just couldn't help but love them. Especially Benson. This is one smart guy, brave, but smart enough not to be stupidly brave when bravery won't work. So much of the time you see a good character make a really stupid decision trying to be brave. Not this guy. He knew when to back off and live to fight another day. He knew how to keep things to himself and make smart choices. You had to admire him. The other characters, even the bad ones, were so well drawn that I could imagine them so clearly. You also had to feel sympathy for the bad ones because it seemed they were misguided.

    When the "big reveal" comes about halfway through the book, where Benson finally discovers a small piece of what might be happening around him, I was utterly floored. I never in a million years expected it. And when the last big secret is revealed, I didn't expect that either. The author did an awesome job planting doubts in your head and yet still managing to surprise you.

    This story was brilliantly plotted, beautifully written and was so suspenseful that you can't soon forget it. It had me right up until the end, and even now I am still in suspense. There is obviously going to be a sequel and I can't believe I have to wait for however many months, or a year, to read what happens next.

    Read this story! I dare you not to love it!!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A bit of Lost mixed with some Jason Bourne

    I've heard a lot of folks compare this book to the Hunger Games books. I would sooner compare it to the TV show Lost. While fans of the Hunger Games will certainly like this book, that is simply because this book is a great book. It's true that this book covers some similar topics, but Rob Wells manages to develop a much larger cast of characters (and does it well), has plot twists you didn't see coming, and doesn't let his characters take the easy way out.

    This book is much more like Lost- lots of characters you can actually care about, some mysteries that still aren't fully explained by the end of the first book, character deaths/disappearances that weren't expected... I also like the overall mood of the book. It starts off with a bit of a "what is going on here?" feeling with some happy times thrown in, then builds to a more general (and justified) paranoia, finally culminating in some great action and resolution. Then, just like a season of Lost, the last few pages make you think "What? What does that mean? When is the next one coming out?!"

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action packed thriller

    The minute Ms. Vaughn drops Benson Fisher off at Maxfield Academy, he gets the feeling that something is a bit off. As soon as the front doors open, two students run out and into the woods. One of the boys warns him that no matter what anyone says, he can never leave. Things become even more unnerving when Benson learns there are no adults at the academy. Instead, the kids teach all of the classes and carry out the discipline as well as work jobs for which they earn points that allow them to buy things. Benson is told that everything will be just fine for him provided he follows four rules: No sex, no trying to escape, no refusing punishments and no violent fights. If you do any of those things you are sent to detention, and if you go to detention - you don't come back.

    As the weeks press on, Benson becomes more and more unnerved. Teens start disappearing, extreme punishments are carried out and whoever is watching them on the security cameras seems to be carrying out some sort of experiment, but what is it? Benson plans to escape, but he knows he can't do it alone. Who, if anyone, can he trust? If he doesn't get out soon, he may not live through the year.

    This book is packed full of action. Mr. Wells is excellent at creating tension, and his prose is effortless. The twists and turns this book took totally blew me away; I couldn't stop reading it. The ending took me by surprise. I need the next installment immediately. If you are a fan of thrillers and lots of action, this is definitely one you don't want to miss!

    (Review based on an Advanced Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Awesome

    Perfect read. Cant wait for the secong!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    AMAZING!

    This book was amazingggg. The ending wasent the best, but i still enjoyed the book! Recomended 4 13&up
    Becca:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    :)

    This book gave me the same thrill i got while reading the Hunger Games without being another one of those new books by wannnabe authors trying to copy the same themes as the Hunger Games.

    One of my top 5 favorite books ever. I am dying waiting for Feedback to come out!!!!!!

    ********* warning:: extreme cliffhanger at the end :(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book!

    I loved Variant so much! It's an awesome sci-fi/thriller YA, and fans of James Dashner and Michael Grant are going to love the first book in this new series. When I saw that James Dashner blurbed this book, I knew I had to read it, and I'm so glad I did. I started reading yesterday afternoon, and finished before going to sleep. It was one of those books that I couldn't put down until I got to the end.

    This book is one big sci-fi mystery waiting to be figured out. I kept trying to guess what was going on, but each time I thought I had it right, a new twist was thrown my way. And wow, the twist in the middle was just . wow. I don't want to give anything away, but I never saw it coming.

    The main character, Benson Fisher, was likable and fantastically written. He's strong willed, and had a tough life before coming to Maxfield Academy. He doesn't let people in easily, and it's great seeing his relationships with other characters progress throughout the novel.

    Then there was the ending. Oh my gosh, major cliffhanger! I wish the next book was out now so I could start reading it already, because I need to know what happens next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Random

    A really suprising suspensful and amazing book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Action-Packed and Suspenseful

    I had finished reading The Hunger Games Trilogy by Susanne Collins and The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. I was looking for my next great read when I stumbled upon this little gem. I was not dissappointed. I quickly devoured the entire book and anxiously waited for it's sequel, Feedback, to come out. I have now read that one too, and it is awesome. Robison Wells is a talented author. He weaves suspense and mystery together with action, and I was constantly finding myself in the shoes of Benson. Truly a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I loved this book! :)

    This was the first book i got on my nook and i absolutley loved it! I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Great Read!

    I thought this book was great. I couldn't put it down, and when I wasn't reading it I was thinking about it, trying to figure out what could be happening. I really didn't see the big twist coming and the ending left me wishing that Mr. Wells could publish his next book right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great read - the ending will blow your mind!

    This was a very entertaining book- I couldn't put it down! Highly recommended - I can't wait for the sequel. Creepy and yet lots of fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Awesome

    I really enjoyed this book, probably the best book I've read about kids my age. I love all the evilness and twisted secrets about it and can't wait to read book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Read it!

    This is probably one of my favorite books. The storyline and plot twists make it impossible to put down! I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes teen novels and a bit of science fiction. Can't wait to read Feedback! Thank you Robinson Wells!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Good

    Nicely written and was full of surprises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    This book was one of the best books I have read. You don't expec

    This book was one of the best books I have read. You don't expect to be sucked in but after a chapter or so you can't put it down. I would highly recommend it if you liked the Hunger Games. It's a quick read and is very exciting. Not to mention but Variant has an exceptional sequel, Feedback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Good book

    It has some well defined charecters and a strong story it makes you very emotional and has some suprising twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Nice quick read!

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great book. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Very interesting, never a boring moment.

    Very interesting, never a boring moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4