Customer Reviews for

Variant

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

When I first got this book, I had absolutely no expectations. I had read the blurb, of course, and the summary was so intriguing that I was definitely looking forward to reading the book. I did not expect to fall in love with it! I finished it all of two minutes ago ...
When I first got this book, I had absolutely no expectations. I had read the blurb, of course, and the summary was so intriguing that I was definitely looking forward to reading the book. I did not expect to fall in love with it! I finished it all of two minutes ago and couldn't wait to write my review for it. I'm not sure what to praise first.

This was one of those books that just grabs you from the very first sentence, takes you on an absolute roller-coaster ride of constant, relentless suspense, and doesn't let go, not even with the last sentence. I read this story in one sitting with very few breaks, because I truthfully didn't want to put off reading a single page. I had to know what happened next. There was very little "down time" in the book. It was constant...taking you from one breathtaking event to another.

The characters were real, honest, sympathetic, and you just couldn't help but love them. Especially Benson. This is one smart guy, brave, but smart enough not to be stupidly brave when bravery won't work. So much of the time you see a good character make a really stupid decision trying to be brave. Not this guy. He knew when to back off and live to fight another day. He knew how to keep things to himself and make smart choices. You had to admire him. The other characters, even the bad ones, were so well drawn that I could imagine them so clearly. You also had to feel sympathy for the bad ones because it seemed they were misguided.

When the "big reveal" comes about halfway through the book, where Benson finally discovers a small piece of what might be happening around him, I was utterly floored. I never in a million years expected it. And when the last big secret is revealed, I didn't expect that either. The author did an awesome job planting doubts in your head and yet still managing to surprise you.

This story was brilliantly plotted, beautifully written and was so suspenseful that you can't soon forget it. It had me right up until the end, and even now I am still in suspense. There is obviously going to be a sequel and I can't believe I have to wait for however many months, or a year, to read what happens next.

Read this story! I dare you not to love it!!

posted by Readergirl_Revus on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ehh

Its okay. If you were blown away by the Hunger Games then this book will be below par, but its fast and i liked the idea

posted by 7063028 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed!

    This book started out a little slow for me, but as the mystery starts to unfold, it definitely picks up the pace. Because there is such mystery surrounding the school, you find yourself constantly trying to guess what could really be happening. The characters were strong and had enough depth to get you invested in their well being as they try to navigate the minefield of rules and social structure of Maxfield Academy. I also liked the emotional development of Benson, who is more of a "looking out for number one" type, but starts to really care about what happens to his classmates. The tag-line "trust no one" is certainly apt, because as you read the book, you really can't trust that you know what any of the characters will do or who they will be. One of the best elements is that even after you know what the big secret is, the questions don't stop there. The cryptic warnings from the students and the action, both physical and psychological, keeps you on the edge of your seat for most of the book. The ending is a good old fashioned cliff hanger and I'm a little perturbed that I have to wait for the next book to find out what happens! I gave Variant 4 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Pretty freaking compelling

    So, this book? Is pretty freaking compelling. But before I start gushing, let me get one thing clear: this book is not dystopian. No matter what anyone tells you, it is unique and original and fresh and omg and thrilling, but it is not dystopian.

    VARIANT was one of my vacation reads, and I must say, I couldn't have picked a better one! I read the first hundred pages on the way down to FL, and I was so hooked that I didn't even mind my aching back (sitting for that long is hard, y'know). And when I actually arrived and was able to finish the book on the beach: absolute bliss! Though I read this book months ago, I still remember how addictive the story is and the complete shock I felt after those closing chapters.

    In VARIANT, Benson Fisher arrives at Maxfield Academy with one thing: hope that this will be the end to his cliché foster-kid life. But when he finds out that there are no adults in the Academy-only students, who teach themselves and, somehow, form a system on how things run-he realizes that education is the last thing on the owners of Maxfield's minds, and that he's a guinea pig in a big experiment.

    Can I also just say Thank the Lord this book has no snarky female protagonist? Benson Fisher is completely relatable and I sort of found him funny. His romance with one of the students, Jane, was icing on the cake.

    Honestly, do I recommend you go out and buy this book and READ IT IMMEDIATELY? No. Because there is a huge, larger-than-life cliffhanger at the end, you should go out and buy it and, a week before the sequel comes out, read it then!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Awesome

    I really enjoyed this book, probably the best book I've read about kids my age. I love all the evilness and twisted secrets about it and can't wait to read book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Stunning Storyline!

    This book is truly a breath-taker from the moment you read the astonishing summary on the back, to the minute when you read the first page, and to the second you close the book. The constant suspense causes you unable to put the book down! Benson Fisher is really desperate to break away from this prison of a school, and he needs to convince the whole school WHY they should help him escape. The only thing I hate is how the book ends; it left me hanging on by a breaking thread. Now I must hurry and purchase the second book, Feedback! Ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Very exciting and suspenseful

    Me and my brother both loved it! Very suspensful and exciting all throughout the book. The story is about a teen male from pittsburg who cant find a foster family. He applies to a school called maxfield academy which is supose to have gret education system. When he gets there he is explained to that hes stuck in the school and has no connection to the outside world. Cant give to much away. Anywy the book was a real page-turner and I would reccomend it to anyone and exspecially teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Read it!

    This is probably one of my favorite books. The storyline and plot twists make it impossible to put down! I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes teen novels and a bit of science fiction. Can't wait to read Feedback! Thank you Robinson Wells!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Good

    Nicely written and was full of surprises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Reminds me of the among the series

    Its alright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    This book was one of the best books I have read. You don't expec

    This book was one of the best books I have read. You don't expect to be sucked in but after a chapter or so you can't put it down. I would highly recommend it if you liked the Hunger Games. It's a quick read and is very exciting. Not to mention but Variant has an exceptional sequel, Feedback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Okay

    It was really just okay. The characters didn't have a lot of personality, then everyone except for a few were either dead or a bot. The plot was not great either. Hopefully the sequel is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    This book suks

    Get a real life if you buy this book this book suks period
    O yea and papa and max die






    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Good book

    It has some well defined charecters and a strong story it makes you very emotional and has some suprising twists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very gripping...started out a little slow but then i could not put it down! If you liked Hunger Games and The Maze you will enjoy Variant. Kept me guessing 'til the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Nice quick read!

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great book. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    <3

    Not the best book I ever read but I'm glad I took the time to read it it's suspenseful and hard to put down. Definitely gonna read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Nowhere near the intensity of The Hunger Games, Variant is a dum

    Nowhere near the intensity of The Hunger Games, Variant is a dumbed-down but entertaining read, with &quot;action&quot; that will keep you somewhat satisfied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Very interesting, never a boring moment.

    Very interesting, never a boring moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Good book

    this was a great book. I enjoyed reading it as a short little book( well, what i think is short,) and my friend also enjoyed it. I cant wait to get the next one, although some people are saying that the ending to the second one didnt really tie up the loose ends of the book, but in their opinion still a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Book

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6