Customer Reviews for

The Variant Effect (Variant Effect Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A unique take on the old "zombie" concept

A very interesting concept.....medication, that is supposed to cure all mental ills, eventually becomes the catalyst for worldwide disaster. Those who took this medicine returned to their old psychological ills to murderous degrees after the drug was banned. The boo...
A very interesting concept.....medication, that is supposed to cure all mental ills, eventually becomes the catalyst for worldwide disaster. Those who took this medicine returned to their old psychological ills to murderous degrees after the drug was banned. The book is very gory, but quite the page turner all the way up till just before the end. The climax of the book seemed a bit silly to me given how the rest of the book turned out, but that's just me. Overall, a very entertaining, if often stomach turning read.

posted by rafalweb on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Variant Effect

Entertaining.

posted by Jim54 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    A unique take on the old "zombie" concept

    A very interesting concept.....medication, that is supposed to cure all mental ills, eventually becomes the catalyst for worldwide disaster. Those who took this medicine returned to their old psychological ills to murderous degrees after the drug was banned. The book is very gory, but quite the page turner all the way up till just before the end. The climax of the book seemed a bit silly to me given how the rest of the book turned out, but that's just me. Overall, a very entertaining, if often stomach turning read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grim Gory and Damn Good!

    I just finished reading this book a few hours ago and enjoyed it very much,I wouldn't say that it is a great book, But in my opinion it is a Good book and Definitely worth Downloading and Reading for those who are into Horror/Thriller books..I do not want to give any of the story away but think of this as a sort of 28 Days later with twists and you should enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is one Wild Ride!

    The Variant Effect is intense - a really scary idea. Great characters push this horror/science fiction story to a heart-stopping finale! Wow!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Ll

    Good story but i felt as if i was starting the book in the middle. Some things never made sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    A good book, but a bit graphic

    This was a good read. Novel idea, decent characters, more than 500 pages, and free to boot! The only two issues I had; one, this novel was a bit heavy on the gory graphics; two, the author used only a few adjectives to describe those caught up in the variant effect, and they were used REPETATIVLY. Otherwise, thanks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE this book!!!

    The way the world fell into this Variant Effect was the best possible way it could have. It's not the traditional radiation/experiment zombie, but something more psychological and down to Earth. This gave me the creeps and I love the characters! It left me hungry for more. What happens tomorrow? Does the contamination get outside of this area? I don't see how it couldn't. And the characters! OMG! Plot twists that threw me down, I just didn't see some of it coming and other things I was yelling at the book having saw it coming (kind of like I was watching it on TV, LOL). This would be a GREAT movie!!! I really just wish I could get a hard copy. It's just a perfectly creepy thought, to take Prozac and then years later have the side effects show up! Great read! A bit slow to start for me because I'm not into detective books much but when it got going (which was quick) it really got going!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Skin eaters!

    This book was ok, loved the cocept but i think the first 300 pages made it slow, was getting a little bored until the action kicked in. The author veired away from the storys pace at times a little to mutch, it was distracting but other than that its a good horror book. I will read the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    The Variant Effect

    Entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Verrrrry strange

    This is a weird tale-full of horror possibilities it does entertain till the end. Great-no but a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    The originality was great.

    Great book when you got nothing better to do. A few missing pieces in time frame. Pay close attention or you will get lost. All in all I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Fun read

    An imaginative story with good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    The story was good,but...

    It was a little slow and confusing in parts. I felt like some of the story was missing. Otherwise,I found it to be a semi enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    The concept of the story  was very good.  However, I found his w

    The concept of the story  was very good.  However, I found his writing style a little confusing at times and hard to follow.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    An interesting concept. Definitely worth reading.

    An interesting concept. Definitely worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Not my kind of book

    I started to read this book and couldn't "get into" it. Did not finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Stupid stupid stupid!

    Boring and a complete waste of time. Half of it doesnt even make sense

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Excellent!

    Edge of your seat suspenseful story! I just wish it was something more palatable--pretty gruesome in parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Drug companies run amok!

    After the first chapter, I almost gave up on this book. I don't like zombies. But in chapter two...things started to be explained. A drug company that introduces a drug into the environment without proper testing, a true medical condition is exacerbated (no walking corpses, like zombies!), and a government coverup op starts, again. Writing is excellent, only allowing parts of the whole story to come out at a time. It is writtern in layers; more is going on all the time than what you are told. Unpredictable and suspenseful with enough dry wit thrown in to keep it from building too fast. The man's hernias¿if you've never had to live with a couple, you'd be surprised how much it interfers with you life! Good read...off to get the sequel now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    I want more!!

    I havent been spooked by a book in ages but this on got it's claws in me good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Good Read

    Good storyline. Kept me interested and anxious to see what would happen next. Some nice twists and unexpected turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5