Customer Reviews for

The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Average Rating 4.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    I love this book! An amazing cast of colorful characters all pu

    I love this book!

    An amazing cast of colorful characters all put together into the summer romance of the decade. Beautiful, elegant, and gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Great book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Reading it now for the 4th time...love it more and more every ti

    Reading it now for the 4th time...love it more and more every time I read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Vast fields

    Its def hard to find a decent "gay novel", but this one was def a good read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    A great coming of age story

    I this is really good coming of age novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    I was very surprised and touched by this story. Being gay myself

    I was very surprised and touched by this story. Being gay myself, I can relate to many of the situations that Dade experienced throughout the book. Definitely a page turning book that you can't put down. I actually lost sleep reading this book, and kept reading it during my down time at work. I highly recommend this book, and hope the author writes more amazing gay love stories for us to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Lemme guess

    Alex dies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    I can relater so much. I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Preview is useless

    The preview is 15 pagges long and compleetly useless

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fine for what it is

    A typical story of coming of age and finding yourself, the confusions of young love, the cruelties and beauties of high school summers, and the expected message: it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    love this book

    is is one of the best books i have ever read. it finds a way to connect to you on a personal level and is amazing. i will be reading it again and again, my only wish is that i could enjoy this book for the first time over and over again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    for someone looking outside the box

    this will be shot but to the point. if you are sick of paranormal romace but want to step out of the "norm"'s of romance read this. its cute, comming of age-ish (i think), and its funny. wonderfu; read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Amazing, A Must Read!

    This book was incredibly amazing. I loved how the author made every character unique. The drug and alcohol use didn't effect the beauty of the words. I still remember quotes from parts of the book that I thought were awesome. "Dade Kincaid is not afraid of the things of which the world is made." This book left me breathless. I was hopeful and sad at the same time when I finished reading. When I put it down after reading for a while I would find myself reading again. Truly a page turner and a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Unforgettable

    This is now one of my favorite books. Read this if you like amazing books that make you cry one minute and laugh out loud the next. I'd definitely say this is one of the best books I've read, ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    whats not to love?

    Dade goes through that whirlwind summer right before his real life begins and its loaded with sex drugs drinking anti parent rebellion! Although if there wasnt an epilogue this would be the worst ending ive ever read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Wish there was more!!!

    One of the best books I've read in a while. I love Nick Burd's narrative. My one and only complaint would be I wish there was more! Can't wait for your next book Mr. Burd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    You'll be hooked

    Brutally honest and completely witty. Totally an earnest account of the self awareness and evolution of ourselves in extraordinary circumstances. Just the rig amount of real life humor, sexy wit, and delightful charm that will have you set on reading the book from beginning to end as fast as your eyes can devour it. I'm eagerly awaiting more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Excellent Book

    The Vast Fields of Ordinary surprised me in the best way possible. I love young adult literature, but this absolutely blew me away. Burd's prose is fantastically beautiful, and his characters are wonderfully real and deep. I've read other critiques that say the book ended too abruptly, but I disagree. I think the ending was just another facet of the realism in the book. Sometimes our stories in life don't play all the way out; sometimes stories just end, and I thought the ending was perfect. I can't wait for Nick Burd to write another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing :')

    i absolutely loved this book. i cant even put into words how amazing it was! i laughed, i cried, i was inspired. i highly recommend this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8