Customer Reviews for

The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    What a surprise!

    I bought this book out of impalse but I was not let down, that's for sure. This was an over all amazing book that I am sure I will continue to read over and over. It dealt with all the complexities of life and all that comes with it. The author had a unique way of drawing you in without being overly bouyant on the physical attributes of people. He really made you focus on the personalities at hand and made you get to know all the characters for who they were not what they were. I would have to say the only thing that I wish was different was the ending. It did seem a bit rushed but yet again that's what life is like. I strongly recommend this, it offers many answers that some don't even know they're asking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Quick, but surprisingly deep

    Burd does a good job playing with the idea that life and all the people and events it encompasses, including ourselves, are all a sort of mystery box with unlimited potential, for better or worse. There are some great moments in this book that make you stop and wonder about the vast fields of potential in your own ordinary life. My only real complaint is that Burd too often abandons these moments in favor of what often becomes a too-witty-by-half dialogue. Still, it's a nice quick read with interesting and unconventional characters that manages to pose some interesting questions without being dense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Vast fields

    Its def hard to find a decent "gay novel", but this one was def a good read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    A great coming of age story

    I this is really good coming of age novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Preview is useless

    The preview is 15 pagges long and compleetly useless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    A must read !!!

    I was looking a for book that was not completly concentrated on sex. I wanted a book that would take my breath away but that I could still relate too,and I found it. I loved it. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth Reading :)

    I liked the way the author had the main character face obstacles, such as his parents' dissolving marriage and his own internal struggle. The characters in this book don't fall into everyday sterotypes, which I loved! By doing this the characters feel like real people. While you may not agree with Dade's (main character) choices all the time you'll enjoy seeing his story unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Dade is marking time during that awkward summer between high school and college. Things at home are not the greatest so he welcomes the chance to get out. Unfortunately, his crappy job at Food World is about the closest he comes to escaping.

    For as long as he can remember, he has been quietly repeating the words, "I am gay." He knows it is true but can't bring himself to tell his parents. Maybe when he is away at school in Michigan, he can break the news to them, but certainly not while he is still right here in Cedarville. They have enough problems of their own.

    Over a year ago he did open up to Pablo. They have shared many intimate moments during their time together, but Pablo still insists in public that he has a girlfriend - which leaves Dade feeling used and alone.

    This summer may have brought one bit of luck - Alex. From the moment Dade met him and saw his gorgeous smile, he has been wanting to spend time with him and find out what they might have in common. Alex isn't easy, though. He doesn't run with the same crowd as Dade, and hooking up is proving harder than he expected.

    Dade is filled with confusion about his sexuality, uncertainty about his readiness for college, and a general inability to form lasting relationships. He bounces back and forth in odd friendships with Pablo, Lucy - a neighbors' niece, Alex, and twins named Jessica and Fessica. All the while he worries - about his parents, his future, and the mysterious disappearance of a local nine-year-old. Can he manage to handle all this and keep himself together until he can head off to school?

    THE VAST FIELDS OF ORDINARY offers the perfect example of a teen-angst drama. First-time author Nick Burd captures the crazy mix of emotions and the desire to gain some sort of control that most teens face at one time or another as they struggle toward adulthood. His writing style makes for a smooth and satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2