Customer Reviews for

The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Average Rating 4.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Absolute MUST

    I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end and just couldn't put it down. I have to open with that because it's all I can really think about.
    The Vast Fields of Ordinary is a fantastic coming-of-age story told from the point of view of a gay boy fresh out of high school, facing life during the summer before he starts college.
    Reading this, I saw so much of myself in Dade Hamilton and could identify with the character on so many levels and I think many other readers will agree. You're instantly transported back to that time in your life where nothing makes sense and the road ahead of you is just one massive blur of people and events that ultimately shape your character and allow you to carve your own path in life.
    This book perfect for both the young who are approaching this amazing time in their lives and those of us who have already grown past it and think back on that time, remembering how surreal it all felt.
    The story is raw, uncompromising and honest, never saccharine or pandering. It captures youth in a bottle for a new generation.
    This book deserves a place right alongside The Catcher in the Rye and The Perks of Being a Wallflower on everyones' shelves. If you haven't read it, grab a copy now!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    An Extraordinary Novel!!

    This novel has truly taken the spot as my all-time favorite novel hands down. I read this novel in the span of a day and a half, & I could not put it down, and when I had to I rushed to pick it back up again. I was so drawn into this novel. The characters are so realistic, the plot (simply put) is truly well done. I truly don't know how else to explain this amazing novel, its lefted me speechless!!! Reminds me of the novel Perks of Being A Wallflower, but soo much better. If you havent read this or have doubts, get yourself a copy! You wont regret it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Didnt even want to put it down!

    I loved this book it was a book that just kept pulling you in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Best Book EVER!!!! by: Sammie :)

    This book holds the number one spot for the best book I've ever read in my life! :D This book is absolutely beautiful and I loved every bit of it. I am definitely going to enjoy rereading this book over and over again. I LOVE THIS BOOK WITH AN INTENSE BURNING PASSION. And I absolutely fell in love with Dade and Alex. ^.^ They're such beautiful charcters and they are adorable together. ;)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Too good for words

    Such a great book. Very enjoyable read. Kept me glued to the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great book with strength

    I admired the strength and desire to stay true to his own person. Reminds me of my struggles growing up. Wonderful story and great character development

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my favorite books.

    When I read this book about a year ago, I fell in love with the coming-of-age story and the lovely characters. It truly is a wonderful story and one that I enjoy rereading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Must read!!!!

    This is a very good book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    this book is inspiring and entertaining1

    i love the fact that the author did not just dwell on sexual stuff but real emotions a gay teen experiences in reality! two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    :)

    Funny, charming, whitty, heatbreaking, and absolutely beautiful. Its a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Awesome story :)

    A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    Amazing

    This is the most amazing book I have ever read. I've read many, many books. By far, this was the one that struck me the most and took my breath away. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    A Must Read!

    I absolutely loved the characters in this book! The writing style made everything flow so well that it was hard to put the book down. I hope to see more books from this author in the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    THE MOST AMAZING BOOK

    It took me to places ive never been. It made me laugh, cry, and hope for the best in the end. You wont be disappointed with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Best book I have EVER read in my entire 15 year life.

    The book was realistic. It was all truths to what we do as young adults. It embodied our faults and success. Real relationships, real friendships and things that we all deal with at some point in our lie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this book while in high school and coming to terms with m

    I read this book while in high school and coming to terms with my own sexuality. Honestly, this book is inspiring and enchanting. Reading this book made me see a lot of myself in the main character and his storyline. Without a doubt, definitely a great must read. I highly recommend this book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2014

    Amazing

    One of the few "coming of age" stories that didn't make me cringe or want to bash my head against a wall. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Love it!!

    I honestly could not stop reading this book from the first page. This is my go-to book when I'm asked for book suggestions, as well as my book of choice when I want to reread something great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    I love this book! An amazing cast of colorful characters all pu

    I love this book!

    An amazing cast of colorful characters all put together into the summer romance of the decade. Beautiful, elegant, and gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Great book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7