BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Average Rating 4.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Lemme guess

    Alex dies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    I can relater so much. I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    love this book

    is is one of the best books i have ever read. it finds a way to connect to you on a personal level and is amazing. i will be reading it again and again, my only wish is that i could enjoy this book for the first time over and over again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    for someone looking outside the box

    this will be shot but to the point. if you are sick of paranormal romace but want to step out of the "norm"'s of romance read this. its cute, comming of age-ish (i think), and its funny. wonderfu; read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Amazing, A Must Read!

    This book was incredibly amazing. I loved how the author made every character unique. The drug and alcohol use didn't effect the beauty of the words. I still remember quotes from parts of the book that I thought were awesome. "Dade Kincaid is not afraid of the things of which the world is made." This book left me breathless. I was hopeful and sad at the same time when I finished reading. When I put it down after reading for a while I would find myself reading again. Truly a page turner and a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Unforgettable

    This is now one of my favorite books. Read this if you like amazing books that make you cry one minute and laugh out loud the next. I'd definitely say this is one of the best books I've read, ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Wish there was more!!!

    One of the best books I've read in a while. I love Nick Burd's narrative. My one and only complaint would be I wish there was more! Can't wait for your next book Mr. Burd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    You'll be hooked

    Brutally honest and completely witty. Totally an earnest account of the self awareness and evolution of ourselves in extraordinary circumstances. Just the rig amount of real life humor, sexy wit, and delightful charm that will have you set on reading the book from beginning to end as fast as your eyes can devour it. I'm eagerly awaiting more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Excellent Book

    The Vast Fields of Ordinary surprised me in the best way possible. I love young adult literature, but this absolutely blew me away. Burd's prose is fantastically beautiful, and his characters are wonderfully real and deep. I've read other critiques that say the book ended too abruptly, but I disagree. I think the ending was just another facet of the realism in the book. Sometimes our stories in life don't play all the way out; sometimes stories just end, and I thought the ending was perfect. I can't wait for Nick Burd to write another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing :')

    i absolutely loved this book. i cant even put into words how amazing it was! i laughed, i cried, i was inspired. i highly recommend this book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    This has to be one of the greatest books I have read in my entire life! It made me ball my eyes out! Definitely suggest you check this book out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Vast Fields Of Ordinary

    Wow.
    The Vast Fields of Ordinary by Nick Burd was beyond incredible with it's ability to keep me craving more of the astounding characters.
    Dade Hamilton is the main character on focus in which the summer reveals him the key to freeing himself from what he thought he'd always be. This story is beautifully written with characters of Alex Kincaid, Lucy and even the ever so deceiving Pablo.
    You'll enjoy the flairs of excitement twisted with the beautiful words written, that makes your urn for more.
    Dade helped me see that I'll never be stuck in just one place because there is always somewhere else to go, maybe even better of a place, always. The world is meant to be wandered upon beyond where I stand, farther then I can even imagine.
    This is a must read and I swear you'll fall in love, I sure did.
    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOOOOW

    i ordered this book and was very excited for it to arrive at my door. it took three days but it was worth it. it was amazing, great story line and the characters were very realistic. i was surprised i liked it this much. a must buy. it only took me a day to read, pretty fast but so much packed in. i just never wanting it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing

    One of the things I loved about this book was the characters. Because no matter who they were or what they were like, you always felt for them.
    And I believe anyone can relate to Dade no matter the cirmcumstances. It is about growing up and finding yourself, and the author did an excellent job at that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a good book.

    I was searching through books on the recommended books list for The Perks of Being A Wallflower, when I cam across The Vast Fields of Ordinary. I honestly believe that anyone can relate to the characters in the book, no matter sexual orientation. The book is a coming of age story about a chapter of one's life slowly coming to an end, as another is about to begin. Graduating and going to college is a pivotal point in one's life, and I would suggest this book to anyone who is about to reach that point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a must read

    This is one of the best book that I have ever read. I absolutely loved every single part, except for the last chapter which is a little depressing and unsatisfying. However, the entire rest of the book more than makes up for it. I highly recommend this book for other LGB teens if they are searching for a character that they can really connect with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    A great coming of age story.

    This book makes me want to come out, and tell my dad I'm bi-sexual. It's the reason I bought this book, to read a story about coming out. It was so excellently written, I'll be rereading it soon. I love the characters and how Nick gives there back story(but not all of it, to leave you with mysterious assumptions,) and how real they seem; just captivating. I loved and hated the ending, only because I really wanted Dade to end up with Alex. It was a true love story; one that i'll never forget. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    OMG THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!!

    I fell in love with this book. I bought it friday night and finished it on a sunday afternoon. i wouldve finished it in a day but i was busy lol. its so amazing! its sad how the ending was but its hopeful as well. i could totally reread this book. its amazing. andit would be so awesome if nick burd comes out with a sequel. like how things are for dade in college and if he meets any boys or friends. that would be awesome :D I 10945959 percent recommend this book!!! i got emotionally attached to the story :) it felt real. i could relate to dade. i felt if i was actually there, just watching his summer unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Amazing book!!

    this book is amazing. i loved it. when i first started reading it, i couldnt stop and finished it in a day. its a great book that you could always read over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 120 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6