Customer Reviews for

The Vault

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Vault

If you like Indiana Jones or Rick O'Connell and archeological thrillers, then you will love The Vault. Tyler Locke and Stacy Benedict are forced to search for King Midas' Tomb (yeah, the guy with the touch of gold). Forced you ask? Yes, a cold-blooded criminal has kidna...
If you like Indiana Jones or Rick O'Connell and archeological thrillers, then you will love The Vault. Tyler Locke and Stacy Benedict are forced to search for King Midas' Tomb (yeah, the guy with the touch of gold). Forced you ask? Yes, a cold-blooded criminal has kidnapped their loved ones and will release them once these two find Midas' secret.

They travel across the globe (archeology never seems to be so easy or calm) to try and figure out clues left by Archimedes (a Greek inventor from ancient times, for those that didn't know). The closer they get to the secret the rougher it is for them.

The descriptive narrative and fast-paced action could easily make this a Hollywood blockbuster and I really enjoyed this one!

posted by grumpydan on August 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing, ridiculous, full of action, and not easy to put down

Let's be clear. Three stars means I liked The Vault. It had an intriguing but ridiculous premise, a tight plot with non-stop action, realistic situations and settings, and solid writing. It was very enjoyable and not easy to put down. That should have gotten it four sta...
Let's be clear. Three stars means I liked The Vault. It had an intriguing but ridiculous premise, a tight plot with non-stop action, realistic situations and settings, and solid writing. It was very enjoyable and not easy to put down. That should have gotten it four stars. But minus a half point because I never connected with the characters, especially Tyler Locke, the hero. Perhaps because he's immediately thrown into this race against time, I never felt like I got to know him, other than he's a good friend and a good son and handy to have around when you're in a pinch. Minus another half point for all the viewpoint jumping, my biggest issue and probably what caused my disconnect with the protagonist. We not only see things from the perspective of a few primary characters, we also get inside the head of a host of secondary and tertiary folks, including (however briefly) a soon-to-be-deceased henchman. I found this jarring and distracting, giving the story the feel of a badly edited movie-of-the-week. Otherwise, this was a pretty decent summer read and I will be reading more books by Boyd Morrison. [Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book for review.]

posted by Zot79 on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Vault

    If you like Indiana Jones or Rick O'Connell and archeological thrillers, then you will love The Vault. Tyler Locke and Stacy Benedict are forced to search for King Midas' Tomb (yeah, the guy with the touch of gold). Forced you ask? Yes, a cold-blooded criminal has kidnapped their loved ones and will release them once these two find Midas' secret.

    They travel across the globe (archeology never seems to be so easy or calm) to try and figure out clues left by Archimedes (a Greek inventor from ancient times, for those that didn't know). The closer they get to the secret the rougher it is for them.

    The descriptive narrative and fast-paced action could easily make this a Hollywood blockbuster and I really enjoyed this one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The above is just the opening act of an exhilarating action-packed thriller

    Gordian Engineering Special Operations Chief Dr. Tyler Locke was ten minutes into his commute on a ferry from Seattle to Bremerton when his cell phone receives a text message from an unknown caller whose words are answer his phone or die in twenty eight minutes. Locke responds to the person's next call when he says he planted binary explosives on the ferry and wants Locke to defuse it as a test to prove whether he can handle a special job; failure means death for him and the rest on board. He heads to a truck where he finds waiting for him is Chasing the Past TV host and classical languages expert Stacy Benedict who interprets the Greek instructions so he can defuse the bomb that he created from Archimedes' geolabe for Jordan Orr and save her kidnapped sister Carol and those on the ferry.

    Solving the puzzle with seconds to spare, they learn this pretest is to prove they have a reasonable chance to find King Midas's lost treasure. To do so the pair will need to interpret the arcane Antikythera Mechanism's cryptic clues; another puzzling deadly device created by Archimedes over two millennia ago. Failure to find the loot in five days will result in loved ones like Carol being brutally murdered; success will save Carol, but cause mass destruction to others.

    The above is just the opening act of an exhilarating action-packed thriller that hooks the audience from the first text message to the confrontations in New York and elsewhere. Readers will never look at the Hudson sediment in the same way as Boyd Morrison provides a taut thriller that never allows the heroes or fans to take a respite.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    A must read!

    Tyler Locke really gets in the middle of this one. He will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way through.
    Anyone who loves a good thriller will enjoy this book.
    Boyd Morrison has quickly become one of my favorite go to authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing, ridiculous, full of action, and not easy to put down

    Let's be clear. Three stars means I liked The Vault. It had an intriguing but ridiculous premise, a tight plot with non-stop action, realistic situations and settings, and solid writing. It was very enjoyable and not easy to put down. That should have gotten it four stars. But minus a half point because I never connected with the characters, especially Tyler Locke, the hero. Perhaps because he's immediately thrown into this race against time, I never felt like I got to know him, other than he's a good friend and a good son and handy to have around when you're in a pinch. Minus another half point for all the viewpoint jumping, my biggest issue and probably what caused my disconnect with the protagonist. We not only see things from the perspective of a few primary characters, we also get inside the head of a host of secondary and tertiary folks, including (however briefly) a soon-to-be-deceased henchman. I found this jarring and distracting, giving the story the feel of a badly edited movie-of-the-week. Otherwise, this was a pretty decent summer read and I will be reading more books by Boyd Morrison. [Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book for review.]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Entertaining Read

    I've now read all of the Tyler Locke series, and I enjoyed them all. They have all of the key elements that have made Clive Cussler books best sellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Midnight

    Come on. Keep going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    PTS

    Great, continue, i am in mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Al

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    The vault pt 1

    I went through the door wich happened to lead to a dark ominous hallway up ahead i saw blue walking to where ever he was going. I walked down the dark hallway carefull not to make any sound and reveal myself. As i walked i thought *where is he going its really strange to just walk off and go through a door that was obviously marked do not enter but why didnt he mind the sign i figured if he wouldnt i wouldnt either mkes sence what fair is fair unless*i looked up and saw blue step over a rats skeleton gross i thought as a lightly stepped over its corpse*unless he put the sign there then that would make sense that means hes keeping a secret from everypony but we are his friends he can tell us anything unless its so dark and evil he thinks we will no longer like him hmmmmm*i went back into reality and sw the end of the hall *here goes nothing*i thought i stepped out of the hall and into the shadows of the room. THANKS FOR READING im aware that there might be some mistakes and stuff but comment! -Beats Dilemma

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Good book

    Very good book, fast moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Stella's Bio

    NAME: Stella Banks •~• GENDER: Really? Ima girl •~• AGE: 19 •~• WEAPONS: Two silver daggers and a gold short sword •~• LOOKS: Blonde hair to my collar bone with dark green eyes. Ive got somewhat tan skin from always being in the sun. Usually wear dark brown skinny jeans and a black shirt and a belt for my weapons. •~• PERSONALITY: Just talk to me and find out. •~• CRUSH: First off, its none of your buisness, secondly I may have one but Im not telling. •~• Nuka Cola?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Renezmae

    Name...... hidy
    Date of birth........ 1-12-98
    Colo of eyes........ baby blue
    Hieght........ five foot seven
    Legs........ long
    Hair...... medium an dirty blonde
    Freakles...... yes
    Intrist........ anything andwilling to risk
    Hibbies....m softball an art

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Grey

    Name-Grey Gender-Female Age-16 Description-Long blonde hair,gray eyes,short,gray t-shirt,and blue jeans. Abbilities-Is psycic and can sing to make people fall into a trans. (Doesnt always work) Others-She walks barefoot and is practically like...a ninja. Beautiful smile and loves to see new things.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Strength Yuu

    Name: It's right up there.

    Gender: Female

    Likes: Black Rock Shooter

    Dislikes: Too many to list.

    Well. Im not the type to type so long. Also, Im sticking out my tounge a bit while typing. Bad habit of mine. So I'll just tell you. I stole my character from BRS. Well, my skin is tan. I always where a hood, and my arms are normal sized. When i put my my weapons, the two bigger robotic arms (think gorilla) they can easily lift my weight. Connected to my robo arms is a tail. The tail is behind me though. Its robotic. The tail has a sword tip at the end which is cool. I dont want to talk too much about my character. Search up Strength BRS into google images, now, okay? When mad, the fingertips of my hands pop out making them 10 guns. Yes. I have ten fingers. When shooting though. Its rather amazing with the ammunition going all bang bang! I am generally Yuu's counterpart. Her "other" self. My eyes are orange with rings in them. I just fight her pain her emotional pain. Strength, Chariot, and Dead master are all my friends. I am also the first character to have a tarot card name. Next,

    Personality: Strength gets her strongness from her arms. When taken off, she looks like a normal girl. She is quiet. Her only friend is Black Gold Saw. Furthermore, Im generally nice! But I get bored easily. I reply quicker than you think.

    Weapons: Arms. Lasers. Guns. Missles. Some magic that i know how to incant in Latin.

    Finally: Closure. I wanna roleplay too! I dissapear a lot though so dont count on me too often.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Skyler's bio

    Name: Skyler legendrider.•Age: 15•Apperence: short 4'7",long blonde hair with electric blue eyes. Super smooth skin.•Race: morphisis.•Powers: can morph into anything desired.take shape of abybody at a time.•Weapons: knives up all over her body. Lightning staff.•Personality: protective over anybody who has helped her. But mostly indepentent.•History: last morphisis living after the dequin bombed and destroyed the entire population.•Crush: Kai•

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Angel

    Name**Angel Lea Dulae// Age**19// Gender**Female// Looks** Pale with forest green eyes and long raven colored hair. She is long legged with high cheekbones.// Race**Dhamphir// Personality**Blunt and usually unsociable. Good with one handed weapons and she can be talkative. Scared if ruins.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Misaki & Hikaru

    Name: Misaki.
    Appearance: Short, J<_>apanese, 12 years old, black hair drawn into a long ponytail, wears a red t-shirt and a white long skirt, wears a metal headband.
    Personality: Light-hearted despite the situation, often goofy, but can turn uber-serious in the blink of an eye.
    Skills/Powers: A slightly good strategist and good at fixing electronics, specificly robots. That's it.
    Name: Hikaru.
    Appearance: 12 feet tall. Appears to be a doll, but in actuality is an android. Has pixie-cut reddish hair. Wears a red leotard and tights, and arm-length white gloves.
    Personality: A great deal more serious than Misaki, protective of her, and very cold to anyone who isn't Misaki.
    Skills/Powers: Extremely fast, skilled in many forms of martial arts, has a special force shield funtion that can protect herself and a person.
    History of the pair: Misaki was an ordinary person (as ordinary as you can be on Tulva) before getting nearly kidnapped by a mysterious group of people. She was rescued by a stranger, who gave her Hikaru to protect her. The stranger then abruptly disappeard, leaving almost no trace he had ever existed, except for Hikaru. The two now wander Tulva.
    (Nuka-Cola)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Amber

    Gender: girl•age: 21•looks:long black hair put in a braid, greenish-blue eyes, tall, kinda pale•personality: kind, usually sad, stubborn, protective, loyal, understanding (has a lot of mood swings)•ability: good with any weapon, fast, has 10 years of martial arts training• nuka-cola

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Zynkyora Ruby C.

    Age:11. Gender:Girl. Species! Dragohielf. Part Elf,Human,Dragon. Human form:Red hair waist length and plled in a long ponytail, red eyes,and tanned. 5"10.5. Elf form:same except Green hair, sea green eyes ,and tan but green ginted. Pointed ears and 5"3 . Dragon form: Scales change on mood, eyes are actually a pretty warm brown. She is big. Leave it at that. Personality is tye same. Her personality is: Sad and fearfull,brave and secretive,pretty but doesnt care,and youll see. WATCH HER TEMPER! Nuka cola

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4