Customer Reviews for

The Vault (Chief Inspector Wexford Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love Ruth Rendell!

Anything Ruth Rendell writes is a great read. When I first discovered Ruth Rendell I thought of her as a female Alfred Hitchcock. Her stories are unique, never dull and will turn you on your head at times. She writes about situations you would consider a dark thought if...
Anything Ruth Rendell writes is a great read. When I first discovered Ruth Rendell I thought of her as a female Alfred Hitchcock. Her stories are unique, never dull and will turn you on your head at times. She writes about situations you would consider a dark thought if they were yours. Her characters are developed gradually and at the end you understand why they are as they are. I have read everything Ruth Rendell has written and can't wait for her next book.

posted by Whatever3 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dark Hole

Old soldiers may just fade away, but apparently not so Reginald Wexford. Retired as a chief inspector, free to read and enjoy his leisure, now that he also has access to a second home in London, he is chomping at the bit. When he gets a phone call from Tom Ede, now a ...
Old soldiers may just fade away, but apparently not so Reginald Wexford. Retired as a chief inspector, free to read and enjoy his leisure, now that he also has access to a second home in London, he is chomping at the bit. When he gets a phone call from Tom Ede, now a detective superintendent, asking him to act as a consultant on an unusual case, he jumps at the chance.

The police investigation is at a standstill. Four bodies were discovered down a coal chute, three apparently there for more than a decade, another just a couple of years. Who are they? Why hadn’t they been discovered before? Why were they murdered, and who killed them? Painstakingly, Wexford pursues each elusive “clue,” logically and doggedly. Just as important is his intuition, which propels him forward, conjuring new theories and assisting his analysis.

Artfully written, the author provides a sweeping view of London as Wexford follows the various paths leading to solving the mystery. Especially poignant is a side story involving Wexford’s daughter.

Recommended.

posted by tedfeit0 on February 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Love Ruth Rendell!

    Anything Ruth Rendell writes is a great read. When I first discovered Ruth Rendell I thought of her as a female Alfred Hitchcock. Her stories are unique, never dull and will turn you on your head at times. She writes about situations you would consider a dark thought if they were yours. Her characters are developed gradually and at the end you understand why they are as they are. I have read everything Ruth Rendell has written and can't wait for her next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Hole

    Old soldiers may just fade away, but apparently not so Reginald Wexford. Retired as a chief inspector, free to read and enjoy his leisure, now that he also has access to a second home in London, he is chomping at the bit. When he gets a phone call from Tom Ede, now a detective superintendent, asking him to act as a consultant on an unusual case, he jumps at the chance.

    The police investigation is at a standstill. Four bodies were discovered down a coal chute, three apparently there for more than a decade, another just a couple of years. Who are they? Why hadn’t they been discovered before? Why were they murdered, and who killed them? Painstakingly, Wexford pursues each elusive “clue,” logically and doggedly. Just as important is his intuition, which propels him forward, conjuring new theories and assisting his analysis.

    Artfully written, the author provides a sweeping view of London as Wexford follows the various paths leading to solving the mystery. Especially poignant is a side story involving Wexford’s daughter.

    Recommended.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended-please check it out

    This was my first Inspector Wexford book and it will not be my last. It held my interest and peaked my curiosity throughout. A retired inspector being asked to help the police on a tough and old case adds his experience and knowledge to the local police. He also has a few problems of his own to sort out. But all the twists and turns of the story keeps the readers attention until the very end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Keep it in the vault

    What a bloody disappointment. Too many characters and no surprises and dull dull dull.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Check this one out

    I have read many books by Ruth Rendell,and I would recommend this one to everyone who enjoys a good mystery.I would also recommend it for a book discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yawn

    What started out promisingly enough tuned into quite a dull book. The pace just plodded along with little suspense being built as not a whole lot was happening. A waste of my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wexford rules - as always!

    So far: Rendell is my favorite author, Wexford is one of my favorite characters, and "Sight for Sore Eyes" had one of Rendell's best villains - really looking forward to this!

    After finish:
    It was so good to see Wexford again, I didn't mind that not much attention was paid to Teddy, the villain of "Sight for Sore Eyes." There was a new quirk added, just to make things interesting, and I enjoyed following that. Also, Wexford's daughter Sylvia once again did something really boneheaded. I disapprove of parents who have a favorite child; and I still think that their blatant preference for Sheila might have damaged Sylvia, and maybe that's why she does boneheaded things. But y'know, she must be in her late 40s by now. I don't blame Wexford and Dora for finally getting fed up with her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    This

    This

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Lunamotj

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    AL

    Um...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    BL

    Nice..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Sweet Death

    "Bombs ahoy!" Wow, that was funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    The vault pt:2

    I hid in the corner of the room hidden from veiw i watched a large group of ponies sitting around a huge stone. Bl walked up the giant stone and stood at the top. He got all the ponies attention i watched silently blue was saying something about a secret crime organization he laid out a giant peice of paper. I climbed up the wall into the rafters and looked curiously at the paper*wait one second*i looked at the paper again*HEY thats the bank what are they doing are they robbing the bank*i looked around *i cant let this happen*i pulled out a bunch of cake and dumped it on top of the ponies and blue lightning*hahahaha*the ponies franticly looked around and one even yelled "WERE UNDER ATTACK"*stupid ponies*i thought. The ponies didnt stop *uum what to do*i looked around and saw a giant bag of rocks i grinned evilly (wich is hard to visulize that because im not evil)i walked along the rafters over to the bag of rocks and tipped it over *bombs ahoy*THE END HAY HAY HAY HOPED YOU ENJOYED IT -Beats dilemma

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    I Wish Immortality For Wexford

    Although I'd previously read, 'A Sight for Sore Eyes', it was a long time ago, so I decided to give myself a real treat and buy it, and, 'The Vault', for my holiday reading. I was thoroughly satisfied, and highly recommend them. I've been reading Ruth Rendell for years, although I have to be careful to time my reads to coincide with internal sunniness, because she can be very dark. A Sight for Sore Eyes is the kind of Rendell I sometimes need to protect myself from temporarily, but having The Vault to go to right away took away the sting. And in The Vault, Rendell allows us a kind of closure that I wouldn't mind seeing from her more often (although I realize I'm a wuss and she's a genius). On top of that, Wexford seems to grow more and more lovable and admirable with age. I actually found myself hoping that he could stay alive longer than I do, because I think I would mourn him like a real person. Usually I am at best grudgingly tolerant of, or, at worst, downright annoyed at, the side plots in the personal lives of detectives, cops, and amateur sleuths, and the fact that I keep thinking about Wexford's interactions with his granddaughters is further proof for me that Rendell is a genius. Hope she's writing another Wexford right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    F

    AWSO?E

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Where are good chat rooms? Reply to clueless

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Grey

    "Hi im new i read the rules but i forgot to put NUKA COLA!!!" She falls to her knees.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Strength Yuu

    Noones here. ;n;

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Stella

    Be right there *smiles*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2