Customer Reviews for

Vector (Jack Stapleton Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Good but I've Read Better

    This is a very interesting medical thriller that grabs your attention but I felt it was not quite as well written as others out there. I read this right before I read Critical Judgment by Michael Palmer and I found that Critical Judgment was a better novel overall due to the fact that the story seemed be very specific rather than being to general. Nevertheless, this is a very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    Excelent, Gripping, Can't put it down, Riviting, Nothing But a Good Book

    It is a good book. I read it during my freashman year in high school this year. Even though I put it down for a few weeks once I pick it back up and couldn't put it back down. It was the best book I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2015

    Good read

    I have been a fan of Robim Cook since reading COMA...nice read for a lazy afternoon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Good book

    Interesting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Good medical mystery.

    Enjoyable, but a little predictable. Very engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Outstanding Read!

    Outstanding, well done Dr. Cook! More twists and turns than a bag of pretzels. I just could not put this book down it is a real edge of the seat read. The pages just fly by with intense entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Forgettable....At best

    Vector by Robin Cook is forgettable at best. It's not that its really all that bad its just that its like a mediocre action film, theres nothing special here. In fact, I thought it was rather boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Cook spins a microbe thriller ¿ with a bug

    Robin Cook's Vector is a good thriller that held my attention to the end. I had a minor problem with noticeably hackneyed verbiage just one time. Telling most readers that orifice can be a malapropism for office detracted me from the author's craftsmanship. I had a major problem with Cook wanting me to believe that a single lab technician from Biopreparat's Sverdlovsk Compound 19 could produce both weaponized anthrax and botulinun toxin in quantity, in his basement, in a short time, all the while consuming prodigious amounts of vodka. It is not that easy. Many public documents, available to Cook and many readers, report Compound 19, and the connected Compound 32, employed close to 10,000 (15,000 people resided inside the two compounds). These scientists and technicians had help from institutes and universities throughout the Soviet Union. Cook's Yuri wasn't good enough to keep his job in this group. If fermenting anthrax using beer production methods could work, why didn't the Soviets (or Iraq, for that matter) just put a big fence around one of their many breweries? Cook could have made Yuri a lot more credible, and bio-weapons more real, with better research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    Kept my interest to finish, but didn't compel me

    An okay plot that is somewhat hampered by the story's predictability, somewhat wooden characters, and convenient coincidences. The writing is better than some other recent Cook thrillers, but still not as well crafted as some of his earliest works. Rather than forging new ground, this once again follows the latest headlines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Another Awesome Book By Robin Cook

    Another awesome book written by Robin Cook. A edge-of-your-seat thriller! I couldn't put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    Cooks Best Book!!!

    I'm a big SK fan but i decided to take a break and i read vector. It was awesome! It had an interesting plot and a good ending! Even if you dont enjoy reading get this book and you'll want to read books like crazy(trust me).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    On the edge of your reading chair!

    This was the best thriller I have ever read. Its a pity that this is not made into a movie. It would be good for moral because of 9/11. It does hit close to home, and it scared me to know how easy it is to grow anthrax in your basement. This novel seemed realistic and I think that everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    Atrocious writing

    I tried--really tried--to enjoy this book. I told myself I would focus on the premise and ignore the wooden characters, plot contrivances, loose ends, and ludicrous dialogue. I already knew that Robin Cook couldn't pass freshman comp. But thrillers don't thrill when you laugh out loud at the pathetic prose. Example: 'The man's expression changed from one of indignation to one of anger. His cheeks empurpled.' Doesn't anyone edit this turkey?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2001

    terrific

    Incredible author. Dr. cook bravely touches on sensitive true issues such as the zionist-controlled America. also, he masters the art of thrilling. you will enjoy reading any of his many writings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    A Possibility

    This is one of Cook's better books. The graphic portrayl of the skinheads in the book and their overwillingness to kill was deeply unsettling. The possiblity of a bioweapons attack is so real and the ability to see how 'easy' one could happen is very scary. This book will defineately make you think the next time you get into a taxi cab or think about foreign relations!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Fantastic Book

    His writing about biological weapons is an incredible story. I found this book to be exciting from the begining. The thought that biowarfare could be a reality as he so mentioned in the book, makes the reading much more powerful. Great book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2000

    Dear Lord!

    This book was cleverly written. I was amazed by the number of twists and turns in this book. All the words on every page are important to the story, though it might not be evident at the time. You'll find the doctors' social lives quite amusing (and yes, their social lives do get implemented in the main plot) Please do your self a favor and get this book. You'll kiss yourself for doing so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2000

    OUTSTANDING !!!!!!!

    A story and a subject that will keep you up till the early mourning hours. Robin makes you think about our world and what could happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Best of Robin Cook

    I have read every single Robin Cook book and this one is one of my favorites. I stayed inside the entire day and finished it the day I started. For those of you who like medical thrillers, this one is captivating and realistic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    RUSSIAN REVENGE

    ROBIN COOK IS MY FAVORITE AUTHOR. I LOVE HIS BOOKS BECAUSE HE GETS RIGHT TO THE POINT HE DOESNT WAITH 30 PAGES TO GET TO THE FIRST HUGE PART OF THE STORY. VECTOR IS A VERY GOOD BOOK IT TEACHES ABOUT PREDUDUCE AGAINTS OTHER PEOPLE. IT TELLS HOW BAD A GANG CAN GET. WHEN I READ IT I COULD HARDLY PUT IT DOWN IT WAS SO GOOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2