Customer Reviews for

Vefa's Kitchen

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Vefa's Kitchen

    My fist greek cook book was one of Vefa's and I am a big fan. I grew up in a home with a greek grandmother (Yaya) and she was an incredible cook. Vefa's recipes reflect that same old world cooking with recipes from all regions of greece, beautiful illustrations compliment the dishes. I highly recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    What book?

    I would love to be able to review this book, which I was very excited about, but have not yet received it since ordering it in early April! And there seems to be no end in sight since there is still no delivery date.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the "Julie Child" of Greek cooking!

    This is a fabulous cookbook, whether or not you're looking specifically for Greek recipes. I can't imagine the research that went into writing this book. It's fabulous! I bought one for my new daughter-in-law who was honeymooning in Greece, then loved it so much I went back to get another for myself! Congratulations to the author on a wonderful accomplishment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    Vefa's Kitchen

    After waiting since May for the book and no satisfaction from Barne's & Noble, I contacted the publisher who responded quickly that the book won't be out again till October and thanked me for my patience.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    also wondering when i will receive this book...

    I also was very excited about this book and ordered in May. A month later I was told it was out of stock. I have contacted customer service about this and all they can tell me is to keep waiting. I'm unsure if they'll ever get more in stock since it is out of print at many other places. I wish I had known this when ordering...

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    Wondering Where My Books Are

    I join the previous two reviews in being very excited about ordering two copies of this book, highly recommended by a friend. I ordered them early in March; one for myself, the second as a birthday gift for my daughter's birthday on April 20th. I e-mailed customer service and they told me my books were expected to ship on June 8th. It is June 21st and still no word. An updated expected date of shipment would be greatly appreciated.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    Indeed --- What Book?

    Ordered April 13 - expected shipping changed to May 26...
    I don't want to cancel my order, I want to receive the book. BN: when can I expect to receive it (it was supposed to be a Mothers-Day gift)?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Now I can cook like a "Yia-yia!"

    Amazing how these simple recipes can recreate my favorite memories of Sunday dinners at friends' homes and tavernas in Cyprus and elsewhere around the Mediterranean! The books is enormous, but it really has everything, broken down in ways that easily allow for successful improvisation. I've had far better success with this than any other Greek cookbook, and only Claudia Roden can compare in capturing the essence of the Mediterranean in an American kitchen. The photographs are lovely, but I do wish the type were a little darker. I also like that "Vefa's" includes so much regional cuisine, including the Mediterranean island of Cyprus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful cookbook.

    I have been searching for a comprehensive Greek cookbook. Here it is. Easy to use, not a lot of ingredients that are difficult to find - though octopus is not available at my fish monger or supermarket - thoroughly explains procedures. Really a user friendly cookbook. You may develop muscles lifting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2