Customer Reviews for

Vegan Cookbook for Beginners: The Essential Vegan Cookbook to Get Started

Average Rating 4.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I¿ve always imagined a vegan diet to be dull, dry and boring, wi

I’ve always imagined a vegan diet to be dull, dry and boring, with tasteless food that was no fun at all. This cookbook proves me wrong. In fact, many of the recipes for salads, soups and appetizers could be found in any party cookbook. To make the switch to better eati...
I’ve always imagined a vegan diet to be dull, dry and boring, with tasteless food that was no fun at all. This cookbook proves me wrong. In fact, many of the recipes for salads, soups and appetizers could be found in any party cookbook. To make the switch to better eating, just stick this guide in your pocket or purse on your next trip to the market. You’ll learn what to buy and how to fix it, with delicious results.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting recipes await, if you can get through the lengthy (a

Interesting recipes await, if you can get through the lengthy (and occasionally shaky) reasoning for veganism. They do note that the diet’s not for everyone, and do provide helpful transition tips. The recipes are varied, with something for everyone, including some that...
Interesting recipes await, if you can get through the lengthy (and occasionally shaky) reasoning for veganism. They do note that the diet’s not for everyone, and do provide helpful transition tips. The recipes are varied, with something for everyone, including some that are gluten-free. Instructions are generally simple, although you’ll need to read through them and work out timing, because that information isn’t well-laid out in some cases.

posted by Ann_McCarthy on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Nice book for beginners!

    Nice book for beginners!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    I¿ve never really considered becoming a vegan, but the recipes i

    I’ve never really considered becoming a vegan, but the recipes in this book make it seem like a very doable transition. The explanations that it provides help in giving the interested reader some background about veganism in order to have a better understanding of what he or she may be embarking on. It’s a sound investment if thinking about learning the lifestyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    As somebody who has always been curious about veganism but hasn¿

    As somebody who has always been curious about veganism but hasn’t had the nerve to actually try it, I found “Vegan Cookbook for Beginners” to have the perfect balance between information about nutrition and diet with delicious and simple recipes that anybody can make. It also includes a ready-to-use meal plan as well as tips and advice on how to make the transition to veganism smoother. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    Overall, this book does exactly as described; provide a vegan co

    Overall, this book does exactly as described; provide a vegan cook book for beginners. I haven't fully been convinced to go vegan, but this book pushed me that much further into trying it. Many of these recipes look so delicious, I don't think I'd miss the meat very much. This book was an awesome compilation of information that I otherwise may not have found, and it doesn't stop at recipes. This book really aides in preparation for a vegan lifestyle, and warns against diving in head first. The recommendation to ease into things makes sense to me, and can deter a person from giving up on it early. The only thing I would have like more of are pictures, but other than than this is an awesome introduction into vegan-ism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Filed with one recipe after another, the Vegan Cookbook for Begi

    Filed with one recipe after another, the Vegan Cookbook for Beginners is a great way to get started on a healthier lifestyle. Whether you are choosing to change your way of eating for moral or health reasons, this cookbook offers 150 delicious reasons to get started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    This excellent resource guide to veganism provides a comprehensi

    This excellent resource guide to veganism provides a comprehensive look at the whys, whats and how-tos
     of what some opponents might view as a cult. It’s really an alternative lifestyle with its own beliefs, principles
     and rules as covered in this book. It is simply a diet that utilizes foods that do not contain animals or animal
     products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    When all the vegans you know are intense and committed people (u

    When all the vegans you know are intense and committed people (usually ethically so), it makes the transition and lifestyle seem really intimidating. I am glad for books like this that present the benefits and hints that fuel the drive to make the transition possible for anyone interested in cutting out animal-products. Tons of recipes, with even some smoothies and juices, this is a pretty great reference for those entering the veg-world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    The Vegan Cookbook is a wonderful option for anyone that is tryi

    The Vegan Cookbook is a wonderful option for anyone that is trying to learn about a vegan lifestyle. The book provides a shopping list for the reader, studies that support the moral and healthy benefits of going vegan , and a recipe book with delicious meal and snack plans. I think this book is a great read for beginners and people that have already adopted a vegan lifestyle as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    This book is well worth every penny!   It has a huge variety of

    This book is well worth every penny!   It has a huge variety of recipes (using easy to find ingredients),
    a ton of nutritional and health information and it is an easy read.   Had I known going vegan was this
     easy, I would have done it years ago!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    The Vegan Cookbook for Beginners provides a two week meal plan,

    The Vegan Cookbook for Beginners provides a two week meal plan, a list of ingredients to avoid on food labels, and a shopping list which are incredibly handy for those who are just beginning the transition to veganism and just don’t know where to start. With over 100 delicious recipes to choose from, you won’t worry about starving while transforming your diet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    With my carnivore ways, a vegan diet could never satisfy me. Ne

    With my carnivore ways, a vegan diet could never satisfy me. Nevertheless, this book does present some admittedly appealing healthy recipes -- tropical fruit smoothie with chia seeds, creamy cauliflower soup, cilantro quinoa burgers, penne with mushroom and artichokes, and lemon vanilla cupcakes. It’s a good intro describing the health benefits of veganism and how to transition to veganism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    The Vegan Cookbook for beginners is an amazing book. Inside you

    The Vegan Cookbook for beginners is an amazing book. Inside you learn about the history and benefits of a vegan diet versus a meat-based diet. It’s amazing to me how a meat-based diet contributes to disease in western cultures. If this book doesn’t convince you to take on a vegan diet then I don’t know what will. The facts are staggering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    This is one of the best books on veganism I¿ve seen. Specific st

    This is one of the best books on veganism I’ve seen. Specific studies are cited, a diversity of reasons for going vegan are explored, and a slow transition is advocated throughout. There were a few nitpicky things I wished the book had addressed. For example, it didn’t touch on the extra cost associated with being vegan or the difficulty of replacing eggs in baked goods. Despite these shortcomings, I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone looking to make the switch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Let me say, this cookbook is a great overview on the benefits of

    Let me say, this cookbook is a great overview on the benefits of a vegan lifestyle, plus about 150 tempting recipes to set you on the right track from the start. There are many pros to a vegan diet. Proven health improvements, animal rights/welfare, or eco concerns are just a few. It's a great read when considering this growing lifestyle trend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    My love of animals solidified my desire to live a meat and dairy

    My love of animals solidified my desire to live a meat and dairy free life.
    I have become a Vegan.My search for the perfect tool to guide me to learn about the foods to prepare ended when I came across "The Vegan Cookbook for Beginners".
    From delicious meals to smoothy drinks, this book has it all. A must have cookbook for Vegans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Vegan Cookbook for Beginners really is more than just a cookbook

    Vegan Cookbook for Beginners really is more than just a cookbook. There is much about
    veganism and its benefits and potential cons. The book is more like a guide to transitioning
    into a vegan diet whether you currently eat meat or not. I am a vegetarian thinking of being
    vegan and I am sure that this book will help very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    While a little too much time is spent on the pros of veganism an

    While a little too much time is spent on the pros of veganism and the cons of "meat-eaters", this cookbook does flow into some extremely appealing recipes with options galore - refreshing smoothies, satisfying salads, bold main dishes and even flavorful desserts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    The Vegan Cookbook is filled with so many essentials! Chapters i

    The Vegan Cookbook is filled with so many essentials! Chapters include recipes of smoothies, juices, meals and dishes for an array of occasions, the health benefits, how to make the transition and so much more. 
    And even though a lot of ahead planning is needed to change towards a Vegan lifestyle, this book makes is seem so simple with its variety of meals.
    Recipes included: cinnamon and banana pancakes, pumpkin spice muffins, Green Goddess and Watermelon  wake up juices, an array of Salad Dressings, types of Salads, Soups, Appetizers, Sauces,  Main Dishes and a ton of Desserts!! 
    The book was not only an easy read (with lots of recipes), it also gave helpful information on understanding the Vegan lifestyle, health benefits, and individual well-being

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    The Vegan Cookbook for beginners has opened a whole new world to

    The Vegan Cookbook for beginners has opened a whole new world to healthier dietary options. Full of information on meat and dairy substitutes and  of course delightful recipes. It also has a meal plan that makes the transition away from animal products an easy one. This has proven to be a great addition to my kitchen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    This particular vegan book for beginners is the best in my opini

    This particular vegan book for beginners is the best in my opinion; it contains great recipes for vegan lovers and those who are hesitant of trying the lifestyle.
    The cookbook sheds light on the various diseases and sicknesses that stem directly from consuming animal products such as meat and dairy.
    I loved the detailed research of the vegan health benefits as I have been misinformed by myths and age old traditions; this book is both informative and enticing! Historically, I am a dedicated meat lover but I have toyed with the idea of going vegan and this book just may have sold me on the idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4