Customer Reviews for

Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

They can take over MY cookie jar any day!

I have a daugther with a dairy allergy, and what better way to ensure that her food doesn't have dairy than to cook vegan? I needed some cookies for her for the holidays, and bought this book. Not only did they win over my daughter, but everyone else too! I have brou...
I have a daugther with a dairy allergy, and what better way to ensure that her food doesn't have dairy than to cook vegan? I needed some cookies for her for the holidays, and bought this book. Not only did they win over my daughter, but everyone else too! I have brought batches to church functions, and had people emailing and calling for receipes. I am spreading the word, and hope more cookie jars are invaded by this wonderful little book!

posted by Jenn_K on December 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

do not buy as an ebook

this is an amazing cookbook, but DO NOT buy it as an ebook (i can't really imagine why you'd want to cook with your nook in the kitchen, but that's a completely different issue.) i downloaded this cookbook, because i had a hard copy and was curious to see how the format...
this is an amazing cookbook, but DO NOT buy it as an ebook (i can't really imagine why you'd want to cook with your nook in the kitchen, but that's a completely different issue.) i downloaded this cookbook, because i had a hard copy and was curious to see how the formatting would change as an ebook (for future e-cookbook shopping?), but that is not the problem at all. it appears that there is an error with some of the characters for fractions (i think it's just thirds), but they only appear as ?

i haven't seen if this problem goes away if your looking at it on an actual computer screen instead of a nook, but i cant really find a cookbook useful if it calls for ? cup sugar, right? so maybe it's a nook error, but i wanted to put out a warning before anyone spent money on a worthless copy of a good cookbook.

posted by 1496881 on August 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    do not buy as an ebook

    this is an amazing cookbook, but DO NOT buy it as an ebook (i can't really imagine why you'd want to cook with your nook in the kitchen, but that's a completely different issue.) i downloaded this cookbook, because i had a hard copy and was curious to see how the formatting would change as an ebook (for future e-cookbook shopping?), but that is not the problem at all. it appears that there is an error with some of the characters for fractions (i think it's just thirds), but they only appear as ?

    i haven't seen if this problem goes away if your looking at it on an actual computer screen instead of a nook, but i cant really find a cookbook useful if it calls for ? cup sugar, right? so maybe it's a nook error, but i wanted to put out a warning before anyone spent money on a worthless copy of a good cookbook.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    They can take over MY cookie jar any day!

    I have a daugther with a dairy allergy, and what better way to ensure that her food doesn't have dairy than to cook vegan? I needed some cookies for her for the holidays, and bought this book. Not only did they win over my daughter, but everyone else too! I have brought batches to church functions, and had people emailing and calling for receipes. I am spreading the word, and hope more cookie jars are invaded by this wonderful little book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Vegan cookie book- something nice to try

    Only received this bk recently, so still trying to "perfect" first cookie recipe. Decided to try chocolate chip cookies first. It tastes okay but not comparable to the best commercially available ones on the market. Make sure to follow exact recipe directions for chocolate chips and anything that gives it flavor. The cookie tastes bland. Also, the authors did not give very good advice on the proper equipment that should be used for the whole cookie making process. This would be difficult for people that are not familiar with baking in general. I will say that the cookies are sizable and satisfying if you are hungry. As someone who is lactose intolerant, I find vegan bakeries a nice alternative to the limited selection that are available at the supermarket and health food stores, so any vegan book is a nice welcome addition to those who have a sweet tooth and cannot eat the conventional things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    This is a fabulous cookbook, not only for the vegan, but for anyone who enjoys cookies. The only way people will know these recipes are vegan is if you tell them. Wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    good book - cheap binding

    The pages fell out during first use.. the glue came apart... guess this what happens when you go for the cheap overseas printing....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    LOVE this cookbook!  I haven't had a failure yet and I use the g

    LOVE this cookbook!  I haven't had a failure yet and I use the gluten free mix provided in the book.  We absolutely love the peanut butter oatmeal cookies. I add chocolate chips too.  No one knows it is a vegan cookie and I have been asked for the recipe several times..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    U

    C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I love to bake and this book is awesome

    made many recipies for new years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Being vegan never tasted so good

    My brother gifted me this book for Christmas, to my excitement, and I can't imagine life without it. In times previous, instead of using vegan recipes found online, I resorted to "veganizing" my own with mixed success. Never have I been capable of making a recipe for cookies using whole wheat flour successfully. Well, no more! If I'm in the mood for something rich and chocolatey but don't want to go into sugar shock, I can whip myself up a batch of "Chocolate Agave Trailmixers" and remain guilt free. And the healthy but not so "healthy" recipes are fantastic as well. I intend to purchase the authors' cupcake book in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone loves cookies!

    Great recipes for those who are avoiding eating animals and animal products AND for anyone and everyone who likes to bake and eat cookies!
    If you are tired of all the vegan questions and doubters just bake some of these cookies and watch them become believers! You won't be sorry you bought this cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2