Customer Reviews for

Vegan Cooking for Carnivores: Over 125 Recipes So Tasty You Won't Miss the Meat

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Makes Vegan Cooking Approachable!

The inviting, easy to follow photos and little stories in this cookbook really draw you in and almost make you feel like you are reading a little biography, not just a cookbook. Most of the recipes are very approachable and take some of the fear out of trying something ...
The inviting, easy to follow photos and little stories in this cookbook really draw you in and almost make you feel like you are reading a little biography, not just a cookbook. Most of the recipes are very approachable and take some of the fear out of trying something new. I felt like I was right in a warm friendly, delicious smelling kitchen with Roberto.

posted by KatieGrrr on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I am soooooo glad I looked at this in the library before I spent

I am soooooo glad I looked at this in the library before I spent any money on it. The recipes are all old and are found in many other vegan cookbooks. The author uses packaged supermarket faux meats to make a number of dishes. It's easy enough for a non-chef to buy a...
I am soooooo glad I looked at this in the library before I spent any money on it. The recipes are all old and are found in many other vegan cookbooks. The author uses packaged supermarket faux meats to make a number of dishes. It's easy enough for a non-chef to buy a package of grain "chicken" and add a sauce. I expect some originality in a cookbook.

posted by Westy0 on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Makes Vegan Cooking Approachable!

    The inviting, easy to follow photos and little stories in this cookbook really draw you in and almost make you feel like you are reading a little biography, not just a cookbook. Most of the recipes are very approachable and take some of the fear out of trying something new. I felt like I was right in a warm friendly, delicious smelling kitchen with Roberto.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I am soooooo glad I looked at this in the library before I spent

    I am soooooo glad I looked at this in the library before I spent any money on it. The recipes are all old and are found in many other vegan cookbooks. The author uses packaged supermarket faux meats to make a number of dishes. It's easy enough for a non-chef to buy a package of grain "chicken" and add a sauce. I expect some originality in a cookbook.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    This cookbook makes vegan cooking SIMPLE. I hate following recip

    This cookbook makes vegan cooking SIMPLE. I hate following recipes and quite frankly I suck at it. This book uses practical ingredients that you can find in any grocery store and techniques that are as simple as making a box of kraft mac n cheese. As if that isn't great enough, the food tastes phenomenal! Great taste, simple recipes...what more could you ask for?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Good starting point.

    This is a wonderful jumping off point for someone looking to start cooking/eating vegan or vegetarian food. I'm using this book every week for "Meatless Mondays". My favorite recipes so far are the red beans and rice, and the veg sandwich. Make sure you read through the cooking intro, it gives you very good information that you don't find in other cookbooks, and at the end it gives you recipes on condiments and other little things (like making a milk substitute for vegans).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I pre-ordered this for my nook, and now it doesn't seem to be av

    I pre-ordered this for my nook, and now it doesn't seem to be available on the nook. What gives?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    I'm just learning about Vegan cooking (and how to make it NOT ta

    I'm just learning about Vegan cooking (and how to make it NOT taste like stereotypical tofu stuff) and this book ROCKS! I can't wait to make more of the recipes. Total success!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Wasn't that impressed with this cookbook. My main criticism is t

    Wasn't that impressed with this cookbook. My main criticism is that it relies too much on faux meats, of which I'm not a fan. There are only about 5 recipes that are exclusively whole foods. Pretty disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I absolutely love this cookbook. The recipes are perfect for veg

    I absolutely love this cookbook. The recipes are perfect for vegans who are either cooking for non-vegans, craving soul food, or simply looking to recreate recipes that once seemed impossible to veganize. This book is a great collection of diverse recipes that are organized beautifully. The ingredients are reasonable and widely available, which is rare for a vegan cookbook. This is a great book for people who want to eat a kinder diet without quitting the traditional dishes they've grown to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Excellent "practical" vegan cookbook

    The recipes varry from simple to sophisticated, but all seem designed to be particularly aqppealing without being overly complicated. That's what a good cookbook should have - unless it is designed to have pretensions toward sophisticated gastronomy. This is a great vegan cookbook for beginner or more experienced vegan cook (I've been at this for a bit over two years now so I consider myself beyond the beginner phase). If I want to I can go find a vegan recipe for a mayonase substitute, but I'd just as well prefer buying off the shelf. I may prefer to make my own vegan sour cream substitute, but not always. This book suggests the substitutes, and for many of us that's fine. there are other cookbooks that address the details of vegan substitutes. There is still a lot of creativity in Mr. Martin's vegan cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1