Customer Reviews for

Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners: Essentials to Get Started

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    I was thrilled to purchase this book and have more vegan dishes

    I was thrilled to purchase this book and have more vegan dishes to enjoy.  As a pescetarian, I don’t eat much meat, so these recipes are perfect.  I love that they’re so detailed, yet simple.  I’m excited to continue using this book in the kitchen for a long time.  I also appreciate the helpful intro it includes.  You won’t regret purchasing this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners includes a plethora of healthy r

    Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners includes a plethora of healthy recipes that are so delicious that people with any dietary preferences will enjoy them. Readers will be surprised at the variety of vegan options that can be made in a slow cooker, such as cobbler, tacos, and apricot butter. The book introduces novice cooks to slow-cooking basics as well as detailed advice on how to make vegan staples, such as preparing tofu, tempeh, beans, rice, and seitan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners is a great resource cookbook tha

    Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners is a great resource cookbook that educates beginner cookers on how to create vegan cuisine using a slow cooker/crockpot. Helping to eliminate the time-consuming commitment of traditional food preparation, the book breaks down recipes housed under breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and snacks categories and gives best slow cooker methods for each individualized recipe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    As I began to read the opening part of the Vegan Slow Cooker for

    As I began to read the opening part of the Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners, it had a very upbeat tone that slowly started to form into a kind of "info-mercial" style voice in my head but that voice quickly dissipated shortly after reading into the first chapter. It seemed that my mind had been handed over to a very knowledgeable, well spoken and informative vegan cooking tour guide. Great sounding appetizers, breakfast substitutes and snacks that can even appeal to the most novice of vegan cooks.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    For having so many limitations (vegan ingredients and only one w

    For having so many limitations (vegan ingredients and only one way of cooking) this book does a good job of providing a variety of recipes for different occasions and of different complexity levels. I especially enjoyed the soup recipes because they involved different ingredients and seemed to have a variety of skill levels involved. There’s recipes vegan cooks will love and non vegan eaters as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Did you know broth and stock were different? Or vegans could eat

    Did you know broth and stock were different? Or vegans could eat as richly as traditional omnivores? Breakfast: pumpkin cinnamon rolls. Lunch: enchilada wraps. Dinner: shiitake stew. And my favorite, dessert: chocolate-peanut butter cake. Vegan Slow Cookers for Beginners taught me much in expanding my diet. I thought I was tofu was my only option for a meat substitute. Seitan is a non-soy product that works just as well. This book has broadened my horizons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Vegan Slow Cooker for beginners was one of the easiest walkthrou

    Vegan Slow Cooker for beginners was one of the easiest walkthrough to any slow cooker novice. I am not a vegan, but this book has many solid ideas that arent as simple as just removing meat. Its much more complex than typical vegan cookbooks. It will increase your knowledge on soup bases, portioning and ingredients!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    This is an excellent guide for someone that wants to try out som

    This is an excellent guide for someone that wants to try out some vegan recipes.  Just about all of the recipes contain ingredients that are easy to find.  The blurbs at the beginning of each recipe are handy for first timers, as is the guide on slow-cookers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    This cookbook offers great cooking tips and diverse, delicious v

    This cookbook offers great cooking tips and diverse, delicious vegan meal options for the family. Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners has recipes with easy to find ingredients. A lot of other cookbooks provide ingredients and instructions, but this cookbook gives the reader the inside scoop on secrets to providing the best prepared food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Offers tips on purchasing the right slow-cooker for your needs,

    Offers tips on purchasing the right slow-cooker for your needs, and some other culinary advice such as useful utensils, adding thickeners and vegetable preparation. The scope of the recipes is impressive, with a balanced variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner ideas with a special section for soups, stews and chilies, meat alternatives and of course desserts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners" is a good resource for beg

    Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners" is a good resource for beginning vegans or people who just want to learn a little bit more about healthy food options. I am not a Vegan but my new daughter in law is and I wanted to learn to make some dishes that I could prepare for her when they visit. I have never cooked Vegan meals, so this was a great place for me to start! The book is written in an easy to understand language and the recipes seem simple to prepare. I am planning to make the hashbrown casserole for a family dinner this weekend - it looks delicious even to us non-vegans!




    I would have liked to have had some pictures to compare to the recipes - I purchased the kindle version and it did not include pictures of the food. I am a visual person and sometimes a picture alone encourages me to make new dishes that I otherwise may have never tried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I¿ve looked through nearly every recipe, though I haven¿t made a

    I’ve looked through nearly every recipe, though I haven’t made any yet, and my mouth is watering (I’m not even vegan!). This slow-cooker book has a nice variety of recipes, including soups and stews, international cuisine, desserts, and more. There are throw-in-the-pot-and-go recipes, as well as some that take a bit more preparation, depending on your situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Vegetarians will be interested in learning new, non-meat alterna

    Vegetarians will be interested in learning new, non-meat alternatives for meal preparation using slow-cookers in this volume.  Simple, nutritious, and cost-effective recipes are provided with healthy tips.  Featuring a wide variety of soups, starters, and international dishes, this book offers step-by-step recipes for those interested in pursuing vegan diets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I found Vegan Slow Cooker For Beginners to be very detailed, hel

    I found Vegan Slow Cooker For Beginners to be very detailed, helpful, and informative. There are so many diverse and not too complicated recipes. The instructions are clear and easy to understand. I'm going back to my slow cooker to save time and have healthier, better tasting vegan meals.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    This book goes over the basic¿s of cooking to the basics of bein

    This book goes over the basic’s of cooking to the basics of being a vegan chef. By the end of the book you will not only be a pro at cooking but a pro at cooking simply, as a vegan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Beginners looking for an entry into the alternative vegan lifest

    Beginners looking for an entry into the alternative vegan lifestyle or perhaps a healthful change to their daily diets, need to look not further than Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners. Packed with a variety of menus ranging from breakfast burritos, chili's and amazing soups, any beginner will find plenty of normal everyday items that have been adapted to vegan ingredients. With practice, many crossover main entrees, side dishes, soups or even international flair will become second nature and effortless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Vegan Slow Cooker For Beginners is the perfect book for anyone c

    Vegan Slow Cooker For Beginners is the perfect book for anyone curious about vegan taste despite living on a tight time-budget. It brings healthy, delicious, and easy meals to the table, ready to be eaten and enjoyed by the time you get home. This book definitely broadens the capability and use of the slow-cooker, even for the non-vegan; However (KINDLE DISCLAIMER),  be prepared to figure out for yourself how your meal will wind up looking, as there is no visual detail, but the recipes themselves seem to shine rather nicely, and it adds more adventure to the meal! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I used to love using my slow cooker when I still ate meat, and I

    I used to love using my slow cooker when I still ate meat, and I was so glad to be able to dust it off again! With the help of “Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners” my vegan meals are tastier and easier to prepare. The recipes for slow cooker desserts almost make up for the lack of pictures, though I do like to see what a finished dish is supposed to look like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    My Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners cookbook is amazing! I wish I

    My Vegan Slow Cooker for Beginners cookbook is amazing! I wish I had
    bought it sooner. The recipes are so delicious and simple, you kind of can’t
    believe you’re eating vegan. This cookbook is easy to navigate, as the recipes
    are organized by meal. This cookbook is great for those wanting to begin
    eating more vegan
    foods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    It¿s nice to read a cook book that makes you walk away feeling l

    It’s nice to read a cook book that makes you walk away feeling like you can now create your own vegan slow cooker recipes. Truly, it is almost like a mini class on slow cookers and vegan cooking. It even talks about how to cook different kinds of tofu properly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2