Customer Reviews for

Vegan Virgin Valentine

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a little sappy...but enjoyable

    Myself being a vegan....I ran across this book, Vegan Virgin Valentine, every time I did a vegan book search. So one day I said what the heck and bought the book. I am not disappointed! It's about Mara Valentine who is an overachieving straight A high school senior who is a vegan. She dreams about cheese every night. She has already been accepted to Yale and is taking college courses on top of her high school work. Her main goal is to be valedictorian at her graduation. Then things start to fall apart. Enter V Valentine, Mara's 16 year old niece. V moves in with the Valentines while her own mother is out wandering the globe looking for.....something. V is the polar opposite of Mara. She's a slut, a stoner and she gets bad grades. And to top it all off...she doesn't do any extracurricular activities. So it pretty much goes without saying that Mara and V are at each others throats from the get go. Partway through the book they start to rub off on each other. Mara falls in love with her 22 year old boss who owns the coffee shop she works at, drops some of her college courses she was planning on taking in the summer and she realizes that there is more to life than being valedictorian. V gets the starring role in the school musical, quits smoking cigarettes and gives some serious thought to college. Vegan Virgin Valentine is about being comfortable in your own skin and doing what feels right for you and only you. Mara learns to let go and loosen up, realizing on the way that being successful is relative. This is teen lit and it did get a little sappy in parts, a little too sweet but I really enjoyed reading this novel from Carolyn Mackler. Now I'll have to go pick up the sequel

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    This book is incredible!

    Mara Valentine is an amazing character who changes and matures a lot during this book. This is a great story, especially for younger readers who enjoy romantic comedy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Valentine

    I love love love this book it's so good I'm glad she met James and her and Claudia are friends agan everything worked out fine. I hope she made it to her graduation. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    NEVER HAVE READ UNTIL NOW!!!

    This book pulls you in with the preview part of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    Vegan Virgin Valentine is a super book about a high school senior, Mara, who has only a few months left before she is off to Yale and graduates high school. But she really learns in that time to make her own path and to let loose once in a while, and that is due to her niece V. I love how Mara is a vegan, but she secretly dreams of griled cheese sandwiches. Those dreams and the ones she has of her boss are the funniest ones she has. This is a perfect book for anyone and it really has a good message of learning to let loose once in a while and chart your own path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    RECOMMEND!

    In Vegan Virgin Valentine, Carolyn Mackler perfectly describes the issues of a modern day teenager. It's difficult to put down with the constant tension that's built throughout the book. Using youthful writing, Mackler creates a practical and realistic protagonist.

    Mara Valentine only has a few months to overcome several new obstacles. Mara is an overachieving, straight A senior. With Yale right around the corner, she starts making decisions for herself. Throughout this book, Mara discovers many things about her family, romance, and herself. She decides to get over it and get a life.

    Although this is an interesting book, it's not full of excitement. At points the narrator can drag on, but it's well worth finishing. I'd highly recommend Vegan Virgin Valentine to high school girls countrywide; whether uptight and nerdy or just living life. On a scale of one to ten, this book is a solid nine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    I started reading it in the morning and finshed that very night. I absolutely loved it! The character of Mara was very intriguing. I lie how she ended up with her boss and that her parents were actually able to get through to V.
    I recommend reading this because it shows how one person or event can change the rest of your life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    this book is highly recomended for teens

    This is a really great book. Mara Valentine is an overachiever who learns how to roll with the punches and live life without stressing over absolutely everything. She is a straight A student and competing with her womanizing ex-boyfriend Travis Hart for Valedictorian. With her 16 year old Niece V home she has just one more struggle to go through. i loved this book, Mara reminds me a lot about myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    This book is sooo good. I was able to finish in two days, I couldn't put it down! It's about Mara Valentine who is a serious strait- A student. During the second half of her senior year her niece, V comes to live with her and her parents while her mother goes to Costa Rica (there were no English speaking schools). V and Mara have completely opposite personalities. Mara is goody-goody all around involved model student, while V is an outspoken, more of a loose cannon. Throughout the story they both take certain qualities from each other. Mara learns to let loose, not concentrate so much on grades and even fall in love with her boss James and learns that though grades are important they can't be your whole life and to enjoy herself. V learns that she can't be constantly with guys and has to take on some responsibility. Though they were quick to judge one another for their differences they really learn that they could learn from one another. Vegan Virgin Valentine is a really good story about letting go and it's funny too. I also like the aspect of Mara and James's relationship. I think all kinds of people will enjoy this funny but at times insightful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG Awesome

    This book was the best book i have ever read. I loved it in the beginning it was great it caught my attention I have never had a book suck me in so much in my life. If you like books about what is going in high school this are the book for you. It's about a girl who her niece comes to live with her and she starts to cause problems. In the end she becomes closer to her niece and she wants to spend time with her and she doesn't go to college in the summer she stays and spends the summer with her niece.
    Timber creek Highschool
    Ashley Appleby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    It's not often u find a really good book!

    I'll get straight to the point: this book was awesome! From chapter one, I was hooked. It's funny, romantic, and just a great teen read. The characters and situations are realistic, too. I read this book when I was 13, but I didn't think it was inappropriate at all. Sure, it had its sappy parts, but if you're mature, you can handle it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    LOVE!!!!!!!

    This book was really good. It starts being great. I would read this over and over again. This a must have. Warning most material not suited for children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    WOW!

    THIS BOOK WAS A AMAZING!! everyone should read it, but only if u are 13+up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Good Fun-- Recommend this book =]

    I think Vegan Virgin Valentine by Carolyn Mackler was a good novel, it was an easy read. It didn't require a whole lot of thinking, it was pure entertainment. I couldn't put the book down, I finished it in 2 hours. I LOL-ed and had the 'Oh no she didn't' thought run through my head a couple of times. I'd recommend this book to people from 9th grade on up. This book handles mature themes such as drug use and sexual encounters in the school locker room. Overall, the book was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    I Love This Book SOOO Much

    I think this book is really good, and coming from a teenagers perspective I think the book really had alot of meanings to it. This book will have you laughing, and this book will have you addicted after reading the first chapter. I read the book in 2 days and I really think this book is good for teenage girls such as myself. I recommend this to anybody who has delt with peer pressure and grudges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    It doesn't deserve the 5 star rating it has, based on fan reviews. The characters aren't incredibly likeable and honestly, I didn't really invest in the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    A book i could not put down until i got to the last page

    This book was soooooo goood!!! I read it in less than a day. After reading this book i realized that a lot of people including myself can relate to many of the characters in this book. It was not only a romance novel but it also told the story of a girl who learns to enjoy her life. Everyone should read this book because i promise you will love it!!! I just wish there was a second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Ditto!!

    I also think the author should make a sequel to this book.This book was amazing, but I really want to know whats happens between them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    I loved this book!

    I think she should write a sequal to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    mrs.hill student

    Vegan VIrgin Valentine was a great book I loved it. I like how it started with this girl who is so up tight and doesn't know how to have fun, until her niece moves in and things begin to change for both girls lives. Overall i would defintetly recommend this book for some one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3