Customer Reviews for

Vegan Virgin Valentine

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Valentine

    I love love love this book it's so good I'm glad she met James and her and Claudia are friends agan everything worked out fine. I hope she made it to her graduation. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    NEVER HAVE READ UNTIL NOW!!!

    This book pulls you in with the preview part of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    Vegan Virgin Valentine is a super book about a high school senior, Mara, who has only a few months left before she is off to Yale and graduates high school. But she really learns in that time to make her own path and to let loose once in a while, and that is due to her niece V. I love how Mara is a vegan, but she secretly dreams of griled cheese sandwiches. Those dreams and the ones she has of her boss are the funniest ones she has. This is a perfect book for anyone and it really has a good message of learning to let loose once in a while and chart your own path.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    I started reading it in the morning and finshed that very night. I absolutely loved it! The character of Mara was very intriguing. I lie how she ended up with her boss and that her parents were actually able to get through to V.
    I recommend reading this because it shows how one person or event can change the rest of your life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow!

    This book is sooo good. I was able to finish in two days, I couldn't put it down! It's about Mara Valentine who is a serious strait- A student. During the second half of her senior year her niece, V comes to live with her and her parents while her mother goes to Costa Rica (there were no English speaking schools). V and Mara have completely opposite personalities. Mara is goody-goody all around involved model student, while V is an outspoken, more of a loose cannon. Throughout the story they both take certain qualities from each other. Mara learns to let loose, not concentrate so much on grades and even fall in love with her boss James and learns that though grades are important they can't be your whole life and to enjoy herself. V learns that she can't be constantly with guys and has to take on some responsibility. Though they were quick to judge one another for their differences they really learn that they could learn from one another. Vegan Virgin Valentine is a really good story about letting go and it's funny too. I also like the aspect of Mara and James's relationship. I think all kinds of people will enjoy this funny but at times insightful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG Awesome

    This book was the best book i have ever read. I loved it in the beginning it was great it caught my attention I have never had a book suck me in so much in my life. If you like books about what is going in high school this are the book for you. It's about a girl who her niece comes to live with her and she starts to cause problems. In the end she becomes closer to her niece and she wants to spend time with her and she doesn't go to college in the summer she stays and spends the summer with her niece.
    Timber creek Highschool
    Ashley Appleby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    It's not often u find a really good book!

    I'll get straight to the point: this book was awesome! From chapter one, I was hooked. It's funny, romantic, and just a great teen read. The characters and situations are realistic, too. I read this book when I was 13, but I didn't think it was inappropriate at all. Sure, it had its sappy parts, but if you're mature, you can handle it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    LOVE!!!!!!!

    This book was really good. It starts being great. I would read this over and over again. This a must have. Warning most material not suited for children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    WOW!

    THIS BOOK WAS A AMAZING!! everyone should read it, but only if u are 13+up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    I Love This Book SOOO Much

    I think this book is really good, and coming from a teenagers perspective I think the book really had alot of meanings to it. This book will have you laughing, and this book will have you addicted after reading the first chapter. I read the book in 2 days and I really think this book is good for teenage girls such as myself. I recommend this to anybody who has delt with peer pressure and grudges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    A book i could not put down until i got to the last page

    This book was soooooo goood!!! I read it in less than a day. After reading this book i realized that a lot of people including myself can relate to many of the characters in this book. It was not only a romance novel but it also told the story of a girl who learns to enjoy her life. Everyone should read this book because i promise you will love it!!! I just wish there was a second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Ditto!!

    I also think the author should make a sequel to this book.This book was amazing, but I really want to know whats happens between them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    I loved this book!

    I think she should write a sequal to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    mrs.hill student

    Vegan VIrgin Valentine was a great book I loved it. I like how it started with this girl who is so up tight and doesn't know how to have fun, until her niece moves in and things begin to change for both girls lives. Overall i would defintetly recommend this book for some one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Hilarious!

    Mara Valentine begins as goody-goody until her neice V shows up and Mara suddenly turns the opposite way just as V begins to do the same! This book is great for teenage girls that aren't quite sure what they want in life. I love how Mara starts out so straight-laced and finally changes to be a little looser.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Wow, loved this book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was awesome! A good read, and pretty funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Amazing

    I thought that this book was great. I liked all of the characters and how they changed into better people by the end. I also really liked James!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    The Big Disaster

    This book is an outstanding book. It¿s about a girl named Mara and her parents want her to be perfect. However, she believes that the only that her parents had her was to make their older daughter Aimee feel bad. That is because Aimee did not go to college and travel around a lot to sleep with guys. Well, one day Mara finds out that her niece Vivienne (V) is going to stay with them awhile. And for Mara that is a disaster because her niece V smokes pot, wears inappropriate clothes to school, and worst of all she has been ¿hanging¿ out with her ex boyfriend. Will Mara get her way and send her niece flying? Will V change her ways and finally be a good girl? Or will V haunt her Aunt Mara for the rest of her life? Find out the rest in the outstanding book of 'Vegan Virgin Valentine.' This book has just the right amount of romance and drama in it. I really enjoyed the parts when Mara and her niece fought. There arguments would always be over little stupid this like what V was wearing. This in most of the main parts was a halter top that says ¿I can¿t say no.¿ Then some other things they would fight over were things like smoking pot or where baby chickens come from. The arguments were never dull and would always pull me into the characters chaotic world. This book never had a dull moment in it. This amazing book is not part of a series, but the author Carolyn Mackler did write the 'Mates and Dates' series, along with another book 'The Earth, My Butt, and other Big Round Things.' I would recommend this book to girls who enjoy books filled with drama and a hit of romance. Personally, I picked this book because the color and the sparkles caught my eye, but then my friend recommended this book for me. Now, I am happy that I read this book and I have no regrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    This book was sooooo good

    This book was so good i really injoyed it, it might not relate 2 every1 but it related with me & some of the things going on with my life & every1 should give this book 5 stars & u should read all of the other books she has written because they r really good books 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Comical Easy Read

    Carolyn Mackler's new book is a success. 'Vegan Virgin Valentine' is a quick read and very funny. Anyone and everyone will fall in love with her new book. The book is about a straight-A senior who finds fun and adventure with her wild niece who is a year younger. This book has a great ending and I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2