BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Vegan with a Vengeance: Over 150 Delicious, Cheap, Animal-Free Recipes That Rock

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book ROCKS!

    Not only are the recipes in this book awesomely delicious, they are quick an easy! If you ever wished for a vegan alternative for anything, you will find it here in this book! <BR/>A must have for any vegan, vegetarian, or anyone who loves yummy food. Isa is guarunteed to shatter even the most die-hard meat eaters stereoypes about vegan food. <BR/>I cannot say enough about this book!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    I now have a 'cupcake dance'

    The 1st weekend after purchasing this book 'along with Veganomicon' I tried not one, not two, but count it- FOUR recipes. You have to try- the Coconut Heaven Cupcakes - mine came out so well, I skipped my Saturday afternoon run- to dance around the kitchen and eat cupcakes ' I don¿t recommend you do this TOO often'. This is a great book chopped full of easy recipes- even for a newly minted vegetarian.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    A great cookbook for anyone!

    What I love about this cookbook is its excellent organization. The table of contents is divided by chapter and then under each chapter is a list of every single recipe in the chapter. Brilliant! Although I am not a vegan, nor a vegetarian, just someone who is into eating healthier and eating primarily organic foods, there are a LOT of things in this cookbook I would make. What is especially appealing to me is the muffins & sweet treats section. The one thing that I wish this book covered was veganism & nutrition. I would have liked to know how vegan's tailor their diets to get all the recommended vitamins, minerals, etc... I also wish each recipe had a breakdown by serving of calories, fat grams, protein grams, etc....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Going meatless never tasted so good

    O.M.G. I should have known, after using Veganomicon for a couple of years, that the cookbook that launched Isa Chandra Moskowitz was bound to be a keeper. Isa credits Terry Hope Romero with the Chili Sin Carne recipe that ROCKS with its own calypso band on days 2 and 3. Make it a day early if you've guests coming and this recipe will stay in your memory forever. And the Macadamia-Coconut-Carrot Cake is, without exaggeration, the far-and-away BEST carrot cake I have ever encountered. I probably would use 1/4-1/2 cup less sugar because I am not enamored of sweets so sweet, but let's not quibble. This is pure, unadulterated GENIUS. I am a fan. If everyone knew that going meatless was so bloody delicious, this would end any argument. I almost feel like laughing when I hear "don't tell them it's vegan"--as though unaugmented vegetable matter were something queer. But what strikes me again, after working my way through Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and The Joy of Vegan Baking, is how baked goods suffer not at all from lack of eggs or milk products. In fact, these baked goods are among the best I have ever tasted. Full stop.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    EPIC!!

    Crazy amazing! Recipies for all skill levels and tastes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Vegan...

    I don't use a lot of soy products - if you abstain from them, you may want to look elsewhere...a lot here.<BR/><BR/>Great ideas, flavor profiles in recipes...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2007

    Best. Vegan. Recipes. Ever

    Both my husband and I became vegan about 2 years ago and this was the first cookbook we bought. The recipes are excellent and easy to whip up ... each time we tried a different one, it became our new favorite. We use the tahini dressing with A LOT of our mixed veggie bowls. You'll love it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    Awsome!!!

    I absolutely LOVE this book. Everything I have made is wonderful. I am new to Veganism and this book gives great range in flavors. I look forward to cooking everyday.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    I feel dirty . . .

    I've purchased a lot of books in the past few months: Pynchon's latest, Karl Marx, LSAT review, quantum physics, but this book proved the most valuable. The sweet potato crepes made my wife's eyes bug out. I've done about a dozen recipes, and they are easy and restaurant quality. And by now, I sort of have the gist of vegan cooking. I feel like I've cheated or something because there's not much thought involved, but it's really just about combining spices and flavorings. I usually leave out about half the recommended spices. It still works. You should get some people who are hostile about vegan food and try this stuff out on them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    YUM!

    This cookbook rocks. It has a sense of humor (some tips are written by her cat), tips and techniques, and delicious recipes. I've made the carrot cake twice to rave reviews, and the pumpkin oatmeal cookies many, many times - mostly by request as my non-veg friends love them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Great Cookbook!

    All the recipes I tried were delicious and easy to make. I especially enjoyed the Pumpkin Waffles, Sunny Blueberry Muffuns & Coconut Heaven Cupcakes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    SUPERCALIFRAGILISTIC!!!

    This book is worth its weight in GOLD! Try every recipe. You won't be disappointed with any of them. I was a little skeptical of how some flavors may mix in a couple of the recipes. Isa knows what she's doing and does it beautifully. This book is for ALL you foodies out there. My husband is neither a vegan nor vegetarian, and he has loved each and every single recipe I've made from this book. My friends all scarf down the muffins I bring to work. One even asked if I bought them at a specialty bakery. The joy I used to get from cooking has now been restored to me. No more frustratingly boring recipes of stir fry tofu and rice. Isa is a genius!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Excellent!

    Of the many vegan cookbooks that i own (including all of those by mz. Moskowitz) this is my favorite...new to veganism or those who have been following a plant-based diet for years cannot go wrong with this cookbook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Awesome book in PRINT

    I absolutely love this book- the recipes rock. I am SUPER SUPER SUPER UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED by how many errors and mess ups are in this book. Someone did a really poor job when changing this book to digital for the Nook. It's very crappily put together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Mouth watering!

    If you try just one thing please try the pomegranate tofu!!! To die for! It will hook you to try every single recipe in the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    It's okay

    I really wanted to like this cookbook with all of the good reviews, but unfortunately, it is the least favorite of all of my vegan cookbooks. I did think the orange scones were good. I have tried the seitan several times, and it just doesn't turn out correctly for me or my friend.

    Most of the ingredients are easily found at the store, and there are helpful tips in the book. There is reference to Food Not Bombs in this book, which kind of turned me off too because this activist group has such a negative image in my community.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    I love this book

    Everything I have tried so far is good. I love her joy and sense of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Real Food for Real People!

    Being a vegan does not mean I want nothing but carrots and tofu all day every day. I'm not knocking carrots and tofu - I just have other interests! I come back to this book over and over. The recipes tend to be easy. Isa provides great tips for simplifying or making it work with what you've got. No tofu press? No worries! Grab a couple towels and let's go! Side Note: Don't think for a second the ethnic recipes in this book are authentic; but they'll be tasty and served with attitude. This is a no-nonsense cookbook, so don't expect as many pretty pictures either. The Punk Points and periodic inserts give you great information about veganism and vegan basics. You'll get every day, great recipes that will be requested again and again. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Every Dish is Perfect

    I have made about 20 recipes from this cookbook thus far, and each has been absolutely amazing. You know how sometimes you make a recipe and you keep thinking "Hmmm, this needs something." Well, none of these recipes leave you with that feeling. Everything tastes perfect and ready to serve. I tinker with recipes all the time, and I hardly ever follow them exactly. I don't feel the need to change these recipes very much--Isa's done a perfect job with them!

    Some of the recipes are a little bit more challenging or require some ingredients you may not normally keep on hand. However, this has challenged me to make different recipes that I would not have otherwise. I was feeling bored with the same old same old, then I got this cookbook and it's kept me on my toes and kept my stomach happy. They are not unreasonable, just a few are a teeny bit out of my comfort zone, and it's been wonderful to step up to the challenge. Isa's directions are amazing, and she walks you through every step. If you need it, then she's right there, if you don't then just skip ahead. I think this cookbook is great for people who might already have one or 2 vegan cookbooks and are looking for something different, however it would still be great for a beginner.

    There are not pictures for every recipe, which I enjoy. However, there are a few pages of pictures in the middle of the book. This would probably be my only complaint.

    This is a great price for a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    Amazing recipes! Love the tid-bits and Fizzle. Great for any vegetarian or vegan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3