Customer Reviews for

Veganist: Lose Weight, Get Healthy, Change the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

"Veganist" is simply beauty and perfection!

For someone, like Kathy Freston, who's mantra is "Progress, not perfection," she sure has come as close as I've ever seen in this book. I have been a long time fan of Kathy and her work and "Veganist" is her best work yet and my favorite book that I've read in a long ti...
For someone, like Kathy Freston, who's mantra is "Progress, not perfection," she sure has come as close as I've ever seen in this book. I have been a long time fan of Kathy and her work and "Veganist" is her best work yet and my favorite book that I've read in a long time.

I judge books not only on if they strike a chord with me, but also if I think there are others, with or without the same viewpoint, who would enjoy reading them as well. I cannot think of a single person that I would not buy this book for or share it with. Vegans, vegetarians, and carnivores alike, will all gleen something out of this amazingly informative and non-judgemental book. Even Bono is quoted on the back cover, stating his meat-eating ways, and how Kathy opened his eyes to something new.

"Veganist" allows readers to make their own minds up about the information presented but does so in such a clear and friendly way. Freston talks about how we can heal our bodies, our planet, and any disease we may have simply by being aware of the world around us and what we put into our bodies. Even just one meal a week or substituting new foods that I had never heard of. It is an exciting new way to look at food and diet and the world and a GREAT way to start off a new year and a new you!

Being a southern gal myself, I relate to Kathy's past love of all things meat and cheese and will lean into this way of life, as she mentions.

Overall, a wonderful read and something I recommend to anyone, any age.

posted by 1319154 on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

looks interesting

just saw her on Oprah.

looking forward to reading this.

to the person who feels that this is overpriced, may I suggest you find something nice to say in the future, you do not have to buy this book you can go to your local library I am sure that will be more in li...
just saw her on Oprah.

looking forward to reading this.

to the person who feels that this is overpriced, may I suggest you find something nice to say in the future, you do not have to buy this book you can go to your local library I am sure that will be more in line with your budget. geesh.

posted by bradleybaxter on February 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    "Veganist" is simply beauty and perfection!

    For someone, like Kathy Freston, who's mantra is "Progress, not perfection," she sure has come as close as I've ever seen in this book. I have been a long time fan of Kathy and her work and "Veganist" is her best work yet and my favorite book that I've read in a long time.

    I judge books not only on if they strike a chord with me, but also if I think there are others, with or without the same viewpoint, who would enjoy reading them as well. I cannot think of a single person that I would not buy this book for or share it with. Vegans, vegetarians, and carnivores alike, will all gleen something out of this amazingly informative and non-judgemental book. Even Bono is quoted on the back cover, stating his meat-eating ways, and how Kathy opened his eyes to something new.

    "Veganist" allows readers to make their own minds up about the information presented but does so in such a clear and friendly way. Freston talks about how we can heal our bodies, our planet, and any disease we may have simply by being aware of the world around us and what we put into our bodies. Even just one meal a week or substituting new foods that I had never heard of. It is an exciting new way to look at food and diet and the world and a GREAT way to start off a new year and a new you!

    Being a southern gal myself, I relate to Kathy's past love of all things meat and cheese and will lean into this way of life, as she mentions.

    Overall, a wonderful read and something I recommend to anyone, any age.

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Changed Our Lives!!!

    We first saw Kathy Freston on the Oprah show, what an amazing show ... literally taking us into a place many people don't get to see and what many people don't want to even talk about. We bought the book and have never looked back. I have been a "veganist" now for only six days and I can't even begin to explain how much better I feel already. My husband started out "veganish" but is now totally on board after reading the book and this is HUGE! He has always been a meat loving Italian and now he says he doesn't ever intend on eating anything but a plant based diet. We are both forever changed and grateful that we watched the show that day and chose to purchase this book. Kathy doesn't preach ... she just puts the facts out there and it ends up being a no brainer. This is a must read bood for EVERYONE!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    looks interesting

    just saw her on Oprah.

    looking forward to reading this.

    to the person who feels that this is overpriced, may I suggest you find something nice to say in the future, you do not have to buy this book you can go to your local library I am sure that will be more in line with your budget. geesh.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!

    Kathy Freston is awesome! Even if you are not a vegan or even thinking of becoming one the information she provides in this book is easy to understand. Her interviews with top doctors show that this is not just one crazy vegan's opinion. A must read for anyone interested in nutrition and health.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Highly recommended for new vegans.

    Easy reading, good information, a must have for every new vegan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    Love it

    For someone who never considered anything but meat, cheese and potatoes for dinner this is a real eye-opener

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Awesome read!

    Life changing book. A must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Why Going 'Vegan' Is/Can Be Great Option{s}.

    Ms. Freston gave quite passionate reasoning for 'going vegan'.Miss. Oprah's Staff Members had truly amazing results. Since am personally allergic to Soy & Soooo Many Other Food Items, I have to be carefull.{As for complaints on book cost a suggestion~joining Barnes & Noble as a Member. The Benefits are Money Back in one's pocket!}Even 1~3 meatless meals a week is a start.Or Add More Vegetables to Meals as my husband & I do and have done for over a year. I gave up mayonnaise and never realised it! Found mustard and other add ins are quite flavorable and more safe in warmer weather.We All handle what we can.Tho' don't be so quick to throw baby out with bath water. Look first,then decide.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Life changing

    This book has changed my life. I never believed I would become vegan I just thought I was reading a book. But then I thought why not try and I don't eat crave or want dairy. An existing digestive issue that awoke me every night has disappeared. All the while she makes you feel as if you're on some fun amazing adventure.
    Sherry Venger

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not worth it

    there are plenty of other books that do a better job of explaining the health benefits of veganism ------ the menu plan (no recipes) are so basic, anyone could come up with them

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    too expensive

    still overpriced when compared to other bestsellers and diet books. fail.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    heppy

    heppy

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I used to be strongly against veganism, but with some prior





    I used to be strongly against veganism, but with some prior support and the help of Veganist by Kathy Freston I have significantly reduced my intake of animal by-products.  Freston brings up extremely significant and impactful points about the positive affect being vegan has on health, the environment, animals and lastly emphasizes the spiritual benefits as well.    This books appeals to all people due to its wide assortment of topics that are all promoted by veganism.  Whether you are interested in the health benefits of being vegan or are more interested in the protection of animals aspect, this book will real you in.  Every section was constantly backed up by real success stories, undercover reporters and doctors all proving the importance of a plant based diet.  Not only are all of the points made is this book legitimate but they also make the switch from a meat based diet to veganism seem more probable  and practical with simple adjustments and a “leaning in” style of switching.  If before this book you were contemplating making this, not just diet change, but lifestyle change, you will be quickly convinced it is a beneficial decision.  Freston’s arguments toward veganism have inspired me to; make these healthy changes to my diet in order to promote animal rights, using my dollar, and create a more healthy body and mind for myself that will hopefully influence others to do the same.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Kathy begins moderately, but after page 100 goes wack-job.

    If you are a moderate and do not believe that Americans and Cows are the source of all things environmentally wrong with the earth, then don't read this e-book. It has a promising start with a delusional finish.

    Perhaps the grossly over-populated continents of the world should simply practice "0 population growth?"

    misterbill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Excellent, informative book about the incredibly healthy benefit

    Excellent, informative book about the incredibly healthy benefits of going on a vegan diet-- I'd highly recommend it for anyone thinking about going vegan; or even for those who've already done so, the facts she presents about plant-based food diets effects on many formerly-sick and/or overweight patients will definitely help shore up your resolve to stay with it, since there's no good reason NOT to eat vegan anymore! With so many tasty, healthy alternatives and meat-substitutes that can be found in markets and restaurants everywhere these days, vegetarians and vegans have a lot more easily-available options to chose from!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4