Customer Reviews for

Veganomicon: The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

The ONLY cookbook you'll ever need ...

While 'Vegan with a Vengeance' and 'Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World' are also excellent cookbooks, if you are only going to buy one VEGANOMICON is perfect. Trying out any new recipe can be scary, but the recipes in this cookbook are delicious. I am using ingredient...
While 'Vegan with a Vengeance' and 'Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World' are also excellent cookbooks, if you are only going to buy one VEGANOMICON is perfect. Trying out any new recipe can be scary, but the recipes in this cookbook are delicious. I am using ingredients/spices that are new to me, but am always confident the food will taste great. The recipes use simple easy to find ingredients and don't take a lot of time to prepare yet result in meals that look and taste 'gourmet'. You won't just be assembling processed ingredients here but will easily prepare great tasting meals with fresh ingredients and little effort. The creators of this cookbook have done all the work for you, combining flavors I wouldn't have thought of, resulting in foolproof meals that are unbelievably good. Most people won't even know the meals are vegan. VEGANOMICON has come along just in time for the holiday season. Get this cookbook and wow your family and friends with some really fantastic meals. The Smlove Pie 'p 257' is off the charts!! This cookbook has loads of useful information, a good balance of flavorful recipes for all occasions, and a bit of humor to make it all fun. VEGANOMICON is the ultimate cookbook, whether you are vegan or not. BUY IT ... you won't be dissapointed.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Cook Book but Needs Improvement as an eBook

Excellent cook book but the eBook version has problems. Often the amounts are printed as question marks in the directions! This is sometimes found where there is no list of ingredients to refer to for the amounts or when only part of the full amount is to be used. If yo...
Excellent cook book but the eBook version has problems. Often the amounts are printed as question marks in the directions! This is sometimes found where there is no list of ingredients to refer to for the amounts or when only part of the full amount is to be used. If you're confident with your own cooking judgement you can fill in the ? but for many this will be extremely annoying and prevent you from making some of the recipes.

posted by 8172040 on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So much YUM so little time...

    Everything I've tried thus far from Veganomicon has been fabulous! The recipes are realistic, relatively simple, easy to follow and the noted modifications are very handy.

    I love the recipe keys and the index that groups recipes by those keys in addition to a regular index.

    I enjoy the tone of Veganomicon; how often do you read a cookbook and find yourself chuckling out loud?

    This is not a diet cookbook so don't expect all of the recipes to be low calorie because they're not. Just because it's a vegan cookbook, don't expect all the recipes to be 100-calorie-eat-as-much-as-you-like recipes. That being said, I would have liked a basic nutrition profile for the recipes - but that doesn't subtract from the value of the book or the depth of my absolute adoration for it in any way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic.

    This is not only filled with tons of delicious and healthy recipes from all genres of food; it's got a beautiful layout and it's written in a way that is fun, helpful and just plain easy to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    So much good stuff!

    I bought this book months ago and am only now starting to cook from it, the perils of owning too many cookbooks. Snobby Joes, potato and kale enchiladas, manzana chile verde,and so many more! Love it all so far. I am especially excited to try her tamale masa over Thanksgiving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    This was a gift from a relative. It's apparent she thinks the wo

    This was a gift from a relative. It's apparent she thinks the world of me, for this is one of the best cookbooks I own. Every recipe I've tried has been a huge success. Favorites include the chickpea cutlets and the seitanic red and white bean jambalaya. Impressive recipes and great results.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Very disappointed that this vegan cookbook isn't healthy. Oil,

    Very disappointed that this vegan cookbook isn't healthy. Oil, sugar, and corn in some recipes? Not good. Waste of money if you're looking for healthy vegan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    highly recomended

    My daughter learned to cook vegan from a roommate who used this book. The roommate loved this book and my daughter thought it was great for a beginner and one who was an experienced vegan cook. She was thrilled to get it for Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Awesome book

    I cook almost everyday and this is the best vegan cookbook I own. I was so impressed that I bought all her other cookbooks too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    amazing

    I'm tranzitioning to vegan and all the recipes I've seen so far are complicated but this book is just amazing. Can't wait to start trying all the yummy sounding recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent Vegan Cookbook

    This book has become a go-to for me when I need information on all things vegan. The chapters before the actual recipes are informative and gives the reader an easy how-to when it comes to living and cooking vegan as well as giving overall kitchen how-to's (e.g. how to properly cut an onion without crying, etc). Not all recipes are last minute, use everything in your pantry and throw together - some require planning ahead - but it's a worthwhile purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I LOVE this cookbook!!

    I am new to the world of Veganism but enjoy cooking and eating good food. This book provided easy to cook recipes with an outstanding primer on vegan ingredients. Other cookbooks that I have referenced have been too 'out there' or too simplistic, yielding flavorless wanna-be meat dishes. This cookbook proved to me and my family that one could eat very healthy and still be satisfied. It is now one of the first three cookbooks I pull out each week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Perfect for new or long-time vegan cooks

    I bought this book as a gift for friend who is new to the vegan lifestyle. This book is the complete package. It offers information on vegan nutrition, the pros of a plant-based diet and great explainations and tips on how to work with foods that aren't common in all kitchens. My friend enjoyed it and has been having fun making the recipes for her non-vegan friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent cookbook

    This is an excellent cookbook-not just an excellent vegan cookbook. Isa makes it easy to follow. You feel like she's there coaching you through the recipes. I bought one for myself and then one for my son, who is an avid cook (and not vegan).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Unusual, fun, doable recipes

    Good intros to recipes. Includes suggestions for alternative ingrendients and methods.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    My Food Bible!

    I love this book! I use it all the time for great recipes and as a reference book. I keep it on my kitchen counter and it contains all the information I ever need for cooking vegan. I've cooked recipes out of here for my boyfriend (an avid meat eater) and he didn't gawk at the food being vegan :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hit or Miss

    There were some absolutely amazing recipes - like the BBQ sauce and collard greens wraps - and there were others that were just okay. There are other, better vegan books out there. Some by Ms. Moskowitz herself. Overall for the value, you can skip this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great intro to vegan cooking

    Before I recently decided to go vegetarian, I picked up this book from the library to expand my meatless horizons. The recipes are pretty easy and everything I tried was delicious! I was shocked - tasty without animal products?! Amazing!

    The authors make cooking as easy as possible by providing information about cooking methods, different types of food, entertaining tips, etc. I like how there are icons for each recipe indicating ingredients that are easily found at a regular grocery store, gluten or soy free dishes, low fat, or quick to make. The book is written with a strong sense of humor and without harsh judgment on those who do consume meat and animal products. Also, there are plenty of recipes that use "normal" ingredients that are probably already in your kitchen.

    There are so many different kinds of recipes that I had to buy a copy of my own. My one complaint is that there aren't enough pictures. There are some color photos in the center of the book of a handful of the recipes, but I'd like a pic of each recipe. When I made a tempeh dish for the 1st time, I had no idea how it was supposed to look (as it turns out it didn't matter - it was so good it didn't last long).

    Check out Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World too; you can thank me later ;-).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it! Recommend all of Isa Chandra Moskowitz books!

    I am relatively new to being vegan... and am happy to have this book on my shelf, along with several other vegan cookbooks. I find great recipes, good information and the format is easy to use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Fun Reading

    The recipes are fantastic, and the writing is genuinely funny. Do not read out loud, as you or your loved ones may become possessed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Awesome for experienced cooks!

    I was looking for a book that would satisfy the tastes of food snobs and many of these recipes do. I love that it goes beyond Asian cooking, which is sometimes difficult with vegan cooking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6