Customer Reviews for

Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners: The Essential Vegetarian Cookbook To Get Started

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Although I¿m not a convert to Vegetarianism, these wonderful dis

Although I’m not a convert to Vegetarianism, these wonderful dishes can be an exciting part of a healthy diet anyway. I particularly like the Raw Food, Fruit-Focused, and Breakfast Recipes. Everything seems so fresh and delicious, and I feel inspired to tinker around w...
Although I’m not a convert to Vegetarianism, these wonderful dishes can be an exciting part of a healthy diet anyway. I particularly like the Raw Food, Fruit-Focused, and Breakfast Recipes. Everything seems so fresh and delicious, and I feel inspired to tinker around with some of these recipes and experiment with what’s available in my kitchen already. Cooking is about exercising your creativity, and the fun and entertainment value of playing in the kitchen, just as much as eating the end result.

posted by KatFrancis74 on December 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing wealth of information!  After reading this book,

What an amazing wealth of information!  After reading this book,
I not only have the guidelines and tools that I need to get started,
I have the confidence that I needed to actually make the switch to vegetarianism!
I am looking forward to a great start to a healthier ...
What an amazing wealth of information!  After reading this book,
I not only have the guidelines and tools that I need to get started,
I have the confidence that I needed to actually make the switch to vegetarianism!
I am looking forward to a great start to a healthier lifestyle. 

posted by 9801836 on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    If you¿ve ever even considered the possibility of giving up meat

    If you’ve ever even considered the possibility of giving up meat and living a vegetarian lifestyle, then this book is definitely one you will want to read first. It will be your go to book for recopies, but it’s much more than that. I really liked that they explained the detriments of a meat diet and the benefits of a vegetarian diet. I will most likely you this book for the easy to follow recipes, but there are so many of them from lunch to dinner to deserts. An A+ - thanks for the great information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Very Informative - A must read for beginners & experienced as well

    I've been an on & off vegetarian for over 30 years, & wanted the latest info with the new grains
    and gluten free, & what seems to be a lot of new things coming to the market. If you are a newbie or a seasoned vegetarian or vegan this book is for all of you. The recipes are great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    In addition to a lot of great information on the kinds of, reaso

    In addition to a lot of great information on the kinds of, reasons for, ways to go transition to vegetarian there are a ton of recipes that would be interesting in anybody’s diet. I was impressed by the great juices included in the breakfast section, the variety of ethnic recipes included, and the raw food chapter. I am not ready to exclude meat from my diet, but I am ready to try some of these ideas to expand my horizons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    I have always liked vegetables and have often thought about tryi

    I have always liked vegetables and have often thought about trying a strictly vegetarian diet. Although I knew eating this way could be beneficial, I wasn't fully aware of the facts before reading the Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners published by Rockbridge Press. This book provides a lot of details, some great research, and list of benefits of eating vegetarian, and most importantly, some very delicious recipes. I purchased the book with the intention of commiting to a vegetarian diet at least on a part time basis, and after reading it, I have begun removing foods from my shelves and grocery list based on the information found here. Very well presented, inspiring, and filled with real-world advice, not just a lot of statistical information. I can't promise myself I will continue to eat as a vegetarian, but thanks to this starter book, I feel more like I will be eating vegetables on a more regular basis and I know some very good reasons for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Vegetarian Cooking for Everybody~A Delicious Alternative By: Ali

    Vegetarian Cooking for Everybody~A Delicious Alternative
    By: Alison Hannah - Editor San Diego News

    In this vegetarian cookery of "Artichokes" to "Zucchini", you can show your family the difference between ordinary and extraordinary vegetables.
    The imaginative mix of casual elegance, exciting tastes and the subtle message of health bring together a distinctive cuisine of joy that entices readers with the sparkling produce that is integral to the dishes it inspires. Exuberant salads, soups, stews and grilled vegetables make up this cornucopia of brilliant dishes focusing on tantalizing tastes. For truly inspired contemporary vegetarian cooking, Vegetarian Cooking for Everybody is the newest essential sourcebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    The book ¿Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners¿ is great for people

    The book “Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners” is great for people, who are beginning the transition from a meat-eating diet to a vegetarian diet. The book offers a guide to the first week of a vegetarian diet, which is easy to prepare and will not overwhelm new vegetarians. I love the recipes for butter, jams, sauces, cakes and cookies. If eating healthier is your new year resolution, you have a great starting point in this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    The recipes in the cook are amazing even though I am not a veget

    The recipes in the cook are amazing even though I am not a vegetarian. If you are planning to switch over to a vegetarian lifestyle then this book is for you. It gives you step by step meal plans to follow and explains in detail what it means to be a vegetarian and how to get started. There are hundreds of delicious recipes to try out and I definitely recommend this book to anybody how wants to eat a healthy diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    This book provides a detailed overview of vegetarianism.  From t

    This book provides a detailed overview of vegetarianism.  From the different types of vegetarians to reasons why people choose to eat this way, this book covers everything. It doesn't get too graphic about animal cruelty which might turn some people off nor does it get too preachy. It also has lists to help you stock your pantry and lots of recipes. It has a 14 day plan which is something that I always appreciate when starting a new way of eating. I find it easier to get started when everything is already planned out for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Amazing and tasty recipes, great 2-week plan to get you started

    Amazing and tasty recipes, great 2-week plan to get you started and all packed in this little book. For those of you skeptical about changing to Vegetarian, try some of these recipes first. I can tell you from experience, they are easy to fix and taste awesome. Read the different classifications of Vegetarianism. You will be sure to find one that fits you; and the best part is, you don’t have to completely give up on animal products. I still eat dairy, but incorporate more of the green leafy stuff to improve my energy levels. Put down the meat and save your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Put down that hamburger, and pick up this book! All the health r

    Put down that hamburger, and pick up this book! All the health reasons for switching from a meat-laden diet to a vegetarian one are outlined here in simple language! Daily meal plans, lots of recipes, and even a vegetarian grocery list make this a book a must-read for eating for a healthier lifestyle!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    This is definitely the first Vegetarian book that I have read th

    This is definitely the first Vegetarian book that I have read that really points out beyond the obvious health benefits, why you would want to become a Vegetarian.  Not only does it show you the benefits it definitely gives you a step by step process to get to where YOU want to be.  As you don't need to cut out all animal byproducts to gain most of the benefits of being a Vegetarian.

    Also it shows you what NOT to do as a Vegetarian as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    For anyone interested in becoming a Vegetarian, the ¿Vegetarian

    For anyone interested in becoming a Vegetarian, the “Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners” is the only guide you will need. Equipped with 8 chapters that are easy to read and comprehend, this book is perfect. This book even explains the different variants of Vegetarianism including: Ovo-Lac-Vegetarians, Fruitarians and Raw Vegans. This cookbook has everything from insight on health information to eating strategies that will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    With rawesome recipes like ¿Raw Banana Mint Pie¿ and ¿Raw Chocol

    With rawesome recipes like “Raw Banana Mint Pie” and “Raw Chocolate Truffles” this book goes far beyond being a simple introduction to vegetarian eating and straight into a tour-de-force of some of the best cuisine a seasoned chef can hope to get there hands on. Packed with references to cutting edge science readers can enjoy the bonus of being up-to-date current new trends on vegetarian health benefits. Great buy! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    I'm a snob when it comes to most cookbooks but this attempt to

    I'm a snob when it comes to most cookbooks but this attempt to explain actually practicing the art of vegetarianism was a treat. I have followed a healthy diet all my life but never committed myself to full meatless. I was surprised. Thanks to this author for the effort. I learned and I enjoyed myself with these recipes. Really, I actually found them easier than expected and very full of a satisfying taste.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    My 2014 resolution is to become vegetarian, so I picked up this

    My 2014 resolution is to become vegetarian, so I picked up this book to get me started. What I like the most about it is it is very easy to understand. It opens with helpful information and benefits on changing your diet. I even learned about the first vegetarian society! The book offers hundreds of recipes that seem easy to follow, and there are plenty of great tips on how to switch gradually, how to shop differently, and even advice on places to eat out. I am looking forward to getting healthy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    This book really helped me through transitioning to a vegetarian

    This book really helped me through transitioning to a vegetarian diet. The recipes are delicious and there's a huge variety. The first part of the book is extremely useful for new vegetarians because it tells you all about the different kinds of vegetarianism and gives you all sorts of helpful info on how to keep vegetarian food interesting. Definitely a must-have book for new vegetarians!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Review of Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners for Barn


    Review of Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners for Barnes and Noble
    By Roger Phelps
    A wonderful de-mystification of vegetarianism is offered by “Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners.” A reader sheds the notion that going meatless involves her with fads or quackery. “Cookbook” refutes the “meatless-equals-deprivation” argument. A very kind book, “Cookbook” offers respect to those who pick up takeout or visit the drive-through. It gently tugs readers through the biology of food consumption. We learn that eating for enjoyment applies to vegetarians, too! First creating a positive attitude, “Cookbook” then directs readers to a myriad of meatless recipes selected to satisfy and to please the palate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    The Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners includes recipes, a meal p

    The Vegetarian Cookbook for Beginners includes recipes, a meal plan, and new foods to try. This is not only a cook book, but also a guide to making a healthy choice. The reader will get a history of vegetarianism, along with the various types. After reading the book the reader will know why it is good to be a vegetarian and have 151 great recipes to try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Interested in learning about vegetarianism? This book is what yo

    Interested in learning about vegetarianism? This book is what you have been waiting for. It is beautifully written with great attention paid to the history of vegetarianism as well as the added health benefits. The recipes are easy to follow, prepare and are inexpensive for those on a budget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

      This is a comprehensive cookbook that also familiarizing reade

      This is a comprehensive cookbook that also familiarizing readers with the foundation of vegetarian eating. The vegetables are featured in delicious menus with easy to follow directions. This is an excellent vegetarian cookbook, especially for those considering a vegetarian diet.
     
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3