BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Great "Classic" of a Cookbook--don't be put off by the word "vegetarian"

I bought this book many years ago when it was $40 and I considered it well worth the price, then. I have given it as a gift and plan to do so again. There's a reason why it won Book of the Year, The Julia Child Cookbook Award and the James Beard Foundation Award for Exc...
I bought this book many years ago when it was $40 and I considered it well worth the price, then. I have given it as a gift and plan to do so again. There's a reason why it won Book of the Year, The Julia Child Cookbook Award and the James Beard Foundation Award for Excellence. I have used it often and have not made anything I didn't like. The great wilted spinach salad recipe with quick pickled red onions comes to mind as does an olive oil cake that is fragrant and light. Madison really knows her stuff, but her voice is never stuffy. She gives you LOTS of practical tips alongside the recipes, for e.g., what to look for when buying vegetables in the store, different ways to cook them, serving suggestions, accompaniments for a meal, or how long the dishes will keep. No the book doesn't have glossy photos, just tasteful sketch type renderings; but the author also doesn't assume you are an expert either. I will say though that if you NEED pictures then maybe a Cooking 101 type cookbook is more your speed; Rather it's for people who aren't that familiar with how to cook vegetables in a way that is good tasting and satisfying, and for those who know that there's more to parsley than garnish on a plate, it strives to be a bit innovative in the kinds of recipes it offers. In short, this is a GREAT cookbook overall and a worthy addition to any reasonably knowledgeable cook's library. Get it while you can!

posted by 600278 on December 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I'd really like to like this book, but I don't much; puzzlingly overated and definitely not my first choice of vegetarian cookbooks

I've had Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone since it was first published. I've wanted to like it: it has so many recipes, Madison has such a following, and it won many awards. But I can't warm up to it. Tho I look at it from time to time I haven't made a single recipe out ...
I've had Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone since it was first published. I've wanted to like it: it has so many recipes, Madison has such a following, and it won many awards. But I can't warm up to it. Tho I look at it from time to time I haven't made a single recipe out of it. Looked at recipe by recipe individual things sound good. But lay-out is dull and boring, and the writing is dry and unappealing, at least to this cook and reader. I have puzzled over why this is such a turnoff. I think it is that Madison never sounds excited or happy. her recipe descriptions have yet to make me want to get into the kitchen. They somehow don't invite me. Almost always, if a recipe has a note, it's about 'just' food. The tone is instructional, not sensual: no hints of a story, like how she learned or developed or found a recipe. This may sound peculiar, but this is to me one of the best parts of a good cookbook and where I learn the most and get inspired. I love to read a good cookbook and what makes it good for me is recipes PLUS info PLUS stories, sensuality, excitement, context, passion, even wit. To me a much better choice is Passionate Vegetarian by Crescent Dragonwagon. Passionate Vegetarian has both fine recipes and context, plus all the above: recipes, stories, sensuality, wit etc. Passionate's exuberance seduced me into making five different recipes all of which were incredible ( 2 spectacular chilis, 1 curry, a pilaf and a dynamite veggie sauerbraten) within a week of buying it. Have tried several more since then; not one loser and have revisited some of those I had already tried. Also Passionate has terific menu suggestions. I also like Laurel's Kitchen, and The Vegetarian Hearth by Darra Goldstein. Oh, one more gripe about Veg. Cooking for Everyone: cover promises that 'most' of the recipes can be made vegan. That just isn't so. Tho I am not vegan I have two friends who are plus 1 lactose-intolerant kid. Madison relies too heavily on eggs, butter, cheese, and cream for flavoring agents, without offering variations that truly work for everyone.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    A Great "Classic" of a Cookbook--don't be put off by the word "vegetarian"

    I bought this book many years ago when it was $40 and I considered it well worth the price, then. I have given it as a gift and plan to do so again. There's a reason why it won Book of the Year, The Julia Child Cookbook Award and the James Beard Foundation Award for Excellence. I have used it often and have not made anything I didn't like. The great wilted spinach salad recipe with quick pickled red onions comes to mind as does an olive oil cake that is fragrant and light. Madison really knows her stuff, but her voice is never stuffy. She gives you LOTS of practical tips alongside the recipes, for e.g., what to look for when buying vegetables in the store, different ways to cook them, serving suggestions, accompaniments for a meal, or how long the dishes will keep. No the book doesn't have glossy photos, just tasteful sketch type renderings; but the author also doesn't assume you are an expert either. I will say though that if you NEED pictures then maybe a Cooking 101 type cookbook is more your speed; Rather it's for people who aren't that familiar with how to cook vegetables in a way that is good tasting and satisfying, and for those who know that there's more to parsley than garnish on a plate, it strives to be a bit innovative in the kinds of recipes it offers. In short, this is a GREAT cookbook overall and a worthy addition to any reasonably knowledgeable cook's library. Get it while you can!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For anyone who cooks! Teaches you to cook. Excellent simple but elegant vegetable recipes.

    Is educational about cooking in general and specifically with vegetables. Many recipes could be main dishes for non-vegans by adding chicken etc. Teaches principles that can be applied to other recipes. Comprehensive. Unique and interesting. I have prepared vegetable dishes for 40 years and have learned new information. Recipes are very good. Uses normal ingredients for the most part. Includes whole grains. Has some tofu if you like tofu (I don't). Beans, salads, hearty foods, grains, etc. It has over 700 pages and has what you want and need to add interesting vegetables to your diet! This is an excellent cookbook for anyone, since most people eat vegetables. If you cook for someone who professes to hate vegetables try some of these recipes to change their opinion and improve their health.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Terrific Book

    've been hunting for a good vegetarian cookbook for some time and Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone is it! In addition to terrific recipes, this is also a how-to cookbook. As a former caterer and chef, I do know quite a bit about cooking and found that I still learned and I agreed with her on those things I already knew. Good techniques. I'm glad the book is hardcover, because I tend to be rough on cookbooks and this will hold up. One suggestion that I do in all my cookbooks is to comment on a recipe after I make it. After all, it's not easy to remember not only if we made something, but if we liked it. There are already a lot of **** and 'delicious' written beside the recipes. I already cook with a nice variety of vegetables, but this year decided to try any and all vegetables. Madison is my first stop for suggestions on different and interesting ways to cook the veggies. Have been very satisfied with results. One caveat--she uses more salt than I like, so be careful. Author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Great book with a load of great recipes

    This is a wonderful cookbook for Vegetarians. Lots of greast recipes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    The only cookbook I need

    I was given this book as a gift from my mother when it first came out in '97. The best thing about this book is not the recipes (though they are great) but the cooking advice that Madison devotes quite a few chapters to. Also wonderful is the entire chapter devoted to every singe vegetable you could ever encounter. For a new cook, and/or new vegetarian this is a great way to learn how to make truly fabulous vegetarian food. I turn to this book again and again for new ideas, and I don't think I will ever get tired of it because there is just so much in here!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    I'd really like to like this book, but I don't much; puzzlingly overated and definitely not my first choice of vegetarian cookbooks

    I've had Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone since it was first published. I've wanted to like it: it has so many recipes, Madison has such a following, and it won many awards. But I can't warm up to it. Tho I look at it from time to time I haven't made a single recipe out of it. Looked at recipe by recipe individual things sound good. But lay-out is dull and boring, and the writing is dry and unappealing, at least to this cook and reader. I have puzzled over why this is such a turnoff. I think it is that Madison never sounds excited or happy. her recipe descriptions have yet to make me want to get into the kitchen. They somehow don't invite me. Almost always, if a recipe has a note, it's about 'just' food. The tone is instructional, not sensual: no hints of a story, like how she learned or developed or found a recipe. This may sound peculiar, but this is to me one of the best parts of a good cookbook and where I learn the most and get inspired. I love to read a good cookbook and what makes it good for me is recipes PLUS info PLUS stories, sensuality, excitement, context, passion, even wit. To me a much better choice is Passionate Vegetarian by Crescent Dragonwagon. Passionate Vegetarian has both fine recipes and context, plus all the above: recipes, stories, sensuality, wit etc. Passionate's exuberance seduced me into making five different recipes all of which were incredible ( 2 spectacular chilis, 1 curry, a pilaf and a dynamite veggie sauerbraten) within a week of buying it. Have tried several more since then; not one loser and have revisited some of those I had already tried. Also Passionate has terific menu suggestions. I also like Laurel's Kitchen, and The Vegetarian Hearth by Darra Goldstein. Oh, one more gripe about Veg. Cooking for Everyone: cover promises that 'most' of the recipes can be made vegan. That just isn't so. Tho I am not vegan I have two friends who are plus 1 lactose-intolerant kid. Madison relies too heavily on eggs, butter, cheese, and cream for flavoring agents, without offering variations that truly work for everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I'm going to have to replace my much-used book with another beca

    I'm going to have to replace my much-used book with another because of wear and tear. It's my go-to book for how to cook vegetables. I'm no vegetarian, but I do like to try a variety of veggies. Great recipes for bread and desserts, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I have had this book for 12 years, got it as a wedding gift afte

    I have had this book for 12 years, got it as a wedding gift after I married a vegetarian.  I love this book, the way the recipes are organized is great!  So good I have given in to many new brides, vegetarian or meat eaters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    This is one of the best all around cookbooks. Everyone can roas

    This is one of the best all around cookbooks. Everyone can roast, grill or bake a meat dish and serve it will everything in this book. Also, many of these recipes are a meal on their own. One of my three favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Wonderful for experienced cooks

    This is a great reference for people who have mastered technique. The chef assumes you have and does not explain the processes. It uses many widely available ingredients that are fairly insexpensive, which makes cooking from this very inexpensive. We'll be getitng a lot of use out of it in this economy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Scarrkit

    Im here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Dont be out off my the word Vegetarian!

    I do not give 5 stars to anything often. But this book is a book you will want in your library if you are a cooks cook. If you are new to cooking, it is a godsend to help you understand what EVERYTHING else but animal protein is on the planet, how to cook it, store it, what it looks like, how it grows. It is just an amazingly well written cookbook that deserves a page turn! I originally bought it as a friend of mine is vegan. i ended up loving this book so much that I couldn't part with it, i talked myself into the idea that I needed to have it here, for when he comes for dinner :-).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A reference guide that happens to be a cookbook too!

    This book has so much information about "how to" almost everything. It is a great beginner/starter book - lots of techniques or margin comments that add to the overall value of the book. What's missing is some more pictures of actual items. The organization of the book was less than desirable to me, but it makes sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    A little to overwhelming

    Most of the recipes I found took to much time. I also love cookbooks with pictures, which this one has none that I can remember. I had the cookbook for several years and never had the desire to use it because I didn't have the time it required for a lot of her recipes, so I gave the cookbook to a thrift store.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    Every recipe wonderful

    I've been using this cookbook for about three years now and love it so much that all of my grown children are getting one for Christmas. My husband and I are not vegetarians, but we both like to vary our diet with vegetarian dishes. We also discovered the many vegan options here when a vegan friend came to visit last summer. This is the cookbook I use most of all the ones I own. I would recommend it to anyone. I'd rather have great recipes made from fresh ingredients than slick pictures any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Even my five picky children and an avid meat-eating husband love the food that comes from this book!

    I bought this book because I was looking for a way to add more healthy foods to our menue. It has been a great resorce for me. I use this book often and have never made anything from it that was not a hit with family and friends alike. I like her cooking tips and the emince number of recipies makes it like a treasure hunt everytime I sit down to brows through it. I am a serious cook with a large family to please and I need lots of different recipies to try to keep me interested in cooking. This book is still filling that need after two years. My family loves what I have made from it so much that my Mother asked for a copy for Christmas - and NONE of us are vegetarians!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    Thanks, Deborah (from your Passionate V colleague)

    I'm Crescent Dragonwagon, the author of the book Passionate Vegetarian, which was favorably referred to at the expense of Deborah's fine book in a reader review here (which a friend alerted me to). I was distressed by this. While it's nice to have someone compliment you, not so at the expense of a colleague who is as good and groundbreaking and hard-working work as Deborah Madison. I like Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone a lot --- perhaps her earlier, The Savory Way (5 stars in my view), is a little more appealing to me, but doing a definitive work is tough... believe me, I know. I am proud to give both Madison's excellent books a place of honor on my shelf and in my kitchen and life. It's true the tone and content of our work is quite different; so what? I'd like to feel not just that we both made important contributions to this field, but that this field is large and generous enough for many perspectives. Library Journal agreed: ' Deborah Madison's huge Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone came first, and it and Dragonwagon's book cover similar ground by virtue of having the same topic, but there is little overlap in terms of recipes. With vegetarian cooking more popular than ever, most libraries will want Passionate Vegetarian, too. '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2002

    An essential for vegetarian cooks

    I got this book as a Christmas gift and have used it countless numbers of times. It's a sort of Joy of Cooking for vegetarians. She covers everything from more complicated main entrees, to very basic side dishes and salads. Want to make a vegetable lasagne? How about a vinagrette dressing? What are some ways to prepare asparagus or squash? She's got you covered. I find myself turning to this book again and again. It's extremely useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    Informative and comprehensive

    Although it focuses on meatless cookery, this impressive volume belongs in the kitchens of vegetarians and nonvegetarians alike. It is packed with practical information and clearly written, appealing recipes for simple everyday meals as well as for entertaining. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced cook, 'Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone' is bound to be a very useful addition to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Simply the Best!

    I have numerous vegetarian cookbooks and this one is simply the best! There are tasty, wonderful dishes for everyone in your family from the easy to the exotic...from the quick to the cook-all-day fare. Each is a celebration for the taste buds! Although the book is large, it contains everything you need to know about cooking vegetarian or if you are not completely vegetarian in your eating, the recipes will help break up the monotony of the meat and potatoes routinue. Not only is this wonderful book full of recipes, you will learn cooking techniques and helpful hints that help even a seasoned chef. This book is really all you need and is well worth the price!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3