BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Vegetarian Family Cookbook: Featuring more than 275 recipes for quick breakfasts, healthy snacks and lunches, classic comfort foods, hearty main dishes, wholesome baked goods, and more

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    A great resource for new and experienced vegetarians alike

    I recently made the decision to adopt a vegetarian lifestyle. In doing so, I new that I would need a reference guide to help me along my way. This book is a wonderful tool for anyone who may be new to the vegetarian life, or the experienced vegetarians out there. I have never eaten soy products before, and have never even seen tofu up close, so I was worried that all of the recipes that were in this book would be very complicated and difficult for a novice cook like myself to tackle. I couldn't have been further from the truth. Not only are the recipes in Nava's book easy to make, they all include ingredients that are easy for me to find in my local grocery store. I come from a smaller town in West Virginia and we don't have a health food store or vegan restaurant every 10 feet like they do elsewhere, but with this book, I am able to go to the same grocery store that I have always shopped at and get everything I need. The recipes are healthy and very tasty, and this book has made the transition from a meat eater to a vegetarian not only easy, but fun. I now look forward to making new dishes and trying new ingredients, and I plan to check out all of Nava Atlas's resources. She also includes great websites in the back of this book to check out. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed if you get this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I am very happy with this book!

    A lot of vegetarian cookbooks I found were very fancy and complicated recipes. Definitely not anything my 2 year old and 9 year old would eat. This book had simple kid friendly recipes, that my sons love! When I became a vegetarian I went a bought a bunch of cookbooks and I think I would have been just fine with this one. Being new to the whole veggie head thing :) I wish this book would have went more in depth with Tofu. For instance a lot of the recipes called for baked tofu which I could not find anywhere, but was able to google and find ways to do it myself. I would definitely recommend this book to someone with a family with children!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    New best friend!

    I love this cookbook. Previously, I was preparing 2 meals each day - one vegetarian and one not, for my family. Preparing the recipes in this cookbook, everyone enjoys a veggie-lifestyle, without even realizing it! I have prepared many of the recipes since purchasing this cookbook and so far have not found a recipe that we did not enjoy. Great tips and information throughout as well. I would highly recommend this cookbook to anyone interested in a healthier diet for their family. Cookbook has become my new best friend - it is always out - never gets put away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    Great starter vegetarian cookbook!

    I am exploring vegetarian cooking and really like this cookbook! The receipes are easy to follow and don't have a lot specialty ingredients, which has been helpful (I live in a small town). I love that most receipes have suggestions for modification (picky eaters, veg vs. vegan and ingredient alternatives) and also menu plans to help plan balanced meals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Review of Vegetarian Family Cookbook, by Nava Atlas

    A very useful book for those wishing to try occasional vegetarian meals, as well as for strict vegetarians and vegans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    Great FAST Vegetarian Recipes

    I love Nava Atlas and my husband and I are huge fans of this book. The Black Bean/Sweet Potato Chili is a knockout!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Great

    Great cookbook. Book is organized into chapters and I only wish that before each chapter was a concise list of each recipe in the chapter. I have made the muffins with the banana raisin variation and they are very tasty. You can't even tell I used whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce & soy milk!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    A good way to introduce kids to vegetarian eating

    Not every recipe in this book was great, as is true with just about any cookbook. I have tried some recipes that I was not impressed with, but I also came upon many recipes I liked quite a bit, such as her recipes for chickpea burgers and enchiladas. What I really enjoyed was learning how to make baked goods that are pretty healthy and pretty tasty! She has recipes for pancakes, muffins, cookies, etc. that are made with ingredients like whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce, yogurt, and flaxseed. Like the ingredients in her other recipes, these can all be found in most grocery stores. So many recipes in other vegetarian cookbooks are complicated and contain ingredients only found in health food stores. The recipes in this cookbook are for the most party pretty simple. This cookbook is particularly good for vegetarians with kids. The book contains many kid-friendly recipes (pizza, macaroni and cheese, chili mac, spaghetti, etc.) but also has general ideas on things you can give kids for breakfast or pack in their lunch. The biggest downside to this cookbook is that, if you're not into tofu and seitan, you'll have to skip over quite a few recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Our new family favorite

    I am so happy to have discovered Nava Atlas¿s latest book, The Vegetarian Family Cookbook. The simple, healthy, and delicious dishes are exactly what my family and I like to eat. Atlas¿s recipes are so approachable ¿ especially for a busy parent. She offers ideas for meals that fit into a busy family lifestyle ¿ simple breakfast ideas, suggestions for school lunches, healthy snacks, and quick dinners. The recipes call for few, easy-to-find ingredients making this book perfect for even the novice cook or beginning vegetarian. This comprehensive book includes recipes for breakfasts, soups, salads, casseroles, pasta, grains, beans, vegetables, snacks, and desserts. For those who don¿t know what to do with tofu, Atlas explains the different types and gives many recipes that will make even those who think they don¿t like tofu, realize that maybe they do. I made the tofu burgers for family and friends and everybody was begging for more (I now make double batches!) I also enjoyed the section on seitan ¿ a meat-like product made from wheat gluten. The recipe for homemade seitan is so easy and the seitan tastes so much better than the store-bought product that my family didn¿t like. In addition to all the yummy recipes, The Vegetarian Family Cookbook includes great information about vegetarianism, reasons to eat organic, substitutes for dairy products, nutrition information, and useful books and web sites. This book had already become the cookbook I turn to first when trying to decide what to make for dinner. Whether your family is vegetarian, vegan, or just trying to eat a more plant-based diet, the recipes in this cookbook are sure to please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Reliable, tasty recipes

    I've only had this cookbook for a couple of weeks, so I haven't tried a lot of the recipes yet, but I've been VERY pleased with the ones that I've tried so far. My picky toddler loved the chili and the tofu mac & cheese; she couldn't gobble them down fast enough. If you're looking for kid-friendly vegetarian food, this is a great resource.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2