BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Veil of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 539 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(314)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Love It!

I was reluctant at first to allow myself to enjoy Lara Adrian's books because I am a die hard JR Ward fan. I was afraid that they would just be a bad imitation of books and characters that I came to know and love. However, after reading the first of Lara's books I app...
I was reluctant at first to allow myself to enjoy Lara Adrian's books because I am a die hard JR Ward fan. I was afraid that they would just be a bad imitation of books and characters that I came to know and love. However, after reading the first of Lara's books I appreciated the similarities and loved the differences even more. Lara succeeds at creating a world that sucks you in and takes you on a wild and erotic ride. I am loving Lara Adrian's books and I can truly say that I am now a fan of hers also. Veil of Midnight is my favorite of the current five. The relationship between Nikolai and Renata is hot. The way the two of them get down and dirty with one another in more ways then one keeps you turning the pages and craving more. I am eagerly awaiting the next installment, Ashes of Midnight. Much kudos to Lara Adrian who is truly an artist in her own right!

posted by Vampire_Addict on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't buy this book

The text is unreadable in ebook format because not all the characters converted properly when the text was converted to electronic format.

And the worst part is, Barnes & Noble won't give you a refund for the ebook even when the book is unreadable. Luckily I haven't...
The text is unreadable in ebook format because not all the characters converted properly when the text was converted to electronic format.

And the worst part is, Barnes & Noble won't give you a refund for the ebook even when the book is unreadable. Luckily I haven't had my Nook for more than 14 days and can return it for a refund. It's a waste to pay that much money for an ebook reader and then have to pay for books you can't even read.

posted by BAS82 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book and series, but serious typos in ebook version

    I have no idea if the hard/soft cover version as as many typos as the ebook one I'm reading does. Seriously should have checked it better before releasing it on ebook. Examples are several "the" words replaced with "die". "could" is in there as "gould" several times over. It's bad enough to be distracting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Veil of Midnight still has the bite that all the other 4 do

    Even though it's a shorter book, it's still very interesting especially because the woman character is totally different than any of the others in the first four books. She's unexpected & she has a little surprise with her. Lara's writing about vampires is just as different as Stephenie Meyer. One person once said that Stephenie's vampires are bologna because they sparkle in the sun. Well Lara's vampires are pretty different from the norm too. (OK they don't sparkle - sun does kill them & they do need to drink blodd from humans.) But Lara's & Stephenie's vampires aren't ugly monsters without a sense of right & wrong. I love these two women - they took a old horror character and added a true fanasty spin on them. Isn't that what fiction is supposed to be about? - Living a life and meeting intersting beings who shouldn't exist. I love the men of Midnight Breed & their mates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Awesome

    She just keeps getting better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Much better than the last one.

    This was a good book. I like that she didn't shy away from real conflict between the two main characters. Renata was actually a strong heroine. Not someone who was just stubborn but someone how was a survivor and had gained strength through her adversity. It seems to me that many times that authors try to create a strong heroine and end up just writing about someone who is TSTL. Kudos to Ms. Adrian.

    The plot for the Breed definately builds and thickens in this book. If you were disappointed by the last book you'll be more pleased with this one. I'm actually looking forward to the next book (which I couldn't say after reading book 4).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Love this series!

    I love these books! they just keep getting better and better. This one had a lot of typos.. but it was the same three or four words over and over.. so once i figured out what they were suppose to be, it was a really good book... Niko is one of my favorite characters so I was excited to see him find the perfect mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LARA ADRIAN SERIES

    fANTASTIC SERIES. lOVED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    This book was a very good read. I didn't put it down until it was done! I personally like #4 the best so far out of the series. But this is my second favorite bc of the little girl Mira. Just read it and see if you agree....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    Veil of Midnight was really good read it in 3 hrs. and couldnt put it down along with the rest of the series Lara Adrian is really good at pulling the readers in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great series!

    If you are looking for a good vampire warrior, action packed, with good erotic story in a book then you need to read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Veil of Midnight

    A fine addition to the series. A great read for the true vampire romantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8