Customer Reviews for

Veil of Night

Average Rating 3.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

excellent romantic suspense

While paying her traffic ticket fine, Jaclyn Wilde loses her balance and falls into the arms Hopewell, Georgia Police detective Eric Wilder. She likes what she sees (and feels), but has no time for an encounter because as an event planner for Premier, which she co-owns...
While paying her traffic ticket fine, Jaclyn Wilde loses her balance and falls into the arms Hopewell, Georgia Police detective Eric Wilder. She likes what she sees (and feels), but has no time for an encounter because as an event planner for Premier, which she co-owns with her mom, they host six weddings in five days.

At the end of a brutal day made worse by Carrie "Bridezilla" Edwards, Jaclyn stops off for a drink. Also at the same bar is Eric. The exchange business cards so they can hook up in a week, but lust gets the better of them and they spend a night making love.

Carrie fires Jaclyn and slaps her former planner in the face in front of many witnesses. A few hours later, Carrie is found murdered with the weapon being kabob skewers. Eric leads the investigation and as such must treat Jaclyn as a stranger being that she is a prime suspect; although he is positive she is not the killer. He plans to find the killer, keep Jaclyn safe from someone who wants her dead, and somehow regain her trust lost by doing his job.

The quality of Linda Howard's romantic suspense novels remains consistently high as affirmed by Veil of Night. The tale is filled with tense intrigue, a strong police procedural investigation, a memorable cast, plenty of humor and a powerful lead couple - the cop and the suspect who go from lust to distrust as Eric performs his job. This is a must read.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Just Ok book from one of my favorite authors.

I love old school Linda Howard. I mean LOVE. I own them all. This one (as well as the next to last Burn) are not joining my keeper shelf. It was just meh. Sort of a blend of the funny To Die For books w/ Blair, but not as funny, with some of her suspense style. Th...
I love old school Linda Howard. I mean LOVE. I own them all. This one (as well as the next to last Burn) are not joining my keeper shelf. It was just meh. Sort of a blend of the funny To Die For books w/ Blair, but not as funny, with some of her suspense style. The whodunit part was also pretty flat and reminded me plot-wise of her Blair books too. I guess when you have written this many books plot lines sometimes get reused. I advise getting it from the library or waiting to borrow a friend's copy or just re-read To Die For which was hysterical and original Linda Howard!

posted by jordandean on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Ok book from one of my favorite authors.

    I love old school Linda Howard. I mean LOVE. I own them all. This one (as well as the next to last Burn) are not joining my keeper shelf. It was just meh. Sort of a blend of the funny To Die For books w/ Blair, but not as funny, with some of her suspense style. The whodunit part was also pretty flat and reminded me plot-wise of her Blair books too. I guess when you have written this many books plot lines sometimes get reused. I advise getting it from the library or waiting to borrow a friend's copy or just re-read To Die For which was hysterical and original Linda Howard!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent romantic suspense

    While paying her traffic ticket fine, Jaclyn Wilde loses her balance and falls into the arms Hopewell, Georgia Police detective Eric Wilder. She likes what she sees (and feels), but has no time for an encounter because as an event planner for Premier, which she co-owns with her mom, they host six weddings in five days.

    At the end of a brutal day made worse by Carrie "Bridezilla" Edwards, Jaclyn stops off for a drink. Also at the same bar is Eric. The exchange business cards so they can hook up in a week, but lust gets the better of them and they spend a night making love.

    Carrie fires Jaclyn and slaps her former planner in the face in front of many witnesses. A few hours later, Carrie is found murdered with the weapon being kabob skewers. Eric leads the investigation and as such must treat Jaclyn as a stranger being that she is a prime suspect; although he is positive she is not the killer. He plans to find the killer, keep Jaclyn safe from someone who wants her dead, and somehow regain her trust lost by doing his job.

    The quality of Linda Howard's romantic suspense novels remains consistently high as affirmed by Veil of Night. The tale is filled with tense intrigue, a strong police procedural investigation, a memorable cast, plenty of humor and a powerful lead couple - the cop and the suspect who go from lust to distrust as Eric performs his job. This is a must read.

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters but no mystery.

    I've had issues before with Linda Howard before as an author because she a has a very strong habit of basically using the same characters over and over again but just giving them different names. However the plot of "Veil of Night" looked interesting to me and I was in need of book to relax with so I purchased it. I will say with this book, my biggest issue was not the characters, I actually found both Eric, Jaclyn and the other supporting characters to be interesting,relatable and humorous. My big complaint about this book was the actually the plot, it revolved around a murder of a bridezilla ( a character who isn't around long but you certainly don't grieve for her) and who did it. Howard has it all but spelled out for you in pretty much the middle of the book(although it is not for the characters) so you're not really left with the anticipation of the resolution of the murder.
    I will say for anyone interested in this book ( or is just a Linda Howard), just be prepared for a serious lack of suspense and mystery but great chemistry between the two lead characters.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    What Has Happened to Linda Howard?

    I was eagerly awaiting this book because the synopsis sounded more like the Linda Howard I had been reading for years. She had starting writing dark stories that I found unappealing. So I was so hoping for a great read. Unfortunately it was a huge disappointment! The characters were so shallow that I could have cared less about them and the story was thin. Please, Linda, go back to writing the funny and sexy great reads that most Linda Howard fans adore!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Predictable but fun.

    This is about an event coordinator named Jaclyn who is having a very busy week with six weddings in five days and a bride from hell to deal with in the meantime. It is a light hearted romantic suspense full of suspense, humor and drama. Predictable but fun.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    Expensive?

    Why is this ebook so expensive? I understand that only the hardcover edition is out right now, but other ebook stores have it for $10. We don't even get to use our Barnes and Noble membership discounts for ebooks...

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    Thin plot

    This read more like a Harlequin paperback story. There was not enough meat to warrant a hardover book length or price. The details about a wedding planner's day were fun and interesting. I liked the characters and their romance.
    The murder mystery/suspense part of this book was cobbled together. The synposis reads " a cold blooded murderer moves dangerously close...". There were many times I forgot there was any danger at all.

    Wait for the paperback or get it at the library

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    WORST BOOK EVER- this does not deserve a rating.

    To whom do I make a request to get a refund? Linda Howard should be ASHAMED of herself for writing this farce "an empty and patently ridiculous story" and calls it a novel. I've read her earlier books and have been entertained by them; to name a few Dream Man,Mr. Perfect, Dying to Please; Cry no more, is to me the last interesting book supposedly written by her. In the last five years the books with her name as author has been UTTER RUBBISH. I believe Linda Howard has lost her MOJO...or is someone else writting for her....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Not one of Linda's best

    Jaclyn Wilde literally runs into Eric Wilder while dealing with a traffic violation at city hall. They end up later at a bar and have a night of very passionate sex. The next day Eric is called in to investigate the homicide of a young woman. It turns out Jaclyn is the main suspect, seeing as the victim was a young bride and Jaclyn her wedding planner. Jaclyn had been slapped in the face because the "bridezilla" was anything but pleased with Jaclyn's service. Eric has to clear Jaclyn's name and can't play favorites especially because of their former relationship.

    Veil of Night starts off strong. It has a fast, interesting beginning. Unfortunately, things slowly deteriorate from there. First off, let me state for the record that I cannot be impartial when writing this review. I have been a long time fan of Linda Howard. She is one of my favorite all time authors, however I have been less than enthusiastic with her recent releases. This one included.

    The problem for me is that I have come to expect a really superb romance, with a strong romantic thread between the hero and heroine. Veil of Night does not deliver in this aspect. While Jaclyn is a fine heroine and Eric a definite hero, the romance is left to the wayside as Howard allows the murder and the details to detract from the main relationship. I can't help but compare Howard's recent work with her former and it just can't compare.

    I would say that if reading Howard for the first time, there is still something about her writing that can lend itself to intrigue. The characters invite confidence and an easy manner that will draw readers in. The mystery is somewhat ordinary and hard core mystery fans will most likely think that part of the story is weak. Overall, I am not impressed. I just can't help compare Veil of Night to her other work and it just doesn't stand up. It makes me so sad. I just don't want to give up on her books, but what can I do? I don't think I can hang in there any longer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Entertaining

    I listened to this as an audiobook during long work commutes. Fast paced, entertaining, and totally enjoyable. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Not her best

    This was a frivolous mystery/love story and was cute, but a bit tedious. I'm not sure that I ever even finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very disappointing

    I did not like this book. (Sorry Linda, I am a fan of yours but this was blah.) My recommendations for Linda Howard books:

    Death Angel
    Kill and Tell
    Mr. Perfect

    And my all time favorite: All the Queen's Men

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Meh

    I am a huge fan of linda howard bit this one just didn't make me feel any type of connection with the characters. Frankly I thought the heroine was stuck up and the hero was dull.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Love this book

    I could not put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    I don't recommend this one

    I have read some of her other books and this one is not up to her usual caliber. it was actually kind of harequinny...and that is an insult as far I am concerned. it sounded like it would be a good read, but it just wasn't worth the time. not a very good mystery or love story either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Jaclyn, a wedding planner and worakaholic, finds herself in the

    Jaclyn, a wedding planner and worakaholic, finds herself in the busiest of all weeks when she finds herself scheduled for four weddings (not to mention the rehearsal dinners).  Even with the impossible schedule in front of her, she finds that her biggest frustration is Carrie Edwards, the bridezillas of all bridezillas.  When Carrie is found murdered, all eyes turn toward Jaclyn as the last person to see her alive.  With many witnesses to their last altercation, Jacklyn is soon the prime suspect.  Frustrated at finding her busy week even crazier, Jaclyn must endure question after question from Detective Eric Wilder, a man with whom she has a bit of history.  Detective Wilder is determined to find out who murdered Carrie before the case ruins any chance of a future with Jaclyn.




    I absolutely love Linda Howard and one thing that she usually gets right is the romance.  I found the chemistry between Jaclyn and Eric to be so hot!  I smiled every time they were on a page together.  It just all seemed to fit just right.  The dialogue was so witty and cute.  My only issue with this book is that the mystery was a tad boring.  The entire middle of the book could be taken out and I probably would have cheered.  I almost think the book would have been more interesting with Carrie alive than dead.  Now SHE is a character that can raise some eyebrows.  Things started getting a bit boring after she was murdered.  This is a case where the beginning of the book was just too fun and exciting for the good of the rest of the book.




    While I would recommend reading this book, I'd say to check it out of the library if you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    ,,&r

    rl&

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Definitely Linda Howard--good read

    This one has all the ingredients of a good Linda Howard: Fun, strong, clever, witty, interesting hero and heroine. He's a detective, she's a wedding planner. They have a very hot night together, then there is a murder of one of her wedding clients and she immediately becomes one of the main suspects. He has strong feelings for her but being the good cop that he is, must examine all possible suspects. However, by investigating her and treating her as a suspect, he hurts her feelings and possibly ruins any chance of more developing between them. She is soon cleared and moves quickly from being a suspect to being a target because she may have unknowingly seen the murderer. So while she is trying to do her job, he is trying to protect her and continue his investigation, and somehow win her back to his side. The romance is hot, (although infrequent), the action is busy, and the mystery is very satisfying as the true murderer is kept from us till the last moments. My only complaint is that once the murderer is revealed, Ms. Howard, doesn't tell us why the person committed the murder. She is usually so good at tying up all the loose ends, so that left me a bit shocked. But otherwise, I would recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Funny, great characters, good mystery

    Veil of Night was a fun, funny, who's the criminal, great cast of secondary characters mystery. I loved the dialogue in the book and laughed out loud in several places (main characters conversation in bar, discussion of murder victim, and type of car description discussion). My family asked me several time 'What are you reading that's so funny?' I also liked that there were not sections and sections of what was going through the bad guy/girl's mind. Like the characters in the book, you don't know 'who done it' until the police figure it out. This book also has excellent secondary characters with lots of different kind of people who surround you in real life. Definitely recommend!! If you liked Drop Dead Gorgeous or To Die For, you'll love Veil of Night. It you like Veil of Night, then try the above mentioned by Howard also.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14