BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Veil of Roses

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dreaming In English

I thought this book was beautifully written. I read Veil Of Roses first, and found the characters to be very lovable. I would strongly recommend this book. This book provokes many emotions, as a good book should!

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely disgusting

I hope I don't sound terrible, but I was really hoping that Tami would get deported. She is such a stupid girl who uses people to get ahead in her life. The author knows nothing about Muslim women and what it means to be a Muslim. She is highly judgmental and prejudice....
I hope I don't sound terrible, but I was really hoping that Tami would get deported. She is such a stupid girl who uses people to get ahead in her life. The author knows nothing about Muslim women and what it means to be a Muslim. She is highly judgmental and prejudice. It makes me so sad to hear that people actually like this book. Such a waste of paper.

posted by 7948823 on May 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Dreaming In English

    I thought this book was beautifully written. I read Veil Of Roses first, and found the characters to be very lovable. I would strongly recommend this book. This book provokes many emotions, as a good book should!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    You have to read this book!

    I had been to Barnes and Nobles lots of times, and a few of those times I had picked up this book, but put it down in favor of others. One day, I finally decided to give this book a chance and bought it. Honestly, I was really surprised. The story is very thoughtfully told, and seriously, it really made me appreciate the life we all have right here in the USA. We're spoiled and we all have something negative to say about our government, but we don't see what a truly luxurious life we lead. We have freedom of speech and expression, we can walk down most streets any where in the U.S. without fear. We take for granted the daily liberties we have in this country. I feel that I am a better person for having read thisbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Loved it !

    This book got my attention from begining to the very end,in fact ive read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    What a great read!

    I really enjoyed Veil of Roses. I am interested in books that explain different cultures and this one really explained what living in Iran as a woman would be like. It also helped me see the lives of Americans through foreigners eyes. The book left me appreciating my freedoms as an American woman!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Great book

    I loved the book I found it extremely interesting and greatly captivating, the overall plot may be categorized as a bit predictable at times but overall the book was great, I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    My fav bookever

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Amazing book!

    Very easy to read. Written very well written. I loved the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!! I got hooked on this book and read it in one day . THe romance in this book is also one were you wish it was your romance story sigh....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cute, flirty, fun, all around great read

    For starters this story follows a generally relatable character. She is unfamiliar and out of place but stands out in all the right ways. The supporting characters add humor to the story and keep it moving. The man is sexy and bold, keeping you hooked on his every move. I would recommend this story to someone who is looking for a story to read while out at the beach for a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have book for 2009

    This book is the first book ever to bring tears to my eyes as Tami Soroush Describes her life back in Iran and laughter as she experiences the trials and tribulations of finding a way to stay in America legally. I could not put this book down, and each time I did, I found myself wanting more. This book is definetely worth the money to buy it. I hope one day (really soon) that the author might consider writting another book and making this a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    PERFECT!

    A WONDERFUL AND HEART WARMING STORY! ENJOYABLE READ; CULTURALLY ENLIGHTENING - AND JUST A VERY ENJOYABLE BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable read!

    I found this book to be thought-provoking and informative. It allows a glimpse into the traditional way Islamic marriages were formed. I loved the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I almost didn't buy this book, but was thrilled that I did. Great story, couldn't put it down, very interesting to learn of a different culture and the kinds of difficulties they face trying to live in America. Enjoyable ending. Recommend greatly to people of all ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing Story!!

    I chose this book not knowing what to expect. What a refreshing story!! The author not only makes you fall in love with the main character but makes you reflect on how lucky we are. One of my favorite quotes is "Freedom, I am beginning to realize, means not even being aware you're free." I was hooked from the first page and didn't want to put it down. I have given it as a gift to a dear friend and I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    A Fresh Look!

    It was like looking at the American culture through a fresh pair of eyes. It forced me to appreciate such 'small' freedoms while reminding me that freedom is such a foreign concept to so many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    I love it , it is a really a great book

    Laura Fitzgerald, her writting has striked me. I was very touch with the author expression towards Persian female. The author words were weapons in comparing Iranian home style with its tradition to the American one. Also the use of camera has inspired me. To some extend, I felt I was apart of this story characters. And I was very nervous toward the end when Tami was cheering her last days with friends at Las vegas. And I got very excited and happy with the positive solution of the story. ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    I couldn't put it down

    I read this book in one day. It was that good. I could relate to the main character because she was torn between two cultures. I also learned a lot about Iranian culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    Great read!

    This is a charming book. It is cute story with humor splashed thoughtout! It is a fast reading book that you can put down and pick right back up. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    great book!

    i found a great story within these wonderful pages.i continue to let my friends borrow it so they to are filled with the life this book brings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Awakening

    This is a book about love and hope, which opens the door to customs so far-fetched from what we believe is our right. In our society we are so caught up with our 'rights', that we live our lives selfishly, completely oblivious to the rest of the world. This book gently pries open the door to a society which represses what we take for granted. It helps us to see how the simple things we do each day 'our freedoms', can be overwhelming for someone unaccustomed to this. This is a very light book and does not dwelve deeply into the characters emotions/angst 'as it should not'. It is beautifully written, engaging and makes the reader wants to know more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3