BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Veiled Revenge: A Crime of Fashion Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Super cozy

    I love this series. Wacky but lovable characters. Fanst read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    I really enjoy these books I can not wait till the next one come

    I really enjoy these books I can not wait till the next one comes out! Hope its not a whole year :P Bring it on Ms. Byerrum!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    Anyone who knows me, also knows that The Crime of Fashion Myster

    Anyone who knows me, also knows that The Crime of Fashion Mysteries are one of my all time favorite series. This was my spring break treat to myself. I love Lacey Smithsonian and I adore her creator, Ellen (whom I was blessed to have attend a fundraiser for my 2014 Avon Walk).



    Veiled Revenge has a bit of everything, wedding drama, a hint of Russian intrigue, mystery, a touch of the paranormal, fashion tips and cherry blossoms. Ellen has created yet another entertaing edge of your seat mystery. I've always enjoyed Ellen's books, but while reading Veiled Revenge I really felt as though I were right there in D.C. with the characters. I can't wait to see what happens next with Lacey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good

    Ellen doesn't disappoint in this installment of the Lacey series. The characters continue to grow and make plans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    In Byerrum¿s mystery novel, fashion reporter Lacey Smithsonian b

    In Byerrum’s mystery novel, fashion reporter Lacey Smithsonian believes that clothes can be magical, but until recently she never suspected they could be cursed. Stella, Lacey’s best friend, is getting married, and during her bachelorette party, fortune-teller Marie Largesse arrives with an amazing Russian shawl. According to Marie, the shawl is capable of blessing the wearer or cursing them. When a party crasher mocks the shawl and is found dead the following morning, everyone fears for their own safety. But level-headed Lacey has her doubts, and quickly pulls out her sleuthing skills to find a villain before more harm is done.


    A first-rate story and great addition to the A Crime of Fashion Mystery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Okay

    I enjoy this series but found this installment lacking. The whole story line seemed forced, as if the author wasn't really comfortable with it, something was just off. I rated it three stars because I like the characters but if this had been the first book in the series and not the ninth I wouldn't be reading anymore of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Fun Murder Mystery With Lacey

    When it comes to fashion, no one knows it quite like Lacey Smithsonian, ‘Crimes of Fashion’ columnist in Washington, D.C. Working as a fashion reporter in Washington, D.C., Lacey dishes advice to the clothing-clueless big wigs on the political scene as she improves the town one fashion disaster at a time. In Veiled Revenge Lacey’s best friend, Stella, is finally getting married and fashion is the utmost importance when planning a wedding. But the clothes may have a different effect for this wedding party. Marie Largesse, bridesmaid and fortune teller, bring a stunning Russian shawl to Stella’s bachelorette party. She warns the shawl can either be a blessing or curse for the one who wears it. A party crasher mocks the shawl and the next day is found dead. Could the shawl really be cursed? Lacey believes otherwise and sets out to find the killer in order to give her friend the ‘happily every after’ she deserves. Author Ellen Byerrum, a journalist herself, has created a realistic protagonist in Lacey that readers are drawn to and adore. The cast of supporting characters are well developed, engaging and add to the intrigue of the story. The reader is placed in Washington, D.C., amid the action. The story flows smoothly and keeps you guessing until the end. With twists and turns, Veiled Revenge will be hard to put down once you begin. Bits of fashion tips are also scattered throughout the story as an added bonus. Veiled Revenge is the 9th installment in the Crime of Fashion Mystery series, but can be read on its own. However, to really appreciate the protagonist and the journey she has made, I would recommend reading the series in order. The others books include: Killer Hair (August 2003), Designer Knockoff (August 2004), Hostile Makeover (August 2005), Raiders of the Lost Corset (July 2006), Grave Apparel (July 2007), Armed and Glamorous (July 2008), Shot Through Velvet (February 2011), and Death on Heels (February 2012). FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    The road to matrimony with Lacey at the helm is one fun ride tha

    The road to matrimony with Lacey at the helm is one fun ride that I did not want to get off in this delightfully entertaining whodunit. The gang is back in this well-written mystery as Lacey’s search for a killer provides us with a fast-pace drama filled with fashion anecdote, engaging conversation and a pictorial view of Washington DC as seen through Lacey’s eyes. This page-turning tome kept me in suspense as the story moved towards a rewarding conclusion. I especially enjoy the dynamics of Lacey and the wonderful supporting cast of characters from the impressionable Lady G, the bride-to-be Stella, psychic Marie, the effervescent Miguel, bodyguard Turtledove to the ever handsome Vic. Like fine wine that gets better with age, Veiled Revenge is the best book yet, in this fabulous series and I can’t wait to see where Lacey and her fashion-sense take us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another delightful book in the Crime of Fashion/Lacey Smithsonia

    Another delightful book in the Crime of Fashion/Lacey Smithsonian series. With cherry blossoms on the cover and throughout the story, Ellen Byerrum ties together many threads from previous books as Lacey serves as Maid of Honor for Stella and Nigel's wedding. All of our favorite characters are there including Stella's MIL-to-be, Lady G., and Nadine, perhaps Lacey's MIL-to-be. Not only does Lacey have to follow the fashion clues to figure out who is trying to kill whom, but she has to make sure that the wedding stays on track. As usual, finishing this book just leaves me wanting to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1