Customer Reviews for

Veiled Target

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This paranormal sexy romance is the story of Hugh and Tess. When

    This paranormal sexy romance is the story of Hugh and Tess. When wolfen half shifter Hugh, leader of the Night Runners, finds his apprentice Trey kidnapped, his search leads him to impersonate Trey on a blind date in hopes that the woman in question might have some answers. But when he meets Tess, her innocence in Trey's disappearance is clear - and so his instant attraction to her. Keeping his hands off her is only half the battle though, as Tess turns out to be more than he bargained for and is determined to help him in his quest. But Tess has her own agenda in helping Hugh. Will the secrets they hide from each other risk their chance at a happy ending?

    What a fun story this was to read! I confess that I am new to the world of paranormal romances (though I've always read fantasy books), but if all the books in this genre are like this one, I'm going to be a devoted fan. The author does an excellent job of hooking the reader with action packed sequences right from the start and combining just enough reality with world building to make the story seem plausible. Tess has been on her own since childhood and as such is a strong and independent woman, more than capable of taking care of herself. She's got beauty and brains, physical strength and a no-nonsense attitude. Hugh is equally strong and dominant, leader of his pack, used to being in charge. When he meets Tess he is struck by her and all facets of her character. There is a strong sexual attraction between them from their first meeting, and when they eventually give into this attraction (both of them fighting it all the way), the resulting love scenes are powerfully erotic and emotionally satisfying. As the plot hurtles towards it's eventual conclusion these two strong characters face a battle of wills with each other and with themselves to figure out what lies in their future.

    Overall, I found this to be an action packed, steamy, and interesting story. I hope this is just the first of a series as I am definitely hooked! 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    The first book in the Veilers series is a riveting paranormal re

    The first book in the Veilers series is a riveting paranormal read with a refreshing different twist.  The author has created an intriguing world with some fascinating elements and captivating characters which has the potential for some great future stories.  I was caught up in the story from the very beginning and the author surprised me with some twists that I didn’t see coming, although I am a little disappointed in their code names they don’t really fit and also with Tess’ employment situation at the end, I know what she said but how did that come about? Did they just let her go? Or is that information to be revealed at a later time? Hmmm… guess I will just have to read more in the series to find out huh?

    See my full review at:  Paranormal Haven .com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Tess is an eliminator that terminates the lives of unlawful &quo

    Tess is an eliminator that terminates the lives of unlawful "Veilers." She's never questioned her "marks" until now. Until Hugh Langston, sexy Wolfen half shifter, alpha of his pack, is accused of wrong doings and someone puts up a contract for termination. After getting to know the sexy Alpha, does Tess really believe everything he's accused of? Can she trust the agency she works for to always be truthful in the quest for guilt or innocence?

    This story is full of mystery, intrigue, sexy shifters, beautiful eliminators, and shady characters. There are many trust issues between characters. Betrayal is powerful and painful and so is the love. The chemistry between Tess and Hugh is explosive and the sex is off the charts!

    Fantastic book! The Veilers series is sure to be a hit! This is quite a bit different from the contemporary romance we are used to from Robin Bielman. I can honestly say that she can absolutely hold her own in the field of paranormal. I'm STILL a huge fan! I was hooked from the beginning and never wanted to put it down. I'm definitely looking forward to future Veilers series books.

    Received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Robin Bielman has out done herself with her new genre of paran

    Robin Bielman has out done herself with her new genre of paranormal. I have read everything of hers and not a big fan of paranormal, but all I can say is I really loved this book. Plenty of action, and hot steamy sex between Tess and Hugh. I hard time putting this book down, always wanted to know what came next.
    I received this book from the author as a gift for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Love totally kick-a$$ characters.  And Robin made both Hugh and

    Love totally kick-a$$ characters.  And Robin made both Hugh and Tess this way.  They were fierce, loyal, strong, sarcastic and funny.  This story was action packed, smoking hot and several very cute parts.  I loved several life lessons in this book:  never judge a book by its cover, the world is not always black and white, follow your heart.  




    I did receive this book in exchange for an honest review.  It is worth buying too.  I am hoping for a book for Francesca, Kensie and Trey too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Blind Date or a Twist of Fate? VEILED TARGET is the first bo

    Blind Date or a Twist of Fate?




    VEILED TARGET is the first book in Robin Bielman's new Veilers series. It marks Robin's first foray into the urban fantasy/paranormal romance genres and is an awesome beginning to this series. I'm an unabashed fan of her books and I do a happy dance whenever she announces a new release. It's got something for everyone: romance, steamy sex, lots of sweet, wolf pack dynamics, dirty politics, and a hero and heroine who will find their way into your heart! This is the story of Tess Damon and Hugh Langston.




    My full review has been posted to Reading Between the Wines Book Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great story. Loved the characters and the suspense element.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
    by Kim

    Robin Bielman’s first step into the paranormal romance writing world is a total success. Veiled Target brings you an Alpha wolfen half shifter and a kick-ass assassin, who can’t seem to not stop thinking about each other.

    Hugh Langston is the pack leader of the Night Runners. He doesn’t do love or believe in love since his older brother died of a broken heart. Hugh’s life consists of making sure his pack is safe and using his aviation business to help rescue missing humans who get trapped or loss in wilderness environments.

    Tess Damon has lived a really hard life but she’s a survivor. Tess is a private investigator who specializes in eliminations. For Tess, her world came to an end five years ago when a wolfen killed her fiancé. Now, the only meaning her life has is tracking down and killing the wolfen who destroyed her world.

    Tess’s last two assignments ended in failure. Her new assignment is to take out Hugh Langston and failure could mean the end of her life. First, she has to get a forced upon blind date out of the way. Hugh’s number two is missing and all he can do is show up for the blind date Trey is supposed to have, and hope it will lead to clues as to where he is. With Hugh pretending to be Trey, he meets up with Tess and sparks fly.

    The two eventually figure out who they truly are and agree to work together to find Trey and the wolfen Tess has been searching for. Once those two are found, they agree to revisit Hugh’s extinction. But things aren't so simple. Loyalties and beliefs shouldn’t be questioned, but they are. And Hugh and Tess shouldn’t be falling in love with each other and revealing their biggest secrets and fears, but they are.

    Veiled Target is a hot read about discovery, acceptance, and finding love. Mixed with suspense elements, it's a page turner that you aren’t going to want to put down.

    Source: Author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Heat! Steam! Adventure!

    Living a life filled with hate and revenge, Tess is a mercenary who snuffs out the lives of “veilers,” the non-human beings that inhabit the earth alongside humans. Lately she is questioning if she is losing her edge, then along comes her new assignment, Hugh, a wolfen, a warrior, a protector of his pack and Tess is once again, questioning her ability to carry out her duty. As they battle wills on all fronts, a unique bond is formed, but how can they trust in each other when they both know Hugh is Tess’s current target? Can they work together like a team to save one of Hugh’s packmates from evil kidnappers?

    Robin Bielman has written with a sexy and edgy flare that held me captive until the very end. Both of her main characters are strong individuals, with Tess being extremely forthright and stubborn, both in her “profession” and personal life as she fights her attraction to her target. Hugh is definitely total alpha, but he leads with a caring hand for his pack and cares enough about the woman Tess keeps hidden that he uses his own brand of “magic” to show her there is more to life than revenge. Each scene in her world played clearly on my mental movie theater as it raced past me on my journey through this adventurous read. Great pacing, hot, and I mean HOT sensual steam, and fresh characters, Keep an iced drink handy to cool you down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Be it sweet romance, slightly sexier romance or sexy paranormal

    Be it sweet romance, slightly sexier romance or sexy paranormal romance, Robin Bielman nails it every single time.

    Tess Damon is an eliminator; a human hired by a government organisation to remove Veilers, various species of immortal. Her plight is personal; it was a Veiler, specifically a Wolfen shifter, responsible for the death of her fiancé and she’s out for revenge. When she meets Hugh Langston, their attraction is instant, but he is half shifter half mortal. She may have a job to do, but they can't deny their feelings for one another and Tess soon finds herself torn between falling for the man or finishing him off.

    This story grabbed me from the off and is filled with suspense, action, fun, emotion and passion. Hugh oozes sexy on every level; protective, strong, tender and witty, he is fighting to keep his pack and the humans safe. Tess is kick-ass; feisty, stubborn and fearless yet sweet and kind. I loved their dynamic; with a wonderful chemistry their banter is filled with humour yet their plight and growing feelings bring the touching elements. And it goes without saying it is sexy, with seductive, tantalising and satisfying build-up.

    "I’m the only one who gets to kiss that sexy mouth of yours....The only one who gets to taste between your legs. And I’m the only one who gets to bury himself inside you...and make you come."

    With a twist that I never saw coming, Veiled Target is quite simply a superb edgy introduction to the series that has left me eager for more. If you're a lover of PN romance then this won’t disappoint, and if you’re not, dip your toes and try it, you'll be converted.

    I received a copy of this courtesy of the author for an honest & unbiased opinion. It was my absolute pleasure to review this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Veiled Target Hits the Bullseye I love contemporary romance, and

    Veiled Target Hits the Bullseye
    I love contemporary romance, and I’m a big fan of Robin Bielman’s Bliss books and Indulgence novellas, but I’ll be honest…I haven’t read a paranormal romance since the Twilight series, (when my book club picked it). While I knew I’d enjoy Bielman’s voice and style, I wasn’t sure the paranormal storyline was for me.
    I could not have been more wrong! This book is action from page one. Bielman immediately sucks you into demon-slayer Tess Damon’s world, and then pulls you into shifter and pack-leader Hugh Langston’s opposing, and equally complicated life.
    Pull back all the paranormal aspects, however, and you have a hot, fast-paced, enemies-to-lovers story, with the added bonus of knowing anything could happen—literally. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and I could honestly say I was equally invested in these characters as I have been in any contemporary romance I’ve read. The paranormal aspects added a thrill to the reading, because it raised the stakes (no pun intended), on the conflict between Tess and Hugh, but didn’t detract from the universal nature of the themes of tolerance, trust, and love.
    I loved the characters, the story…everything…and I know you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1