Customer Reviews for

Velocity

Average Rating 4
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

(Originally written January 23, 2006)

I was a Dean R. Koontz fan long ago, and since I've gotten back into reading, I see Mr. Koontz has remained as skilled as ever. I recently read and was thrilled by "Intensity," but even so, I was STILL blown away by "Velocity!" ...
(Originally written January 23, 2006)

I was a Dean R. Koontz fan long ago, and since I've gotten back into reading, I see Mr. Koontz has remained as skilled as ever. I recently read and was thrilled by "Intensity," but even so, I was STILL blown away by "Velocity!"

What can I say? Once this novel got going, which did not take any time, every chapters, almost every PAGE had me on the edge of my seat! Koontz throws you in with hero Billy and never lets either of you rest.

This novel is also strong in the What-Would-YOU-Do? category. While "Intensity" took me along for the ride, "Velocity" made me feel even more like I was at the center of the story. I kept trying to figure out how I would handle each situation even as I waited to see what Billy would do next.

As is Koontz's habit, we are once again treated to his standard "Man with a sad background" character. But this time, the "Woman with a terrible background" character is absent (or at least in a coma). And so, as with "Intensity," I was able to look past this "stock" character and focus more on the story.

As a result, I have no real complaints about Koontz's work this time around. "Velocity" edges out "Dream Parlor" by Christopher Andrews as my current favorite novel, and I am pleased to give another 5-star rating.

posted by Book_Reader_222 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Well written but without Koontz's typical compelling characters

I've been a big fan of Dean Koontz since reading Watchers the year after it came out, and I normally like everything he writes. Velocity is a decent novel, but it represents a departure from some of Koontz's normal style conventions. Although I appreciate the effort to ...
I've been a big fan of Dean Koontz since reading Watchers the year after it came out, and I normally like everything he writes. Velocity is a decent novel, but it represents a departure from some of Koontz's normal style conventions. Although I appreciate the effort to do something different, to experiment a bit, I thought the experiment was unsuccessful. The book is tense and suspenseful, as Koontz novels always are, but throughout most of the novel I felt it lacked something. It was not until the end that I realized what.

Probably my favorite aspect of Dean Koontz's novels is his wonderful characterization, and his startling ability, novel after novel, with character after character, to make me love and care about his characters. His novels are "page turners" because I care so much about the characters. I worry about them. I want them to make it. And so I keep reading; I can't put the books down.

In Velocity, however, I did not feel the same way. There's really only one character. The book is told entirely from his perspective -- it could easily have been written in first person format. There are no scene breaks, no shifts into someone else's mind. Although that is fine, the problem here is that I didn't really like main character Billy Wiles very much. I didn't find myself DIS-liking him either... But I didn't care about him the way I've cared about characters in all of Koontz's other novels. Billy becomes somewhat likable in the very last few chapters, but it happens too late, and for the bulk of the book I found him uninteresting.

Don't get me wrong. Velocity is not a bad book. If this were a novel by some other author I'd never heard of, I'd probably say it was pretty decent. But as a Koontz novel, I felt it was one of Dean's weaker offerings. My advice is, save this for last, and read all the other ones first. They're all better than this one.

posted by Fraktal on July 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    (Originally written January 23, 2006)

    I was a Dean R. Koontz fan long ago, and since I've gotten back into reading, I see Mr. Koontz has remained as skilled as ever. I recently read and was thrilled by "Intensity," but even so, I was STILL blown away by "Velocity!"

    What can I say? Once this novel got going, which did not take any time, every chapters, almost every PAGE had me on the edge of my seat! Koontz throws you in with hero Billy and never lets either of you rest.

    This novel is also strong in the What-Would-YOU-Do? category. While "Intensity" took me along for the ride, "Velocity" made me feel even more like I was at the center of the story. I kept trying to figure out how I would handle each situation even as I waited to see what Billy would do next.

    As is Koontz's habit, we are once again treated to his standard "Man with a sad background" character. But this time, the "Woman with a terrible background" character is absent (or at least in a coma). And so, as with "Intensity," I was able to look past this "stock" character and focus more on the story.

    As a result, I have no real complaints about Koontz's work this time around. "Velocity" edges out "Dream Parlor" by Christopher Andrews as my current favorite novel, and I am pleased to give another 5-star rating.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Fast-paced Entertainment

    What a ride. The plot is slick, fast-paced and very entertaining. The ending is both satisfying and touching. As in much of Koontz's work, several plot points do strain credibility. This is but a minor fault in a popular fiction designed to entertain. When Koontz is on, he is ON. Quite fun. Highly recommended. Note that there are no supernatural or paranormal elements to this story. The horrors are strictly of the human variety, and, in my opinion, that makes them even more scary.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Thriller I've Ever Read!

    Velocity was a great thriller. The suspense kept me reading it until I finished it and uncovered the mystery. The premise is that Billy, a hardworking, quiet bartender, recieves a note telling him he has the power to determine who the writer of the note murders. Billy decides that the note is a malicious prank and ignores it. He's ready to move on until one of the possible victims the note indicated ends up dead. More notes arrive and Billy realizes that he's dealing with a serial killer who's so expertly tangled him in his murderous web that he can't even contact the police.

    I love how Dean Koontz took a premise so frightening and made it wholly believable. He had red herrings and dozens of clues that kept me guessing. Koontz managed to keep the storyline of the relentless killer going at a breakneck speed while developing all the characters. In Velocity there were two mysteries side by side- the mystery of the killer's identity and motivation and the mystery of how Billy is more than just an average bartender. I loved how I had to keep reaing to peel back layer upon layer of who the protaganist really was. It added to the suspense. The climax was completely suprising and thrilling and led to a perfectly written conclusion. I loved this book because it also dealt with deeper topics like the human condition. So it offered entertainment and integrity. Dean Koontz is an excellent writer and I definitely recommend this one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT. I WAS SO INTO IT THAT IT WAS LIKE I WAS THERE. THE SUSPENSE IS UNBELIEVABLE. THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE READ. IT KEPT ME ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT. WANTING MORE, AND AFRAID TO TURN THE PAGE. IT WAS ONE SUPRISE AFTER THE NEXT. EASY, FAST, AND EXCITING READ.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written but without Koontz's typical compelling characters

    I've been a big fan of Dean Koontz since reading Watchers the year after it came out, and I normally like everything he writes. Velocity is a decent novel, but it represents a departure from some of Koontz's normal style conventions. Although I appreciate the effort to do something different, to experiment a bit, I thought the experiment was unsuccessful. The book is tense and suspenseful, as Koontz novels always are, but throughout most of the novel I felt it lacked something. It was not until the end that I realized what.

    Probably my favorite aspect of Dean Koontz's novels is his wonderful characterization, and his startling ability, novel after novel, with character after character, to make me love and care about his characters. His novels are "page turners" because I care so much about the characters. I worry about them. I want them to make it. And so I keep reading; I can't put the books down.

    In Velocity, however, I did not feel the same way. There's really only one character. The book is told entirely from his perspective -- it could easily have been written in first person format. There are no scene breaks, no shifts into someone else's mind. Although that is fine, the problem here is that I didn't really like main character Billy Wiles very much. I didn't find myself DIS-liking him either... But I didn't care about him the way I've cared about characters in all of Koontz's other novels. Billy becomes somewhat likable in the very last few chapters, but it happens too late, and for the bulk of the book I found him uninteresting.

    Don't get me wrong. Velocity is not a bad book. If this were a novel by some other author I'd never heard of, I'd probably say it was pretty decent. But as a Koontz novel, I felt it was one of Dean's weaker offerings. My advice is, save this for last, and read all the other ones first. They're all better than this one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    A hard book to put down. One that will keep you at the edge of your seat!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fast ride!

    VELOCITY was a very engaging story. The main character Billy Wiles just can't seem to make the right decision given the choices he is given. Killing, mayhem, entrapment, and love. It's all in there. I highly recommend VELOCITY. The novel is good to it's name.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Riveting

    It is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat.. and I about bet you won't be able to set this book down until youre done reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Fantastic !

    Omg! Excellent read, keeps you in suspense wondering what is next ! I have this in hard copy and may buy it again so that I canhave it on my nook .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    wow

    just awesome! its over before you know it. A perfect ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Outstanding!

    You read quotes and just melt from sheer perfection when you read this book. Velocity is one of the best Koontz books by a landslide.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    A Thrilling Adventure

    Dean Koontz's Velocity is a thrilling, exciting, and unpredictable. ONe minute you will think this will happen, but the next thing you you know the exact opposite happens. The main character, Billy, gets note from the 'freak', as Billy calls him, in which he has to choose from two very different, unnamed people for the freak to kill. Each note gets more interesting as the story progresses. Suspense is present throughout the whole novel. The reader will have their head spinning in circles trying to figure out who the 'freak' is. And why the freak chose Billy. This book is great for somebody who wants a true thriller. I applaud Dean Koontzs in creating this exhilarating novel. You will truly be satisfied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Suspense and Twists, Thought Provoking

    Suspenceful and twisted from the start, this is a typical Koontz story. Velocity is a fun mystyery and troubling at the same time. It is impossible not to empathize with Billy, the main character, though you will question his sanity. You will ask yourself what choices you would make in his place. It would be a profound (and of course horrifying) moral quandary in which to find yourself. You might think you couldn't choose another person to die, but if it might save the person you most love from torture and death, you would do it. Probably without hesitation. This kind of novel helps you appreciate the relatively uneventful calm of your routine life...and includes a shout out to Charles Dickens.

    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel "To Be Chosen."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I had to force myself to put it down and go to bed.

    It definately catches your attention from the very first sentence and as it carries on you'll find yourself not only questioning what choices you would make in Billy's place but you'll be on the edge of your seat and shocked by each sudden twist. Waiting alongside Billy is difficult and you'll be frustrated, wanting to know what on earth is going to happen next--but such is Koontz's genius, making you endure it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the book that got me into reading.

    I was walking through the aisle of Walgreens and saw the cover. Me being a car guy, it caught my eye. I read the back cover and was hooked. So I bought it. I could not wait to get to the end, but I didn't want it to end. I would recommend this to everybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Don't let your guard down, the sleep of eternity waits

    Reading this book was quite fun, perhaps best described as feeling very lucky for not being in the main character's shoes. For a regular young guy keeping busy by bar tending, Billy Wiles is not very remarkable until we see him in distress. Out of the blue his life is being pulled in all sorts of crazy directions and the puppeteer pulling all his strings is a total freak who plays twisted mind games and plants all sorts of discriminating evidence in Billy's house, memorabilia of his past killings in random bodies and parts planted to keep him from running to the police. When he starts finding random notes asking him who to spare and who to kill, Billy refuses to play the game, but his friends start disappearing and he has no choice but to play the game and maybe even try and win it, without turning into a psycho himself. <BR/><BR/>I haven't read Koontz in a while, not by any conscious choice, but this week I suddenly craved his stable fiction that always satisfies, like a piece of cake, there are plenty of choices and they rarely fail even if they aren't the most nutritious. For some odd reason I couldn't get into the book at first, it reads fast but the first fifty pages were not a smooth read, perhaps I was being distracted by my surrounding but once I had time and quiet the book zoomed past me and I read it in two days. Most of the time at the end of each short chapter, the final paragraphs kept exploding with more and more crazy stuff, it felt like Billy was never getting his innocence and sanity back and it was impossible to put the book away or go to sleep or do anything else. The title defies the book perfectly, the way one person's life starts to crumble, the hole in the ground being dug deeper and deeper by a mysterious foe who knows everything about Billy but who's pulling the rug from under his feet in random directions getting him into more trouble by the minute. Playing tricks and games, treating people and their precious lives as a toy; something to play with, to get off to, the killer is cunning and cold, driving though his plan to bring Billy down. But lucky for us Billy is no sap and in some interesting ways plans to catch up to the maniac. <BR/><BR/>Koontz does a great job of making Billy feel for all those who have perished, the deaths aren't meaningless and added to make the book soupy with gore, they are mourned and talked about form different angles, making the reader feel real sorrow and it made me think a little more about my own mortality, the way it can so easily be extinguished. Luckily this was just a book, and a great way to spend a dark and cold night. Now of course all I want to read is Koontz...I must say, he's a little bit addictive and I've acquired quite a bit of his stuff over the years. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Koontz is a MASTER again.

    Loved it, I started the book and had it completely finished in 3 days. I couldnt put it down. I litteraly walked around, at work, at home, with this book glued to my hands. I read it before going to work, I read it on breaks, I read it on my lunch hour, I read it afterwork on my way home (no, I wasnt driving), I read while eating dinner, I read it at home in bed. So many twists & turns, everytime you think you know who's leaving the notes, you find how wrong you were. Most authors spend the first 5-6 chapters filling them with boering backgrounds on all their charachters before moving you into the story. Not Koontz - he jumps in from the very beginning hurling you into the story. Then slowly bleeds out the background info on characters throughout the book in such small pieces it leaves you waiting to learn more. ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT & would HIGHLY recommend to anyone who likes good twisty, turny, murder mysteries. This would be great made into a mini movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Fast paced great read

    Unusual (as usual for Koontz) story which moves along at a brisk pace. The characters are well written and you feel empathy for the main character Bill. I always like the way that Dean Koontz finds to end his books. They are uplifting without being too cliche.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2006

    The Evolution of the Thriller

    I have been a Dean Koontz fan for a long time. To this day I regard 'The Face' as one of my favorite novels ever. I can now add 'Velocity' to that list. A very interesting story, solid characters, and classic Koontz humor make this a can't miss novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    A simple, yet exceptionally smart psychotic joyride

    Velocity is my first Koontz novel. Needless to say, I was extremely impressed by this book. Koontz captures a world of suspense, terror, and mystery in just one book. Billy Wiles is a character many of us can relate to, and because of this, Koontz manages to take us through many of the same emotions that Wiles felt during the 'terror'. I honestly felt psychotic after I read Velocity. It can mess with your mind. No other book has done that for me. The storyline holds a strong premise in this book. Choose one person's life or death over another's. This basic scheme provides the suspense for most of the plot. We encounter Wiles attempting to make a decision while desperately searching for the killer and covering his tracks. This was a strong point in the novel. Just to reiterate, this book is not a hard read. It was a fairly quick read for me, mainly because I couldn't set it down. I found myself reading one hundred pages at a time or more. Velocity is chock full on nonstop action. Unlike some other thrillers, where one must wait for 1/3 of the book to develop before they witness a breaking action, Koontz hits the ground running and never stops. This book is action, action, and more action. I would have to say thats a great way to write. I thoroughly enjoyed Velocity by Dean Koontz. I have a huge appreciation for his writing and now I am on the way to the bookstore to purchase his remaining books. This book should keep everyone who reads this on the edge of their seat. This was one of the 'coolest' books I have read. Go out and buy it now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13