Customer Reviews for

The Velvet Promise (Velvet Montgomery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

This book was good but it definitely had its sad moments. But I didn't like that Judith got hit by her husband, it was just too soon. Anyways, I still loved the story.

posted by xoxome on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My least favorite of the series.

The male lead was weak, easily manipulated, and abusive. Read this novel only to finish the triology.

posted by Romancier on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Loved it

    This book was good but it definitely had its sad moments. But I didn't like that Judith got hit by her husband, it was just too soon. Anyways, I still loved the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Depressing, mean, terrible story

    I have read several JD stories and loved them. This one was so negative I had to force myself to finish it! Leading man rapes his wife on wedding nite, hits her a few times, all while still in love with a horrible 1st love he was too foolish or arrogant believe could do him harm. Not much to save the story. I never give 1 STAR this was so NOT WORTH my time or money to read! It was negative, so depressing, and dark- look for a different story to entertain!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great Romance! Loved it!

    Read some of Jude's books when i was much younger. Loved them then. Years later, she does not disappoint! So much fun to read! Sad it came to an end. Very sweet story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    My least favorite of the series.

    The male lead was weak, easily manipulated, and abusive. Read this novel only to finish the triology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    If you start here, you won't finish with this one!

    As mentioned by others , this is the first of a 4 part series on the Montgomery brothers. They're all great books (I've read 3, halfway through Velvet Angel) - Gavin and Judith's story is wonderful. Gavin is complex - he's a good man ultimately, but starts out a bit like a thick headed pig, totally in love with a woman who turns out to be just evil (she makes appearances later in the series - ugh!) Judith is stubborn and willful too, but she's had a terrible past. The story is so well written and you learn about the other brothers for the first time -and end up wanting to read their stories too. And you should!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    I tried...really (SPOILER)

    I love historical romance, but this book fell flat in my opinion. I didn't get a good sense of time or place. The dialog was contemporary even though it belonged in the medieval times ( I think). I disliked Gavin immensely, even though his actions could have been common in those times. I've read many books with rough male characters, but they were better written, I guess. Gavin just came across mean, and vindictive. They kept going back and forth to extremes. One minute giggling and having sex, the next hating each other, with a lot of time passing unaccounted for. It wasn't believable. Judith didn't hold out for long. I know she was an innocent and didn't know much about men, but after being raped and slapped around, she was more than eager to jump in bed with him and giggle. At least until she was reminded of Alice. Then it was back to square one. There was really no progression. And what was up with the minor character, Walter Demari? He sees her one day and next thing you know, without any character progression, attacks and kidnaps. Sorry, but I couldn't finish it...and I rarely do that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Hkn,n,.

    N,hkb,jl jlkl
    Hkb,bmn,oi.hjuo
    Jkjl Mn,n, m,v,n,hk
    Uo.n,
    n,
    Muob, n,io
    Jl.ub,n,
    Jkb,iohk
    Uo
    Jl.b,
    N,m,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Anonomyous

    Good read. It was an emotional roller coaster... but a very abrupt ending. I wish there was an epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!! It was funny...it was sad...it was passiona

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!! It was funny...it was sad...it was passionate! I love it when a book can make me laugh out loud or draw tears in my eyes! This is a must read! I want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Must read

    Great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Entertaing

    This is my second time reading a book from this author, and i teally enjoyed it! No it wasn't the best, but I could not put it down, and will continue to read the sequals to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    M.l.Clampitt, Corona, Ca.

    I loved the book. I hated the small type at the begining of each chapter. There was no way to enlarge the first paragraph to be able to read it easily. I hope the other books in this series are not this way. The book itself was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    A classic novel by Deveraux

    This is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book!

    This book made me laugh and cry. Picked it up and couldn't put it down until i finished! Loved it so much i had to buy the other 3 books in this Montgomery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Love This Series

    I love this book, it is my favorite series. Jude Deveraux is my favorite author. I like the way she writes her characters, they are human beings, not dream men who don't exist. I just wish she still wrote historical romance instead of contemporary. If you are looking for wonderful books, with engaging characters, that keep your interest throughout you can't go wrong with Jude Deveraux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Love this book!!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 27, 2011

    not at all recommended

    Sadly this might have been a wonderful romance it certainly had potential but the men slap women repeatedly - far too much domestic violence. I do not agree that it is just a part of the era, I do not read romance to imagine women suffering. This is a real let-down and I am surprised it garnered so many 5 star ratings.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love this entire series!

    The Montgomery men made me fall permanently head over heels. Jude Deveraux has been my favorte author since the eighties. All of the books in this series will delight and leave you craving more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    A quick, easy and enjoyable read

    This book was a quick and easy read that I really enjoyed. However, I felt it came to a rather ubrupt end, and I wished that the author had allowed more of a look into the life of Gavin and Judith once they finally admitted that they loved each other. Over all, if you're looking for a page turner that is full of love, suspense and characters that are easy to relate to, then I think you will enjoy The Velvet Promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ;0D

    I love this book i have just re read it and i must say Gavin was a bit harsh sometimes but I like that Judith held her own. Alice if i saw her face to face it would hit her upside the head and the brothers they were so sweet to Judith.Judith's mom Helen and John too cute. I still have the feeling i did when i was reading it when i was younger. I will be re reading the other brothers.

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7