Customer Reviews for

Velvet Song

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Complex - a interesting story, but not the Raine of other Velvet books

I have mixed feelings about this one, mainly because Raine is such a jacka** for most of the book - and this is our funny, caring brother. (Remember how wonderful he was to both Judith and Bronwyn?) So here he is with Alyx and he's just terrible to her, always willing t...
I have mixed feelings about this one, mainly because Raine is such a jacka** for most of the book - and this is our funny, caring brother. (Remember how wonderful he was to both Judith and Bronwyn?) So here he is with Alyx and he's just terrible to her, always willing to think that she's somehow offending his honor. Not that she's perfect -she's a typical 'Velvet' herione, stong willed, stubborn, heading into trouble with nary a thought. The plot device that has her hide as a boy is interesting though - as is her friendship with Jocelyn, he's an interesting character (back from Velvet Promise). Once again, the overall story is well-written, and the way that she ties together the 4 books is fascinating. Read this one, but be warned - Raine is having a bad day for most of it!

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok its gd but it could use some work!!!

ok i love jude's books i think they get a little steamy though! but anyway i read 'velvet song' quite awhile ago so when i find it among my books i read it again i didn't think it was as gd as i 1st thought I hate it when they kill ppl off in the beginin' so i was a li...
ok i love jude's books i think they get a little steamy though! but anyway i read 'velvet song' quite awhile ago so when i find it among my books i read it again i didn't think it was as gd as i 1st thought I hate it when they kill ppl off in the beginin' so i was a little 'put off' as it were but the book starts 2 get better but unfortunately it gets slow and boring i mean jude should have ended the book sooner but i would still recommed the book 2 ppl that have a lot of patience!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Ok its gd but it could use some work!!!

    ok i love jude's books i think they get a little steamy though! but anyway i read 'velvet song' quite awhile ago so when i find it among my books i read it again i didn't think it was as gd as i 1st thought I hate it when they kill ppl off in the beginin' so i was a little 'put off' as it were but the book starts 2 get better but unfortunately it gets slow and boring i mean jude should have ended the book sooner but i would still recommed the book 2 ppl that have a lot of patience!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Complex - a interesting story, but not the Raine of other Velvet books

    I have mixed feelings about this one, mainly because Raine is such a jacka** for most of the book - and this is our funny, caring brother. (Remember how wonderful he was to both Judith and Bronwyn?) So here he is with Alyx and he's just terrible to her, always willing to think that she's somehow offending his honor. Not that she's perfect -she's a typical 'Velvet' herione, stong willed, stubborn, heading into trouble with nary a thought. The plot device that has her hide as a boy is interesting though - as is her friendship with Jocelyn, he's an interesting character (back from Velvet Promise). Once again, the overall story is well-written, and the way that she ties together the 4 books is fascinating. Read this one, but be warned - Raine is having a bad day for most of it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Quick Read. Having the main character Alyx dress as a man was wh

    Quick Read.
    Having the main character Alyx dress as a man was what drew me to this book. A character in disguise is always intriguing. Alyx was set up to be headstrong through most of the book which made this a quick read. Yet at one point near the end there was an off putting scene where she becomes submissive. Throughout the whole book Alyx stands up to Raine's chauvinistic personality, yet in one scene-- where he spanks her like a child over his knee to lord his will over hers-- she completely abandons her ideals and lets herself succumb to Raine's. Based on Alyx's faithful headstrong personality up to that point, that one scene seems to be off. It seems more likely she would've fought him. Otherwise a nice quick read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great Book

    This is such a wonderful book and a great series. I have read this series over and over again, absolutely wonderful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Best of the best

    My favorite of the seried. Good depth of character.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    Just found this author and I have read 5 or 6 books in the last 2 weeks by her I read this one in 1 day I really enjoyed it the characters are great. The whole series has been a page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    THE BEST

    I. read this series. when it was first written twety years ago and can say without a doubt. it is still one off the best series I have ever read and this book is the best of the series. It gives me new found faith love

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Actioo=backed Romance

    The look at English life in the 1500's was interesting. It seem to have a lot of self examination in it. It was an easy and enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    My favorite

    Raine is my favorite of the 4 brothers. His selflessness and courage are unending and matched only by Alex's bravery and undying love. Truly the best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    Loved It

    Raine made you mad and frustrated and love him. Great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2006

    my first and my most fav.!!!!!!

    this is my first JD's novel and the starting of my romance novels obsession.i read the back cover and bought it right away.i went back to hostel and read it all night until finished.after that i started to collect JD's books and tried other romance authors.altho i hv read alot since that but velvet song had left a huge impact on me as an avid romance reader. i would definitely recommend anyone to read it.trust me, it is really worth ur time and money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    A Dedicated Reader

    Amazing!!! This is one of my favorites and I've read just about every one of her books...I just couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    AMAZING!!!

    once i started i couldn't put the book down..with blood-shot eyes i read it a couple more times before rushing off to get more of J.D's books...stunning talent!!! i admit it i'm hooked!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Excellent!

    This book is just great. I loved the Montgomery brothers. Out of all the Montgomery books, this is my favorite. I just loved Alyx from the beginning and then you could just feel the quality of her wonderful voice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    The Best Romance Ever

    This is my first romance novel that I have read. It was so good. I loved the book so much that I couldn't put it down. The best part was the first kiss between Alyx and Raine. I keep reading that part over and over. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5