Customer Reviews for

Velveteen

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    Let me just start off saying that I am incredibly thankful that

    Let me just start off saying that I am incredibly thankful that I was able to read this book, I LOVED IT! From beginning to end, I stayed up all night reading it, could not put it down. Once I have read a book I don't typically read any reviews on it until I have written my own as I don't want anyone else's opinion in my head at all, however, for some reason with this one I did read some, and I was surprised at what I read in some of them. I know everyone has their own opinion and that is awesome, but I thought I would do this review a little differently and put in some of what I read on other reviews, and what I thought about it.




    So it sounds like some people were looking for more "grit and gore", but for me it was perfect, I am not a fan of horror at all, I can never sleep after for days! But Daniel gave me just enough of the creep factor that I cringed a few times while reading it, but I was still able to sleep and not dream about Bonesaw and what he could possibly do to me. The other thing I noticed is some were not happy with the take that he had on purgatory because it did not seem "realistic" enough, to me that just does not sound right as who really knows what purgatory looks like, or how it is operated? I love when an author will take something that we think we know about and twist it and make me believe that it could totally be something different.




    I have heard a lot of other bloggers talk lately about how some books in the YA section are getting "watered down" because it seems to be the same story over and over, or at least the same kind of plot line, and I  am so happy to say that this is not the case in Velveteen by any means. I love Velvet, and I think I would want to be just like her if I were in the same situation, she was kidnapped and murderer by the psycho named Bonesaw, and instead of going fully to "the other side" she gets stuck in purgatory, and rather than feel sorry for herself, she seeks revenge on Bonesaw any way that she can. She crosses back and forth between our world and purgatory and terrorises him as much as she can, and I would have to say that these were some of my favourite parts to read because it is hilarious what she does.




    I also loved meeting all the other characters in the book, even the ones that annoyed me to no end, they each brought something to the book to give it colour for sure. I think that is what a book should have, when you are reading, you want it to effect you and make you think and feel, and this book did all that for me. If you are looking for a book to give you the creeps but also a great story, this one is for you, I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Reagan Hacker

    It was AWESOME! I couldnt put it down i just wanted to keep reading! I recommend this book to anyone that likes ghost\demonic spirit stories. Daniel Marks is an amazing writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Mark

    Swims

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Avari

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I LOVE IT

    WASTE OF MONEY IS EITHER MENTALLY ILL OR HAS ISSUES BECAUSE MY SISTER ENJOYS IT AND NO ONE HAS THE RIGHT TO MAKE FUN OF IT BECAUSE IT SOUNDS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NO STARS FOR YOU

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This One Made My Hands and Feet Sweat! Because I've developed m

    This One Made My Hands and Feet Sweat!

    Because I've developed my own vision of the afterlife, I found it immensely fascinating to read Daniel Marks' much darker take on limbo or in his vision, purgatory. I also found it amusing that we'd both used origami in our stories. It's possible that a therapist would have a field day hanging out with the two of us, our origami references and all the people in our heads. LOL!

    There were several characters in VELVETEEN that I really enjoyed, but Velveteen Monroe was my favorite. She's just like an Oreo--dark and crunchy on the outside, but once you peel her apart, she's soft and sweet on the inside. Anyway you come at her, she's a wonderful, layered and fun character.

    My favorite plot line in the story had to involve Bonesaw, the madman who kidknapped and murdered Velvet. Even though my hands and feet were sweating as I was reading, I was riveted to the story with the same morbid fascination that I had with The Silence of the Lambs. Of course, Marks handled this gruesome topic in an age appropriate manner. But did I mention that my hands and feet were sweating?

    Lastly, I enjoyed this book because it was different. If there is a box that most books sit in, VELVETEEN falls just outside--making it a unique and interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    What I Liked: 1) Velveteen. Her name alone is perfection. Think

    What I Liked: 1) Velveteen. Her name alone is perfection. Think about what velvet is, smooth and soft. Velveteen (the girl) is exactly not those things. She's kind of like...rough, and hard core. But she wears the name perfectly. At the same time, she is also more caring than I think she lets on. I mean, she's trying to save people, after all. 2) The uniqueness of the story. This is the first story I've read that takes place primarily in Purgatory, where the main characters are ghosts. Or spirits. I think I was expecting something more morbid, and while it was kinda morbid, it wasn't so morbid that it interfered with the story. There were a lot of unique aspects to this story, but I don't want to mention them all, rather let you be surprised when you read it for yourself. 3) The colors! This story comes alive (ironically) through the descriptions of setting and character. I don't know if this happens for y'all when you're reading, but for me, with really well-written books seem to come alive in vivid pictures as I'm reading. That's what the excellent descriptions were able to do in Velveteen. I always think of these as the colors, because instead of black and white words on a page, I see it all in color. 4) Nick. He was a different kind of male MC. He doesn't come until well into the story, and he takes a backseat to Velveteen. Seems like in a lot of YA stories, the guy is the...Alpha. Not so in this book. Velveteen definitely takes the lead ALMOST all of the time, and it gives Nick an interesting role to play. 5) The surprise. Not saying anything else. Don't even ask.

    What I Didn't Like: The ending was a little gory for me. Seriously. I cover my eyes when they show blood on Grey's Anatomy though, so take from that what you will. I would soooo never make it as a doctor. But yeah, the end, it's descriptively gory. That should tell you just how good the details are in this book though.

    Overall Thoughts: Velveteen is a deliciously morose story that is full of fire. The main and supporting characters play the equivalent of super hero/policemen/ghost hunters in their world, but they do it with an edge that comes from living in the land of purgatory. And then you get to go along with Velveteen as she illegally haunts the aboveground. Everything about this story is unique and appealing to anyone who loves a good story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I received this book from NetGalley for a honest review. Velvete

    I received this book from NetGalley for a honest review. Velveteen was murdered by a crazy man she calls Bonesaw and if that isn't bad enough she doesn't get to go to heaven or hell for that matter. Nope she ends up in Purgatory. Just imagine a world of ash and grey everywhere and that is where she is. She only wants to make Bonesaw's life miserable but every time she goes and haunts him it has bad side effects in Purgatory. She also has a job to do she is the leader of the Salvage team. She rescues souls that have been kidnapped by people for their own purposes. Her team rescues a soul that may just mean trouble for her as she is drawn to him and she shouldn't be for several reasons. Nick at first doesn't believe he is dead but soon believes Velveteen and becomes a member of her team when a member moves on. As they fall for each other while trying to fight their feelings they also have to figure out who is causing all the Shadowquakes that is destroying their home in Purgatory. It seems Velveteen and her haunting may be a part of why.

    The characters in this book are fantastic! Velveteen is such a take charge person and such a strong leader it is hard to believe she was murdered. Got to say I believe I would follow her and want to be on her team. Nick you will fall in love with even if he gets on your nerves a little with the jokes and things he says. He reminds of little boys in kindergarten pulling a girls hair he likes. It makes him so adorable in some ways. You also get to meet the twins who are part of the team. Love them and their attitudes. Imagine street tough 12 year olds. Their is loads more of characters to get to know in this amazing book.

    I have to say I read a lot of books but this one is in my top 10 I have read this year. The world Daniel Marks creates in this book is a fresh idea where I think I have read it all. I have read books about heaven and hell but never any about purgatory. You really get inside Velveteen's head as she tries to get even with Bonesaw and what all he did to her. You in a way hope she would find peace and move on then you think nope she belongs here to lead these people and help take care of them. The book has a darker feel to it and you feel like you are in a strange world, but a strange world you want to read more about. So much happens in this book you have fight scenes, ghost, love even a fly covered zombie that made me laugh picturing it. I could picture it easily to as it is so well written you feel you are along for the ride with Velveteen. I could seriously ramble on and on about this book but I won't spoil it for you. Trust me if you like a dark YA book pick this one up. It is so amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Marks wicked imagination took me into the depths of purgatory, with beautiful, dark details and fascinating characters

    4.5 You know that feeling you get when you first begin reading a book and realize you have stumbled onto something really good. When it grabs you at page one and you submerse yourself into the world the author has created? That is exactly what happened to me when I opened up Velveteen. Marks wicked imagination took me into the depths of purgatory, with beautiful, dark details and fascinating characters. With multiple plots weaved throughout this tale I found myself completely spellbound. When we meet sixteen year old Velveteen Moore she is dead, and haunting the home of the man who killed her. When Velveteen died, she did not cross over into the light, instead she ended up in purgatory. Despite the risk of losing her soul, she keeps sneaking out to try and stop him. In this fascinating, dark, grey world she is the team leader of a group that protect those dwelling in purgatory. Recent threats and talks of the "end of times" have caused tension and disastrous events. When "Shakequakes" begin and souls are snatched, Velveteen and her team head through a crack to find the source of the disturbance. A new co-worker named Nick is about to shake Velveteen’s world up. The tale that unfolds is dark, gritty, humorous, scary, freaky, page-turning and at times deliciously romantic. I really liked snarky protagonist Velveteen. She has attitude, and is a kick-ass leader for her team. Her outward image depicts someone who is tough, and untouchable. Inside, she cares… a lot. She worries about her team and saving purgatory. Thoughts of Bonesaw and revenge drive her. I loved how despite her own terrifying memories and overwhelming sense of fear that she tackles things head on. She fiercely protects her heart for fear of being hurt. When she lets people in she discovers something special. I loved how clever she was at piecing together clues and executing a plan. Nick was a drop dead gorgeous jock living with his overworked, underpaid Mom before his death. Now he is in purgatory and let’s just say death agrees with him. He has that messy never care hair you want to run your fingers through.(yum) His warm expressive eyes and crooked smile have all the girls swooning. Despite some of his libido driven conversations (rolls eyes) and puppy dog comments, I liked him. He looks out for his team; stand up for what he believes and totally has the hots for Velveteen. His feelings for her were kinda insta-lovey. Grr! Thankfully Velveteen had other ideas and we got to see things develop. She on the other hand definitely finds him oh so kissable, but as her leader he is totally against the rules and untouchable. It was fun watching these two interact and seeing her tough exterior crack. There were definitely some sweet, romantic moments. Other characters from the station manager to the origami maker made the tale interesting. Marks really developed all of the characters, giving them each a distinct personality and made them memorable. I love when even the secondary characters are fleshed out. Bonesaw and the villain gave me the creeps and added suspense. Marks blew me away with his world-building and imagination. I loved the world he created and the details he used to bring this underground city to life. I love so many things about purgatory. Who would have thought? If Tim Burton were to create a movie about this dark, gritty, nightmarish place he need only consult Marks. I was completely enthralled with this world, from the train

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1