Customer Reviews for

The Velveteen Rabbit

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I read as a child.

This was my favorite book when I was a child. To this day, it still gets me choked up. Very touching story of the love a child has for his toy and what that love has done for the rabbit. Beautiful illustrations to keep a child interested in the pages and the story. S...
This was my favorite book when I was a child. To this day, it still gets me choked up. Very touching story of the love a child has for his toy and what that love has done for the rabbit. Beautiful illustrations to keep a child interested in the pages and the story. Sniff, Sniff.

posted by Rayginc on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad

I wish you could give it no stars. This one is terrible. It is mising a lot ofcpages and has duplicates of others instead. :-(

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    One of the best books I read as a child.

    This was my favorite book when I was a child. To this day, it still gets me choked up. Very touching story of the love a child has for his toy and what that love has done for the rabbit. Beautiful illustrations to keep a child interested in the pages and the story. Sniff, Sniff.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    The Velveteen Rabbit

    This is my standard baby shower gift along with a B&N gift care. The story is timeless and the illustrations are lovely.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    A Classic

    A classic story for young and old whose message we never outgrow.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A nice edition at a great price.

    I recently purchased this book for my 4 and 5 year olds. I thought that it was beautifully illustrated. Of course the story is a classic, and at this great price it is a perfect addition to your children's library.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    I luv it

    Read it at the library

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Nice book

    I really like this book. It has nice pictures. The story is interesting. Although I bought it along with a stuffed rabbit, I'm holding on to it until my kids are bigger. They are two and a half. I think the rating for 4 and over is appropriate. There are two many words for younger readers and perhaps the story itself is better suited to an older child. I would not want my kids to think I'm going to take away their toys if they get sick. I think you could explain it better to a child over 4. I am looking forward to giving this to my kids when they are older. By then, they will have more imagination and be happy for the rabbit who becomes real.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    It's always good to be reminded that love has not preset shape!

    The intrinsic value of attachment on an emotional level-hence real love- is a great reminder for anyone of any age. Total value in this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    so sweetty

    lovely app, nicely colored and implemented)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    sweet rabbit

    yeah, that was a nice surprise to have this book here!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    The Velveteen Rabbit

    This is a classic book and a must for all children. I bought it for my granddaughter but had to wait until she was able to read the book. She enjoyed it and it is a book you read and always remember.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    The Velveteen Rabbit

    Great rendition and illustration of The Velveteen Rabbit. Quite pleasant to read to children. They understand it and really correlate it with the illustrations in the book.

    The price was right. It's a great read. If you can find it buy it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great classic children's book

    This is the same artwork that I remember reading when I was a kid, so I really wanted to get this version for my baby on the way. Great classic book. It gets me all teary-eyed :)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Velveteen Rabbit is love for all ages and hearts.

    This story is one that I have read for years to my students at school during my career,to my children at home during their youth, and now to my grandchildren at their homes during Easter. It is timeless and beyond a 'classic'. I sent this to my youngest grandchild for her Easter present this year. She will start school next fall and just loved the story and the stuffed Velveteen bunny that accompanied it. Thank you for making this available for purchase online, swift mailing, and arrival in good condition. I will definitely utilize your services again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Great illustrations

    Got this book for my little neice. This is a great story and the illustrations in this book are wonderful! I think this book is a good one for every age.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    rabbit

    adore the rabbit, the graphics is just the best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    got it as a present

    one of my favorite books growing up. bought it as a present. awesome price

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Bad

    I wish you could give it no stars. This one is terrible. It is mising a lot ofcpages and has duplicates of others instead. :-(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Bad

    I disike the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a awesome version! VINTAGE LIKE!

    I just recieved this today and was amazed at the Vintage aapeal of the book! The illistrations arent too done up and very good, easy on the eye. There almost like a pen and ink 1800s look! The paper looks like parchment paper if it isnt i dont know? But the book blew my mind! I ordered it because of the front cover being so antiqued looking and i was right it is an antique! Though it is new! I would expect to find this in an attic of a luxurious house! And the story is the classic velveteen rabbit! Deffinately a GREAT BUY!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    classic

    this book should be on the shelf of every child. We all remember the story of a stuffed toy that is loved so much it becomes real. This magical story is def one i would recommend

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9