Customer Reviews for

The Venetian Betrayal (Cotton Malone Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great to see an author that cares about the reader!

It is so great to see an author that really cares about the reader and about the story. There are too many authors who are writing and whipping out books just for the profit. This is a great book, a great addition to the previous, yet a stand alone. Characters with dept...
It is so great to see an author that really cares about the reader and about the story. There are too many authors who are writing and whipping out books just for the profit. This is a great book, a great addition to the previous, yet a stand alone. Characters with depth, and a story line that weaves fact and fiction. Well done.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Once again Malone gets pulled into some secret goverment plots

Lots of twists and turns, great history of Alexandra the Great, a corrorupt goverening facility, and lots of action. Again, this was one I listened to and think you would get more out of reading it. There were times I got a little lost in the history and confused on p...
Lots of twists and turns, great history of Alexandra the Great, a corrorupt goverening facility, and lots of action. Again, this was one I listened to and think you would get more out of reading it. There were times I got a little lost in the history and confused on people, but over not a bad story.

posted by GtzLstNRding on December 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Once again Malone gets pulled into some secret goverment plots

    Lots of twists and turns, great history of Alexandra the Great, a corrorupt goverening facility, and lots of action. Again, this was one I listened to and think you would get more out of reading it. There were times I got a little lost in the history and confused on people, but over not a bad story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Great to see an author that cares about the reader!

    It is so great to see an author that really cares about the reader and about the story. There are too many authors who are writing and whipping out books just for the profit. This is a great book, a great addition to the previous, yet a stand alone. Characters with depth, and a story line that weaves fact and fiction. Well done.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    James rollins character painter crowe

    His character Painter Crowe is mentioned in the book, and it excites me knowing these two authors obviously know each other. They are both really good, and ive read all of Rollins books, so its fitting that i should read those of a friend of his.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    love his books

    I've read all of his books so far. Really enjoyed every single one of them. Anyone who likes a little bit of history mixed into the story lines will love these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    If you like 007 type action & history mixed with fiction, you must read Steve Berry!

    This year I discovered Steve Berry's books and his Cotton Malone series. I have already read 4 of his books and bought 2 more. These are well written with lots of historical and geographical details which makes them very interesting. Highly recommend them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    The best

    As always-suspense and intrigue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    The devil is in the details--and this man knows how to write them..

    Love Steve Berry books..intriguing and I always walk away with a different perspective on what I thought I knew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Highly recommended

    There are some missing pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    A good read as good as the other Cotton Malone Series

    A good series read, Almost as good as the Clive Cussler books,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Another great Steve Berry page-turner!!

    In typical Berry style, thrilling twists, engaging characters and panoramic vista descriptions all wrapped up in an all-too-believable plot. And who doesn't love Cotton Malone?? Loved this entry that I could hardly put down! Would so enjoy this series on the big screen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another great story!

    This is the first 'series' I have delved into beginning with Cotton Malone #1 and it just keeps getting better. Steve Berry spins a great tale and I find it difficult to put it down. A must read for adventure fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Sliding toward comic book status?

    I previously read 4 of Steve Berry's books, inlcuding the first two Cotton Malone novels. Greatly enjoyed the historical threads/conspiracy plots. However, each book seems to be becoming more and more farcical, with the body count rising higher than those in the old 1960s Sgt Rock comic books. It's hard enough sometimes to maintain credibility with any kind of historical conspiracy, but when you have people killing people as often as one swats a fly, the whole premise rapidly collapses into absurdity. I think Steve Berry can do better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    If you loved Dan Brown, you will love Steve Berry

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SPY THRILLER

    This book is basically a spy thriller. Most of the characters are rather shallow. It is not on the level of some of Steve Berry's earlier books (particularly "The Romanov Prophecy" and "The Templar Legacy"). Nevertheless, the geopolitics is plausible. The history of this area, both ancient and while under the heel of the Soviets, is interesting. Historical aspects of Alexander the Great, both real and imagined, are also interesting to include speculation on the disappearance of Alexander's mummified body.

    The setting is the Central Asian Confederation consisting of Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan. The plot revolves about the intent of the tough, nationalistic, megalomaniac, Irina Zovastina, Supreme Minister of the Central Asian Confederation, to inflict biological warfare on nearby countries (Iran, Afghanistan, and Pakistan) to create or restore a kingdom reminiscent of that of Alexander the Great. The characterization of Zovastina as an amoral monster on the one hand and a nationalist deeply sympathetic toward and proud of her people on the other hand gives this character some depth. Cotton Malone, the former State Department operative, must stop Zovastina and save a big chunk of the world, rescue an agent with whom he would like to have a romantic interest, and find the biological antigen (first discovered by Alexander the Great) by following clues left by Ptolemy. I'm a fan of Steve Berry. This isn't his best work but the geopolitics and ancient historical context made the read interesting and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I LOVE HIS BOOKS

    This book was as good as the other books that Steve Berry has written. The plot was interesting especially about the diseases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If only there was a cure!

    Pretty good read and the fact that it addresses a cure to a disease that plagues our society makes it even more interesting! This is my 3rd Berry book and he tends to get LONG WINDED but overall the stories are good. The main character is no Robert Langdon but not a dweeb either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    great read

    as with most of his books interesting , fast reading and characters who you can identify with. Have read all of Cotton Malone series and enjoyed each one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Quick pace.

    Chapters short. Quick pace. Didn't want to put the book down. Kept my interest. Will be checking out his other works. Recommended for those that need to escape from life's responsibilities for a few hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Just couldn't get through it

    I'm an avid reader. In all my years there have been only two books I simply couldn't finish; this was one of them. This read more like an encyclopedic recitation of questionable facts with a few poorly developed, unlikeable characters thrown in to add murder and excitement. It failed on excitement, on plot and on character development. Save yourself - avoid this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    Berry Scores Again

    In the relatively short time I have been reading Steve Berry's books, he has become one of my top five favorite authors. I enjoy the historical research and information included in them. I find them entertaining and difficult to set aside for other tasks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10