Customer Reviews for

The Venetian Betrayal (Cotton Malone Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great to see an author that cares about the reader!

It is so great to see an author that really cares about the reader and about the story. There are too many authors who are writing and whipping out books just for the profit. This is a great book, a great addition to the previous, yet a stand alone. Characters with dept...
It is so great to see an author that really cares about the reader and about the story. There are too many authors who are writing and whipping out books just for the profit. This is a great book, a great addition to the previous, yet a stand alone. Characters with depth, and a story line that weaves fact and fiction. Well done.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Once again Malone gets pulled into some secret goverment plots

Lots of twists and turns, great history of Alexandra the Great, a corrorupt goverening facility, and lots of action. Again, this was one I listened to and think you would get more out of reading it. There were times I got a little lost in the history and confused on p...
Lots of twists and turns, great history of Alexandra the Great, a corrorupt goverening facility, and lots of action. Again, this was one I listened to and think you would get more out of reading it. There were times I got a little lost in the history and confused on people, but over not a bad story.

posted by GtzLstNRding on December 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    love his books

    I've read all of his books so far. Really enjoyed every single one of them. Anyone who likes a little bit of history mixed into the story lines will love these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    A good read as good as the other Cotton Malone Series

    A good series read, Almost as good as the Clive Cussler books,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Another great Steve Berry page-turner!!

    In typical Berry style, thrilling twists, engaging characters and panoramic vista descriptions all wrapped up in an all-too-believable plot. And who doesn't love Cotton Malone?? Loved this entry that I could hardly put down! Would so enjoy this series on the big screen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SPY THRILLER

    This book is basically a spy thriller. Most of the characters are rather shallow. It is not on the level of some of Steve Berry's earlier books (particularly "The Romanov Prophecy" and "The Templar Legacy"). Nevertheless, the geopolitics is plausible. The history of this area, both ancient and while under the heel of the Soviets, is interesting. Historical aspects of Alexander the Great, both real and imagined, are also interesting to include speculation on the disappearance of Alexander's mummified body.

    The setting is the Central Asian Confederation consisting of Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan. The plot revolves about the intent of the tough, nationalistic, megalomaniac, Irina Zovastina, Supreme Minister of the Central Asian Confederation, to inflict biological warfare on nearby countries (Iran, Afghanistan, and Pakistan) to create or restore a kingdom reminiscent of that of Alexander the Great. The characterization of Zovastina as an amoral monster on the one hand and a nationalist deeply sympathetic toward and proud of her people on the other hand gives this character some depth. Cotton Malone, the former State Department operative, must stop Zovastina and save a big chunk of the world, rescue an agent with whom he would like to have a romantic interest, and find the biological antigen (first discovered by Alexander the Great) by following clues left by Ptolemy. I'm a fan of Steve Berry. This isn't his best work but the geopolitics and ancient historical context made the read interesting and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If only there was a cure!

    Pretty good read and the fact that it addresses a cure to a disease that plagues our society makes it even more interesting! This is my 3rd Berry book and he tends to get LONG WINDED but overall the stories are good. The main character is no Robert Langdon but not a dweeb either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The new Dirk Pitt

    Cotton Malone has become the next generation of Dirk Pitt. Steve Berry has become the successor of Clive Cussler. His hero is human and his storytelling is excellent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Moves Quickly

    I really enjoyed this book - this is my first Steve Berry novel and will have to read more of, and I really enjoy a book where there's a puzzle to try to figure out to put things together - its a great read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4