BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Venom and Song: The Berinfell Prophecies Series - Book Two

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    This was a good book.

    Batson you need to make the therd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Check out this series

    Review by Jill Williamson

    Just having arrived through the portal that transported them from Earth to Allyra, the seven elf lords must undergo training on how to fight and use their new powers before they will be ready to face the Spider King and his army. They also must learn how to use the Rainsong in order to save the Elven race.

    Book two picks up where book one left off. The young Elven lords have arrived in Allyra and are being chased by the bad guys. There is a lot of action in this book to keep you turning the pages. The characters grow a lot as they spend more time together and learn to use their powers. I enjoyed Grimwarden and his tough training methods and how the teens interacted with each other.

    Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper really know how to entertain. If you love teen fantasy novels, be sure to check out this series. It's a lot of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    In depth Review

    Plot:<br/>As expected Hopper and Batson delivered another interesting plot filled with well paced scenes and purposeful action. I wasn't as absorbed with Venom and Song as I was with the previous novel, but it was great nonetheless. VAS became quickly a questing novel. I like that sort of story but not everyone does.<br/><br/>Highlights of the plot include: the elves' training, very exciting, an interesting land of Gnomes, and the entire second half of the book. Once I crossed over into the second half, the authors had hooked me for the long haul. The book ended in one of the best ways I've seen done. A masterfully frustrating cliff hanger that literally had me holding my breath. <br/><br/>Characters:<br/>As with the first book, there are several main characters. Seven main protagonists and a ridiculous amount of side characters. The authors developed each of the main seven well enough. Most of the character development, it seemed, was to be gleaned from the first book. Throughout the story however one of the seven becomes the main lead character. <br/><br/>As for emotional connections, there were a few scenes that I knew I should be feeling for the characters, but I really didn't. I understood the emotion, and recognized that it made sense, but overall...there were just too many characters. However, during the second half my heart and soul was connected to the movement of the story.<br/><br/>Writing Quality:<br/>This is the biggest downfall for this book. Starting very early on and following throughout the course of this book you will find several cases of the following: Description in Dialogue, POV Infractions, and "ly" adverbs.<br/><br/>Apart from these points the writing was beautiful, detail was vivid, action clear, and very well done. The voices of the two authors merged quite well. I don't think anyone that's not a writer would notice any problems. The dialogue wasn't contrived, save maybe one point, and everything flowed quite well. <br/><br/>Theme:<br/>This book has several themes: leadership, teamwork, deliverance, acceptance, sacrifice, etc. It also deals with issues of prejudice and more. Definitely a Christian book. Ellos, the God figure, is discussed far more than in Curse of the Spider King and plays a much greater roll. If you're looking for Christian Fantasy, this book is for you.<br/><br/>The story ended with a major cliff-hanger. Like I said, one of the best I've read. The final battle scene was loaded with twists and turns and thrills and chills. Tons of foreshadowing for book three flocked the pages.<br/><br/>Basic Positive Elements Include: sacrifice, camaraderie, honorable and loving adults, clearly defined good and evil, respect, honor, and more.<br/><br/>Basic Negative/Objectionable Element: young romance (though I thought it was handled well)<br/><br/>I enjoyed this book. If you read and liked Curse of the Spider King, definitely read Venom and Song. It is well done and you'll enjoy it. If you didn't, well.it's an excellent story in its own. Give it a try.<br/><br/>Well done Batson and Hopper. <br/>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Venom and Song by Batson and Hopper

    Venom and Song is the second book in the Berinfell Prophecies series, a fantasy series with Christian themes. This is a solid good versus evil tale of seven teenaged Elven lords that were raised human fulfilling their calling to lead their people to freedom from the oppression of the Spider King. Through a series of trials and with the help of their Elven mentors they come to realize the true source of their powers and ultimately, their purpose for being.


    I'm generally not a fantasy fan. I've not even made it through the Chronicles of Narnia, which is pretty mild, if even at all, fantasy. Once I got into the story of Venom and Song (and gave up trying to find the exact pronunciation of the names and places), however, I really did enjoy the book.


    I appreciated the interactions of the teenagers with each other and with their "mentors" the most. Details and battles scenes were quite extensive and I occasionally got bogged down with those sections, almost wanting to just skip over them.


    Regarding the spiritual/faith element of the book, it was straightforward and aligned well with my theology. Here is a quote that flushed it out pretty well:


    "From the distant stars.to the roots of the mountains, and beyond, to the very heart of this world-it is all a testament to Ellos. He created, he sustains, and he renews. And why? For his good pleasure. You, too, young Elves, are his pleasure." (p. 124)


    It doesn't give a gospel message, but isn't a mystical, witchy, magical book that would tempt a reader to dabble in the occult as some of the popular books for this age bracket are speculated to do.


    I'd recommend this book to anyone looking for a fantasy book without the mysticism of secular options in the same genre. I'm sure that my son will love to read it someday! ;-)


    *Note: Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Join BookSneeze to participate!*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Venom and Song by Wayne Thomas and Christopher Hopper

    Venom and Song by Wayne Thomas and Christopher Hopper is about seven teenagers whom are in a training program. They must learn to use the powers they have to escape from spies of the Spider King, but they need more than just their training from the program. Together they go on an adventure that increases their strength, teamwork, and their trust in each other!

    Venom and Song is a book that gets the reader into it right from the start. With the great cover picture, to the intro, it's hard for someone not to get hooked. And it's not just from the beginning that it's a good story. Throughout the whole thing the plot stays good and holds a readers attention. The way the authors write is excellent, as much emotion is showed throughout the story from all the characters. The book wasn't too frightening, but it did have a few "scary" moments. Venom and Song was very entertaining, and I was able to understand most of it without reading the first book in the series first. I would recommend it to others along with the first book, which as I said haven't read yet, but I'm sure it's just as good as the second which is a great read for any aged reader!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fine Adventure Indeed

    Venom and Song, book two of the Berinfell Prophesies by Wayne Thomas Batson with Christopher Hopper.

    This lively adventure tale is well-balanced in that it tells enough of book one so that you feel up-to-date and can understand all that happened there.

    There is just enough scripture to know that they mean business. I am anxious for book three.

    Elves, Gwar and Spider Kings capture the imagination. The spiders are so large that you can ride them like horses. Of course the brutish Gwar like them.

    Wisps are only controlled by Holy Words. This spoke so clearly to me because I spent the year studying the power of words with Joyce Meyer's Battlefield of the Mind and Beth Moore's Breaking Free.

    I asked my son Charles to read this book because science fiction is not in my top ten. He loved the book and backed up my review..

    Brenda J. Wood

    www.inscribe.org/brendawood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    This book is awesome!

    I received this book for review and I actually haven't read the first one. I was really hoping to get into the city so I could buy the first book but I never got the chance.

    I can't believe that even though I didn't get the chance to read the first book i was still hooked from the first page of this one. I thought I would be completely confused and it would take awhile to get into, but I had no problems.

    It took me about a week to read Venom and Song but only because we had a heat wave and I just couldn't read, but as soon as it cooled off a bit, I picked up the book and read pretty much the whole thing in two days.

    This book is incredible. Great characters, awesome plot, it's well written and now I absolutely need to go out and get the first book. I am sad that the book ended. I want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Venom and Song

    The seven Elven lords (Tommy, Jimmy, Autumn, Johnny, Kira Lee, Jett, and Kat) have returned to Allyra. The cost has been high, but the celebration and coronation leaves everyone in high spirits. But, for how long? The seven now have to learn how to fight properly before going up against the Spider King and his host. Does everyone want them to have the time, or do they want to rush the fight? What do they do when a traitor is found in their midst, and are there more? As they train, the Spider King attacks, wrecking havoc on the Elves' plans. Now the seven must pull together as a team and fight through pain, fear, and enemies to find the Keystone and Rainsong. Can they find it fast enough to help the Elves and save their world?


    Book two of the Berinfell Prophecies picked up right where book one left off. I received this book as part of Thomas Nelson's Book Sneeze program, and was very happy to have been able to read the first book so close to this one. The characters were alive to me, and I again felt myself wishing to meet them. The story captured my imagination and pulled me in, introducing me to new characters and creatures. Gnomes, elves, scarlet raptors, and more await you as you enter Allyra. It will capture your imagination and leave you wanting more! The lessons presented within these pages are worth learning at any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Gladys reads Spit and Tunes better named Venom and Song

    Sounds like a punk rock band doesn't it? Well it is really named Venom and Song, but like everything else in my life I don't call it by it's real name. You see I get things garbled up sometimes, like my daughter works at a place called Fred's. I never can remember that so I invaribly call it Franks. I do the same thing with the title of songs for example the old standard Faded Love turns into the Clorax song. Oh and don't even get me started on food names, hush puppies turn into shut up dogs and Wesson Oil cake becomes Grease Cake. See how bad I am at names? I would blame it on getting old but heck I've been like this since birth. I'm lucky if I remember by own name much less the names of books, songs, food or even my kids. I usually just yell "hey you!" I digress. This isn't about me but about what I read.
    When I was sent this book, Venom and Song by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, I studied the hard back cover intently. There was a whole lot going on in the picture. A castle, giant flying birds with people riding them, a knight riding a giant dragonfly. I wondered what did I get myself into. This Thomas Nelson published young adult novel is just as imaginative on the inside as it was on the outside.
    First let me tell you that this is the second in the Berinfell Prophecies. I know this because it says so on the cover. I wish I would have read book one, Curse of the Spider King, before I read this book but honestly it isn't necessary. I was able to pick up the story and follow it through to the end. Mr. Batson and Mr. Hopper did a wonderful job of explaining who, what where and when. They even included a list of characters in the front of the book. I didn't always remember who was what but with the handy guide it wasn't difficult to follow.
    The writers create a world in another dimension that is magical as well as exciting and mysterious. Imagine yourself or better said your junior high self a lord in the world of Allyra on a rigorous and dangerous mission to conquer the Spider King. You find yourself being lead by your junior high teacher with a group of gifted and brave cohorts avoiding the whirlpools of Daladge Falls and the phantom army. You learn forgiveness, loyalty, love and faith along the way. This book has a great lesson for the young and old.
    I highly recommend this book for not only young teens but for the parents of the same. Why not bring back the reading hour? Why not gather your pre-teen and teens and take turns reading passages instead of turning on the computer or your X-box?
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Venom and Song The Berinfell Prophecies Series - Book Two

    "Venom & Song"
    By: Wayne Thomas Batson & Christopher Hopper

    The Spider King is planning to conquer both Allyra world and earth. People are in danger. This novel describes how the Seven, the seven young Elven lords, save Allyra world and earth. The Seven, they are young and lack of experience. But throughout the training, seniors will help the Seven to build the most powerful skills, discipline and team work. Finally, the Seven can make everything possible.

    Personally, I think this book is very helpful to nurture positive spiritual and thinking to kids in terms of teamwork, discipline and persistence. I was very excited while reading the chapter of "The Art of Discipline" which describes how the Seven were trained by their seniors, wake up early each morning etc. Besides, readers of this book will also realize the difference between skill and talent.

    However, I believe using a flow chart, as addition, to explain the relationship between "Principle Cast" and few pictures to illustrate the appearance of characters or places will enhance understanding and subsequently increase interests of readers. Therefore, I give it four out of five stars.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Venom and Song The Berinfell Prophecies Series - Book Two

    In Venom and Song, the second book of The Berinfell Prophecies Series, the authors, Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper continue the saga of seven teens who find themselves in a totally new and foreign world, Allyra. We are immediately introduced to a plot to capture the "teenage lords" and the elves, but the task wasn't quite as easy as Heathmord believed it to be. The story takes its' readers on a wild ride that promises to keep you on the edge of your seat and wanting more!

    From the beginning the authors capture their readers' attention through their use of descriptive language. The chapters are short, but intense, lending this book well to reading aloud or for parents reading along with their children. The book fits well into the fantasy genre, but definitely stands out among the crowd! Look forward to the rest of the books in this series.if they are as good as Venom and Song, you will definitely not want to miss them.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Thrilling Tale for Young Readers - and Adults!

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I had received this through Thomas Nelson's book review program and had not read the first one. Therefore, I wondered if I might get lost while reading and start wondering what had happened in the previous installment. But to my relief, it was very easy for me to pick up on the story. I found myself identifying with the young characters even as an adult. I thought they were "fleshed out" well. The story teaches several good lessons about the value of teamwork, hard work, and ambition. Recommended for young readers, but adults may enjoy it also. I'm thinking about going back and picking up the first one. A very fast and absorbing read - I just got this book in the mail and devoured it in two short sittings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1