Customer Reviews for

Vernon God Little

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    where was the humor?

    Felt it had a lot of gratuitous bad language and sexual content. A real downer with nothing redeeming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    Vernon God Little is the Truth

    Funny, disgusting, and completely truthful, Vernon God Little shows us what the media has warped our minds into and how it can make the guilty innocent and the innocent accessories to murder. Vernon Little lives with his mother, who believes that money is everything. When his best and only friend shoots 16 students at their school and then himself, he is accused of being a party to the murders. Things go from bad to worse, so he sets off for Mexico.
    The second half of the book is much more solemn and sad than the comical first part, but I was never so satisfied by an ending than with this one. It's a wonderful book all around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Funny and refreshing

    I found this book refreshing and hilariously funny. The main character is a true anti-hero, struggling to survive in an unjust Kafkan world. Tough to read 'cause you both laugh and cringe. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Tough love

    It's a painful book to read because it's just so painfully real. Love the language. Love to incredibly dark sense of humor. I'd recommend this book for people who can take tough love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Big Disappointment

    I picked up this book because it seemed to be an interesting premise and the price was right. However, I was very disappointed and nearly did not finish the book. The first half of the book is very difficult to get through. It fails to captivate and the language used, which is a regional dialect by a teenager from a small Texas town peppered with profanity, makes it more difficult. The story is fairly predictable with stereotypical characters, none of whom are very interesting. The story picks up after the second half of the book (the language becomes much more clear), but none-the-less it is too little too late for Vernon God Little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    Entertaining!

    I, as a teenager really liked this book. It was blunt and realistic. Vernon thought similar to any teenage boy and it showed how arrogant adults can be sometimes. The way everything happened in the book could happen in real life. I really really enjoyed reading it and i did laugh out loud!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Oddly Funny Yet Disgusting

    Hm... well, 'Vernon God Little' is a very different kind of book. I thought it was a bit disgusting, and the writing style kind of irritated me and was difficult to read. I do give the author credit though for writing something really different. I like that. This is not your average teen romance novel thing. It may involve teens, but it's a grossly different tale. I thought the book was okay. It was funny in some, and just disgusting in others. Not recommended for people with no sense of humor, no sense of imagination, or low tolerance for odd things. I'd give this book more of a 2.5, but I'll just round up and say '3'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Worth the ending

    I have to admit that the beginning of the book was dragging. The writing seemed to ramble on and I couldn't stay focused. At the pivotal point of the story, though, I couldn't put the book down. It was worth getting through the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Very disappointing.

    Selected as the monthly read by the nine members of our Book Club, and found by all to be extremely disappointing. Not only did we not find any humor in either the story or the characters, we also felt the writing left much to be desired, and most reluctantly trudged through the story, just trying to get to the end. The characters had no redeeming qualities and it was exceedingly hard to come close or anywhere near trying to identify with them. In fact, several readers said that they actually 'didn't even care what happened to Vernon' in the end -- push the button! Too bad so many trees had to be cut down in order to print this crass piece of writing. A complete waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Absolutely Fabulous

    You will not be disappointed! This book is a riot! The main character is so real and so hillarious. The author, DBC Pierre, incredibly transformed himself into the voice of quirky teen with all the attitudes of a somewhat illiterate and not quite street smart 15 year old. Finding himself caught up as an accessory to murder, 15 year old Vernon Little unwhittingly decides that it is better to dissapear than to confess what he knows of the crime. Fate somehow continuously thwarts all his attempts to flea the small, stiffling, Texas town of Martirio where everyone is related or knows everyone else. What a tangled web he weaves when he gets snagged in a web of deceit and grafts committed by himself and by a newly arrived con artist who has plotted to take advantage of the bored and horribly pretentious towns women (including Vernon's mother). Vernon's adventure is what is slowly giving him a 'learning' in street smarts. I don't want to give away too much so I'll just say that yoo need to read this book. The speech is so hillarious. I can't wait for another book by this author. A definite must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Sorry

    Maybe I expected A Confederacy of Dunces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1