Customer Reviews for

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

I purchased this for my nephew on his 2nd Birthday and he loves it! However, I would not purchase the small board book next time, it is difficult to turn the small flaps for the fruits in the smaller book, but he absolutly loves it! He counts the fruit, names the food...
I purchased this for my nephew on his 2nd Birthday and he loves it! However, I would not purchase the small board book next time, it is difficult to turn the small flaps for the fruits in the smaller book, but he absolutly loves it! He counts the fruit, names the foods and finds the caterpillar, it is very interactive for him and he wants to read the 'caplar book' at bedtime all the time!

posted by 2111575 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought

I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought I was buying the "miniature" version that is available at other retailers, such as Walmart. Not so! This book is so little, you can' hardly read the words. Will be exchanging for a different edit...
I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought I was buying the "miniature" version that is available at other retailers, such as Walmart. Not so! This book is so little, you can' hardly read the words. Will be exchanging for a different edition. 

posted by keljo14 on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    My daughter loves it!

    My daughter loved this book when she was only 1 year old - the holes in the hard board version were very engaging and we were able to integrate some of our sign language (her first language was not english). As she grew older the counting was fun. Now that she is 5 she likes to read it to herself and practice the days of the week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Perfect for Gift-giving

    I bought and sent this to my grandson for his 1st birthday. My son called when the book arrived. He said he had already bought the book for his son because it was his favorite book when he was a kid and he still remembered how much he loved it.

    What better review than that? And to think I had thought my son had forgotten.

    But he also said he would keep both copies because one was sure to be worn out with its heavy use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Simply a classic!

    A classic book in board book form! Made to be read over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Coming of Age Classic

    Eric Carle is undoubtably one of the best children's authors/illustrators around and shows his stuff in this coming of age book about a caterpillar about to becme a butterfly. Classic and worth a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar Lap Board Book

    I purchased this board book and the plush butterfly that appears at the end of the story. I gave both items as a newborn present, the parents seemed very pleased with the gift. I also purchased the plush butterfly for my 3 month old niece and she is enamored with it. Great purchase!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    My Toddler Loves It!

    It's not only good for counting, but for identifying foods. My toddler wants me to read it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    a classic

    my daughter asks me to read this to her everyday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Children's Classic

    I purchased this board book for a friend's two-year old. She loves the colors and made her dad read it to her four or five times after opening the package. She loves that she can carry it around with her, and we don't have to worry about it getting ripped or messed up. It's definitely HER book, and now she recites the story while I read.

    Perfect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Wonderful Book

    This book is a classic story. The illustration is wonderful. It is easy to follow and keeps the children interested because of the counting and pictures of the food. This book incorporates the life cycle of a butterfly. I always recommend this book to young readers. My daughter is 9yrs old and she still reads this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    Great classic

    A great classic for children of all ages. My 15 month old daughter loves this book and the cut outs make it fun to read and turn the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, beautiful art work

    Great book for children! The artwork is fun and beautiful. I recommend any Eric Carle book. Also check out:
    The Journey of a Grape ISBN# 978144903605

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    GREAT!!!!!

    GREAT!!!! Grandchildren love this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Toddler's favorite book

    This is the first book my 21 month old granddaughter brings me to read when I visit. She loves it AND it's very sturdy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute Story

    This story is so cute and the illustrations are very descriptive. When a child sees this book, they will fall in love with the caterpillar who journeys to become a butterfly. If you're looking for a good book as a gift, this book is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have for every kid's library!

    The 40th anniversary--of course, as this book is just awesome. It's a classic that kids and adults love. I've given it as gifts to many friends. Spread the love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Classic Read Aloud

    As always this book is wonderful to read aloud to students/children of all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    A real classic!

    My 2 year old son loves this story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Never too young or too old

    Great natural metamorphosis told in simple but effective terms with pictures that engage the reader. Delights each time it is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of many great bug books!

    It's hard to deny the appeal of this book. It's fun, and young readers love it! The illustrations are one of a kind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Perfect for my bug-loving boy!

    I held off reading this classic to my 2 yr old son until his interest in caterpillars and butterflies became so great that this has blossomed into a regular favorite. Amazing colors, unique pages to turn, and the life-cycle of a butterfly makes this classic tale a great read to share together anytime! (Only downside is that it has the caterpillar building a cocoon, not a chrysalis and cocoons are built by moths--I just replace the wording and move on.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9