Customer Reviews for

The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Average Rating 4.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

I purchased this for my nephew on his 2nd Birthday and he loves it! However, I would not purchase the small board book next time, it is difficult to turn the small flaps for the fruits in the smaller book, but he absolutly loves it! He counts the fruit, names the food...
I purchased this for my nephew on his 2nd Birthday and he loves it! However, I would not purchase the small board book next time, it is difficult to turn the small flaps for the fruits in the smaller book, but he absolutly loves it! He counts the fruit, names the foods and finds the caterpillar, it is very interactive for him and he wants to read the 'caplar book' at bedtime all the time!

posted by 2111575 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought

I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought I was buying the "miniature" version that is available at other retailers, such as Walmart. Not so! This book is so little, you can' hardly read the words. Will be exchanging for a different edit...
I regret not reading the reviews before I bought this. I thought I was buying the "miniature" version that is available at other retailers, such as Walmart. Not so! This book is so little, you can' hardly read the words. Will be exchanging for a different edition. 

posted by keljo14 on August 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great book, but not as durable for little kids. Great story ove

    Great book, but not as durable for little kids. Great story overall. Wish it was made in the USA, not China.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    This review is from K-152 kindergarten class: We really liked


    This review is from K-152 kindergarten class:

    We really liked the part where the caterpillar ate too much food. We really liked the part where he turned into a butterfly because of the beautiful colors. We liked when he got fat because it made us laugh. We found a mistake in the book; moths come out of cocoons not butterflies. We liked the part where the butterfly hatched out of the egg because he was so tiny. Children will like this story because it is funny and because the pictures are cool and pretty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    A family favorite

    First grand baby coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    i love this book i read it in like first grade and loved it ever

    i love this book i read it in like first grade and loved it ever since

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    WARNING: THIS IS THE MINI BOOK. TOO SMALL TO READ. I'LL BE EXC

    WARNING: THIS IS THE MINI BOOK. TOO SMALL TO READ. I'LL BE EXCHANGING THIS FOR THE REGULAR SIZE WHICH IS WHAT I THOUGHT I WAS PURCHASING FOR $5.75.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    size too small

    We love the story of the Hungry Caterpiller; however, the size of this book was too small. I could hardly read the print. I'm going to exchange it for a larger version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    This was a fabulous book although my first grade students though

    This was a fabulous book although my first grade students thought that it was more for toddlers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Love it. Bought it for my grand children because it was one of o

    Love it. Bought it for my grand children because it was one of our daughter's favorite books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommended by a mother of a toddler!

    This book is perfect for a toddler! She loves the colors and it is witty and sweet and she can't get enough of counting the fruits in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    A must for every child's personal library!

    Your child will learn the days of the week and counting as this funny caterpillar chews holes through every page and there's a beautiful surprise at the end of the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Classic story - lousy format

    This delightful story is deservedly a classic, but this version of the book disappoints. The pages are so small that it is impossible to share this book with a toddler. Be sure to check the dimensions before you waste your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Very disappointed

    We received the book in 3 days as promised but was disappointed to find that it was in less than "good" condition. It was very old, you could tell by the smell and look of the book. The condition should have been listed as Poor or Fair. There was also rips in the first six pages and some water stains as well. I will not be buying from this seller again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Classic Book

    This book is a classic, and I was very excited to get a personal copy when my preschoolers were studying Life Cycles with their science teacher. We already had a classroom copy, and lucky we did, because the copy I received was far too small. :( It may be suitable as a personal gift for a toddler, but as has been said, the pages seem to be hard to turn due to the small size (even though it is a board book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Ideal story for small children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Jinatae

    This picture book is about a caterpillar who eats so much he gets too full.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A must have for your baby's library

    Where would the word be without this book? Eric Carle presents the life of a a little catapiller in such an endearing and cleaver style. Couple this with stricking vibrant colorful collage and not only does is a butterfly emerge, a classic is born.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A must for your baby's bookshelf

    There are a handful of books every baby's nursery should have and this is one of them. This one is made of board pages so it can't be torn. That's important, since your baby and toddler will want you to read this many many times. You can count and watch the caterpillar grow and change and then, surprise! he becomes a beautiful butterfly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    highly recommended!

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a book about a caterpillar that eats a different meal every day of the week. The book starts off with a little egg in the moonlight; the children can guess who is in this egg. Then on the next page the caterpillar is born from the egg and his hungry journey begins. This book is great for counting and nutrition. Examples are that "on Monday he ate though one apple. On Tuesday he ate through two pears." He eats so much that he is big, fat and full! This book is a great picture book to use in the k-2nd grade classroom. First off the illustrations are wonderful and allow the children to understand the story without reading it. Another reason this book is great for the k-2nd classroom is that it can be used for a variety of subjects; we could use it for math, the students could use the different days and foods to learn counting, we could use the book for teaching phonics, the students can learn the sounds of the fruits and match the fruits with their letters using letter-sound correspondence, also we could use this book for science and teach students about the life cycle of a beautiful butterfly (which the caterpillar starts off as). Overall, this book is a great and interesting pattern picture book and a fantastic reading and activity book for any k-2nd classroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book its rocks from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My son's favorite!

    My son received this book as a gift when he was 4 months old. It was an immediate hit! There are so many wonderful things to mention... We love all of the food in the book- my son had just started solids at 4 months so being able to point to a pear and say "Just like you had for breakfast!" was great! The "lap" size of the book is awesome; the words are so big and easy for my son and I to see. He also loves to see the moon and the sun on the first two pages. Pretty much every part of this book is fantastic! It has also held together well; my son loves to read after meals and will get his books really messy (he also likes to make a "meal" out of the book and will chew the pages) and this book doesn't look worn at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9