Customer Reviews for

Very Valentine (Valentine Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Adriana!

I can hardly wait for the second book in this trilogy. What a fun and heartwarming book. I love Italy and felt like I was there. The characters were believable and very likeable! Go Adriana -- keep those books coming!

posted by patoxley on February 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

I loved Lucia, Lucia and really wanted to love this book. I forced myself through the book and skimmed most pages. I ended up skipping the last 5 chapters and sure enough, everything was recapped in the last chapter. Too bad....

posted by 445744 on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner from Adriana!

    I can hardly wait for the second book in this trilogy. What a fun and heartwarming book. I love Italy and felt like I was there. The characters were believable and very likeable! Go Adriana -- keep those books coming!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great story!

    This one is very compelling. It pulled me right in and made me care about the characters and wonder about what was going to happen next. I see that this will be the first in a trilogy for this author, so I am defintely looking forward to reading more!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring!

    I loved Lucia, Lucia and really wanted to love this book. I forced myself through the book and skimmed most pages. I ended up skipping the last 5 chapters and sure enough, everything was recapped in the last chapter. Too bad....

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    VIVIDLY VERY VALENTINE

    For all of Trigiani's fans and for newcomers get ready for a wonderful novel in 2009! VERY VALENTINE which I had the privilege and pleasure of reading recently is a story that comes alive with real life characters and situations led by the protagonist, Valentine Roncalli. Val is a female who makes us proud! What a gal! Devoted to family and tradition she leads her life with strength and commitment. As her grandmother's apprentice she designs and builds wedding shoes - custom made works of art, just ask Bergdorf Goodman. The business was begun by Val's great grandfather and continued by her grandfather. Now, it's Gram and Val working side by side with Val trying to hang on to the business and the building. Aware of her advancing years - she's a very old 33 - she becomes involved with Roman, a chef. Two demanding careers don't make for a successful romantic relationship - imagine seeing Capri without your lover! Val's mother reminds me so much of Toot from Adriana's novel, ROCOCO because of her fashion non-sense and her wit. I could tell you more and spoil it for you but I'll leave it here by saying, 'Come ride the waves with Val, Gram and her boyfriend, Dad's illness, Bergdorf Goodman's contest, the wisdom imparted by an Italian cobbler and the beautiful poetic descriptions throughout the book by our beloved author. The cover design is beautiful, too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A JOURNEY!

    Thirty-three year old Valentine Roncalli is an apprentice to her grandmother in the family-owned Angelini Shoe Company, in Greenwich Village. The two women make custom wedding shoes, a good business, but one which has lost its marketing power to larger companies which make mass-produced shoes. It has all the ear marks of bankruptcy. Valentine's brother is a successful businessman and is trying to convince them to sell their office building and discontinue the business. Her Grandmother is tired of trying to keep the business afloat but Valentine is determined to keep the company going. She studies up on management and finance in the middle of family crisis and other tensions that life has a habit of throwing at us. Then there's a boyfriend, Bergdorf's competition, an eye-opening, exciting journey to Italy.beautiful! Naples, Capri.exquisite fabrics and new beginnings.A wonderful storyline!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    What's Not to Like????

    I LOVED this book; and am thrilled it's a triology; I can't wait for the others to come out. This book, like AT's others (I've read all of them) is a page turner; each chapter left me wanting more. Being an Italian NYer, I loved that the story took place in NY, and the family business was SHOES -very different storyline, and as usual, her detailed writing, from the scenery to the shoes to the clothes put you "there". AT defintely leaves you with clear images of all the characters. The reference she made to LUCIA, LUCIA was fun; I'm sure all AT readers will enjoy that. I thought this book contained the most humor out of all of her books(it actually made me laugh out loud).
    The chapters in this book are longer than her others, but still a great read!! Highly recommend it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a letdown.

    Trigiani has lost her pizzaz. Big Stone Gap was so good. Lucia, Lucia was good as well. The last couple of books have been horrible. Reminds me of Barbara Taylor Bradford who spends more time detailing the cut of the cuff, length of the sleeve, starch in the shirt instead of telling us a story. <BR/><BR/>Don't bother. I can't believe People magazine gave it a good review. I usually trust them.<BR/><BR/>Sorry, Adriana. I have read the last book of yours.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    For those who love Italian Characters and Italy

    Once again Trigiani has given us a wonderful and typical Italian family to read about. Her characters are so easy to fall in love with and to miss once you've finished the book. The part of the book that is set in Italy was my favorite. Trigiani can make you feel as though you are actually there. Of course, typical Trigiani, you will be hungry throughout the entire book as you read about the delicious food of Italy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    Good, with a some slow spots

    The story was enjoyable, but the too descriptive details left me rolling my eyes and skimming the pages more often than I wanted to. Get to the point already!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    Another Adriana Classic, so glad there are more to follow

    Adriana is my all time favorite author so I am a little partial from the beginning, but this is a wonderful story of romance and old-world charm. With so many of us looking for the quality and comforts of years gone by the characters of this book make you feel like you are part of their world. Fabulous settings throughout and characters that have you cheering for their success, this book is a must read. My heart still belongs to Lucia Lucia, but I am so glad there will be more to come in the Roncalli family. Thank you Adriana!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    Love all her books!

    I found this book to be written in the same style of all of Trigiani's books. She draws a great picture of all of the settings and the characters. I read this book while on vacation and had finished it within a weekend. Can't wait for her next one!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Endless

    Seemed to take forever to get nowhere

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You will laugh, you will cry, but you will finish this book with a feeling of joy.

    How can you call a novel about a 34 year old a coming of age story, well you'll just have to take my word for it because that's exactly the fact finding mission that Valentine Roncalli is on, to find her role in her family, in her career and in life in general.
    Deep in the island known as Manhattan on a quiet street called Perry sits a quaint old building that houses the Angelini Shoe Company started in Italy in 1903 and built on the back of Valentine Roncalli's great-grandfather, grandfather and grandmother she now finds herself in the precarious position of next in line to take the reins of this now struggling family business.
    A few short years ago Valentine quit her teaching job to start a new career one in her blood, that of creating one of a kind wedding shoes and in this struggling economy she needs to find a way to bring the business she loves into the 21st century and into the black. Along with her beloved grandmother she finds new and inventive ways to re-brand the name. Along the way she is met with the force known as her family and love she didn't expect to find. Her family is a solid feature in her Italian-American life, but love, not so much.
    Adriana introduces her readers to her larger than life Italian family known as the Angelini/Roncallis and they are an immovable force and bring to life her wonderful tale of love, family and finding a place to belong. The characters are the real stars of this novel they are rambunctious, loud, loving, hateful. You name it you get it and each one is an integral part of the telling of her story. Her protagonist Valentine is the typical middle child, always the peace keeper and never quite finding the right spot in the hierarchy of the family. But she is a real three dimensional character and you will find yourself turning page after page to find out what madcap thing can happen to her next. Adriana's dialogue is flowing and prose like when describing her wonderful scenes of Italy and very boisterous when depicting the many family interactions. This is not a romance but there is a love story involved here and the author handles it with care and dignity and would not offend any reader.
    This novel will delight any reader who loves literary fiction, a great family read, a love story and a coming of age long after it's due tale. And after you're finished with this then run don't walk to the next read in the series out now called Brava Valentine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Hits home

    As an Italian American from the east coast, there were many details of this little story that hit home for me. I smiled and chuckled through many chapters. It's a quick, easy read, a nice tribute to family (in all of its dysfunctions) and to staying true to yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    "Very Valentine" is a must read for book lovers!

    Every once in a while you discover an author whose work makes you feel like you can't wait for their next book because the writing is so wonderful. Adriana Trigiani is that kind of author. I got hooked when I read "Big Stone Gap" and since then I've read every single one of her books. "Very Valentine" is a Valentine to Adriana's readers! It is beautifully written, her descriptions exquisite, and because it's so touching, lovely, and funny, you don't want it to end. I fell in love with the characters and am so glad that the book is part of a trilogy because I want to know more about their lives. It's a book for anyone and everyone! Ms. Trigiani has out done herself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    A treat for the soul...

    Reading this book was like taking a vacation without leaving the comfort of my home. The story takes us to Greenwich Village where Valentine works as a cobbler, for a shoe company that she runs with her Gram. The workplace also happens to be her home as the building is situated with living space on top and even includes a beautiful rooftop garden. Trigiani takes much care to describe the environment to the reader. The smell of the leather, the oils used to keep them supple, etc. As I was reading about the shoe designs, I could SEE them in my mind as they were painted so vividly upon the page. I really enjoyed the descriptive detail.

    Valentine, who is the only single sister left in a large Italian family, meets Roman Falconi. He's a chef for an up and coming restaurant in a very trendy neighborhood. Much of their time together is spent in his restaurant. He shares his passion for cooking by preparing exquisite meals for them to enjoy together. Reading these sections was like indulging in a decadent meal but without the guilt! As good as it is though, Valentine begins to question if their relationship can make it.

    At the same time, Gram reveals to Valentine that the business is not doing so well, and its fate suddenly falls on Valentine to save it. In an attempt to do so, Valentine and Gram decide to design a custom shoe to submit to a big department store in the hopes of revitalizing the brand. They head to Arezzo, located in the south-east end of Tuscany to search for the materials needed, and while there, Valentine learns of a secret that her Gram has been hiding for nearly a decade.

    I don't want to share too much more of the plot but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved the "big family" aspect and that all the women were so strong yet vulnerable at the same time. As I was reading this book it reminded me of two movies: My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002) and Only You (1994). If you've seen these movies and enjoyed them, you will definitely enjoy Very Valentine.

    Guess what? Very Valentine is the first book in a trilogy! I'm so looking forward to reading the other two novels as I really adored the characters and can't wait to find out what Trigiani has planned for them. If you shy away from traditional chick lit, give this book a try. It's much more than a boy-meets-girl type of story. I think you will enjoy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than I expected. As good as the review. Do not read if you are on a diet.

    My first experience with this author. A few pages into the book, I thought I'd started another "always the bridesmaid" tale of woe but it was much better than that. My sister lived in NYC and I felt like I was right back there. It was funny, touching, colorful, sweet, romantic, and fun. I hope the next installment comes out soon. Oh, and the discriptions of sumptuous Italian food had me craving home grown tomatoes in March in Oregon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Loved the book.

    I really enjoyed the book. I guess because of the family aspect and the
    characters. It was wonderful to read about a craft being passed down,
    especially shoes!!! The romance was good but I was also glad that she
    didn't get engaged or married in this book yet, especially since it is
    going to be a trilogy.

    The characters her mom, sisters, and grandmother are what I imagine what
    a close family would be like. The only thing I wasn't real excited about was the dad's cancer. Hopefully he will be cured and live to see his grand children. I know authors put this in books now a days because it is what is happening all around us but since it has touched my life way to often, I'd rather not dwell on it in a book.
    I would recommend this book to everyone who loves tradition, romance and just a good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Valentine

    I loved this book and this character can be as endearing as Ave Maria McChesney. Can't wait for the second in the series to be published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriguing story

    This is the first of a trilogy, and it promises to be a very good series. The characters are nicely developed and you get to know them pretty well in this first book. The storyline is unique and it takes you from NYC to Italy and back. It explores the world of tradition in a large Italian family, custom-made wedding shoes, the high-end fashion world, family values, competition and love. Valentine is a fascinating woman and seems to be coming into her own by the end of this book. Her grandmother is pretty special too. The author is obviously familiar with NYC and Italy, and her grandfather was a shoemaker which adds to the attention to detail displayed in the story. I hated for this book to end and am very axnious for the next instalment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 227 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12