Customer Reviews for

Very Valentine (Valentine Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Adriana!

I can hardly wait for the second book in this trilogy. What a fun and heartwarming book. I love Italy and felt like I was there. The characters were believable and very likeable! Go Adriana -- keep those books coming!

posted by patoxley on February 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

I loved Lucia, Lucia and really wanted to love this book. I forced myself through the book and skimmed most pages. I ended up skipping the last 5 chapters and sure enough, everything was recapped in the last chapter. Too bad....

posted by 445744 on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring!

    I loved Lucia, Lucia and really wanted to love this book. I forced myself through the book and skimmed most pages. I ended up skipping the last 5 chapters and sure enough, everything was recapped in the last chapter. Too bad....

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a letdown.

    Trigiani has lost her pizzaz. Big Stone Gap was so good. Lucia, Lucia was good as well. The last couple of books have been horrible. Reminds me of Barbara Taylor Bradford who spends more time detailing the cut of the cuff, length of the sleeve, starch in the shirt instead of telling us a story. <BR/><BR/>Don't bother. I can't believe People magazine gave it a good review. I usually trust them.<BR/><BR/>Sorry, Adriana. I have read the last book of yours.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Endless

    Seemed to take forever to get nowhere

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I am hooked on this wonderful author. Her books have a lot of substance as well as being humorous in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Not the best

    The author makes comparisons constantly, and it is very annoying. Just describe something without an analogy in every paragraph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    good idea, but disapointing

    The book seemed like it had an interesting plot at first. then it got very detailed and the reader begins to wonder why it is so long a book. Its a light a read, kin of interesting. Id say get it from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was what it was - a poor read...

    I purchased the audio. Valentine's mother sounded like a New York Jewish Mother , not an Italian Mother.
    Valentine whined throughout the book. The reader's voice was too distracting.
    I have purchased other books by this author & have enjoyed the characters, the plots, the "Italian-American" families, but this book was not one one them.
    Maybe if it came in an abrdiged version I may have been able to get through it w/less irritation.
    I did listen to all 11 CD's & couldn't wait till the last 2 which recapped the book. The next book in the series is not offered in an abridgement & has the same reader. Too bad, I cannot tolerate another 11 CD's of whiney main characters & ones that are not convincing to be Italian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Predictable

    This book was a huge dissapointment for me. I couldn't wait for the end of the book. Trigiani has done a lot better in my opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2