Customer Reviews for

Vesper (Deviants Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Vesper

The beginning of this book sucks you in. It is not like your typical Young Adult paranormal fiction stories. You are not going to get romance, you are not going to get a love triangle, and you are not going to get the A typical formula. Apparently, some people that read...
The beginning of this book sucks you in. It is not like your typical Young Adult paranormal fiction stories. You are not going to get romance, you are not going to get a love triangle, and you are not going to get the A typical formula. Apparently, some people that read this before claimed it has the same formula simply because it has supernatural creatures in it. Once I read it, dug in deep to this story I realized I was reading total perfection pretty much. Jeff Sampson has given us a deep, dark, and gritty young adult novel that not only seems to break all the rules, but totally takes us on a roller coaster ride with a girl named Emily Webb.
The token geek at school, Emily pretty much keeps to herself till strange things start to happen with her, namely her suddenly risk taking and promiscuous behavior. To the dismay of her family and best friend they take it the wrong way and it soon becomes very apparent to Emily that she is all alone. or is she?
I'm not going to bore you in this review with a synopsis of this story. I'm simply going to lay it all out for you. It is very rare that a book labeled Young Adult stretches the limits and dares to break free of the obvious formula that The Twilight series has token that genre of fiction. I not only was so refreshed, but I was up till 3AM reading this till I could no longer keep my eyes open. There was no whining where Emily was concerned. She knew that something was wrong and she stood up and it was either face it and figure it out. Or roll over and die, which seemed to be the running trend in the town with all sorts of random teens.
It reminded me a lot of Disturbing Behavior a paranormal film that had Katie Holmes and James Marsten, but it was taken to such a higher level that I caught myself tearing up a little, and wanting to throw the book at the same time. If I had to rate the books in Young Adult Fiction today I would say this was up there on the top ten books for teens the ages of 16-19 to read. I even think adults will appreciate this amazing novel. For me it deserves so much more than to sit in the Young Adult section, I think if it was tagged as paranormal fiction for adults it would have done so much better.
The story had excellent flow and rarely took a break. Just when we thought Emily would get some time to breath, a new challenge was thrown her way. She was a powerful figure for young teen girls. There was no whining female with a controlling older man that wanted to use her like a puppet. Not in this book. I think being that the series was written by a man, it takes on fresh new outlook that was very much needed. I can't tell you what supernatural element this book is about without giving away a major part of this story. All I will say is if you are looking for romance go elsewhere. This novel is a face paced Paranormal Suspense that leaves you breathless and biting for more at the end.

posted by Lindsey_Kirk on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

?????

Why do people write such long reviews??? Its not an essay people!!!!

posted by 10223582 on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Britt

    This book was realy unique and i really enjoyed reading it. I definitely suggest reading Vesper.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved this book! I finished it in two days and couldn't put it down. It really depends on your style of reading, this book was a little dark in some places and ockward. Other than that its an amazing book. I will be looking for more books by this uthor. Hopefully it will turn into a series. Anyways great author great book and i noticed a few mistakes and stuff. Definetly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Yay

    This book was very good! I was surprized because of some of the reviews. It was a great read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Great book

    I read this book in less than a day. That was how drawn in I was! Though the story gets alittle sloppy and unfinished at the end, I would recommend this to a friend. I'm going to start reading the next book ASAP!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Anonymos

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Vesper is a paranormal mystery, told through two very different

    Vesper is a paranormal mystery, told through two very different and alternating points of view. One being a transcribed conversation between two people and the other through Emily's first person narrative. The result should seem confusing and disjointed but instead produces an addicting, heart pounding adventure, that had me furiously turning pages. Author Jeff Sampson manages to mix multiple genres effortlessly and still create a strong, and very complex main character.

    I really enjoyed this novel from the murder-mystery, to the paranormal twist you may or may not see coming. I won't talk a lot about it because I was honestly surprised by it and I think it adds a great layer to the story if you don't know what's going on. There's also a little romance thrown in to, but its not the main focus of the story, which I found rather refreshing.

    I liked the pacing of the novel since it builds up to both its reveals rather nicely. The backstory to both parts was also well done and gets explained with out being confusing or extremely unbelievable. Though as its the first in a series, there are other things that are left a mystery and only briefly touched on.

    While I didn't always find Emily the easiest character to like, it definitely wasn't a deal breaker for me because it all gets explained later and I continued to root & sympathized with her. I also really appreciated her bravery, cleverness and determination. She never gives up trying to figure out what's going on with herself or digging into who might have killed the other Emily, even after it becomes very dangerous for her.

    Their are some really interesting minor characters that I wish we could have spent more time with. In fact my only real complaint with the novel is how over crowded it was with supporting characters. Many just seemed to be used as filler while other smaller, but actually more important characters got very little development. I'm pretty sure this was actually done intentionally, but I did find it a bit frustrating.

    The ending is left very open, I'm not sure I would call it a cliffhanger necessarily but its not all wrapped up either. While that may annoy some people, I found it quite fitting and very true to the narrative that was put in place. I think Vesper is a great start to what I'm sure will continue to be a very interesting and unique series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great Read!

    Worth the $0.99!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Give Me More!

    This book was very good! Although it mainly stuck to home, school, and the streets, I found it anticipating. I was anxious to see what would happen next when night fell. And I really wasn't expecting the end. January 24th needs to get here so I can read what happens next! Such an awesome book. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Pretty good

    Pretty good... i liked the story and the characters were good. It was fairly predictable, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Refreshing new take on an old theme

    Emily Webb is a self-professed geek. She¿s perfectly happy not existing at school; hiding behind her glasses and frumpy clothes, occasionally hanging out with her one and only friend, Megan. Emily isn¿t interested in boys, mainly because she¿s convinced they wouldn¿t like her back anyway, and is perfectly content hanging out at home watching old horror movies. Or at least, she was. Lately something has come over Emily. It all started the night one of her classmates, ¿the other Emily¿ was murdered, shot by a stranger not far from her home. That very night Emily got this sudden urge to dress up in her stepsister¿s clothing and climb out of her second-story bedroom window, searching for adventure. Suddenly Emily finds herself living two separate lives: Daytime Emily who is shy and withdrawn and nighttime Emily who dresses provocatively, jumps out of her window and takes no crap from anyone. At first she believes she may be possessed by the other Emily¿s spirit, but when she transforms into a wolf, she realizes that what¿s happening to her is even more bizarre than being possessed. When another student is shot after a party that Emily attends, she gets a feeling that someone is deliberately hunting down and shooting kids from her school, kids who may be like her, and she could be next.

    I¿d never heard of this book before, and when I received Havoc, the second book in the series for review, I decided I should probably read the first book. When I read that the book was about werewolves, I was a little hesitant because I¿m kind of tired of werewolves. I¿m glad I gave the book a chance, though. These werewolves are genetically engineered, giving the tired werewolf tale a fresh spin. I really enjoyed the story. The characters are all engaging, there was a lot of action and it is well-written. I particularly liked the segments interspersed throughout the book where Emily is obviously being interviewed by one of her ¿makers¿, as she relates to him the story of her transformation. It gives the reader insight into the overall plot without weighing it down, or making it too long. While the book leaves a lot of unanswered questions, I¿m assuming these will all be answered in future installments. It¿s a good read, and I can¿t wait to read Havoc.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Good Book

    I loved the plot of the book, thought it could have been just a little bit better written. Overall, it was good. And the video for the spotlight...let's just say that they could have picked another girl that could read her lines better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Exceeded expectations!

    VESPER, by Jeff Sampson, exceeded my expectations in more ways then one. What I thought was going to be a mystery story turned into a supernatural thriller that made me want more (more! more!).

    I connected so well with the MC, Emily. She is in one of those 'in between' groups in high school (where I comfortable set myself long ago). She has one really great and loyal friend who tells it like it is. The book started off with a bang when Emily mentally transforms into a boy-lusting hottie. I was immediately intrigued and each subsequent day of her changes made my heart pount in anticipation of what she would do next.

    Emily is the type of character that I love to read. She is smart, hilarious, and down to earth. By day she is quite introverted, but by night she is wild and crazy. All rational explainations were thrown by the wayside when she changed. One scene with sleeping pills had me litterally laughing out loud. Emily turned all of her strange thoughts completetely rational.

    The plot was very unique as well. I enjoyed unraveling the mystery of what was happening to Emily in relation to the shootings that were taking place in her town. Sampson really knows how to reel you into the story and not let go. I am (not so)patiently waiting for the next book and more adventure for Emily and the other 'deviants'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1