Customer Reviews for

Vesper (Deviants Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Vesper

The beginning of this book sucks you in. It is not like your typical Young Adult paranormal fiction stories. You are not going to get romance, you are not going to get a love triangle, and you are not going to get the A typical formula. Apparently, some people that read...
The beginning of this book sucks you in. It is not like your typical Young Adult paranormal fiction stories. You are not going to get romance, you are not going to get a love triangle, and you are not going to get the A typical formula. Apparently, some people that read this before claimed it has the same formula simply because it has supernatural creatures in it. Once I read it, dug in deep to this story I realized I was reading total perfection pretty much. Jeff Sampson has given us a deep, dark, and gritty young adult novel that not only seems to break all the rules, but totally takes us on a roller coaster ride with a girl named Emily Webb.
The token geek at school, Emily pretty much keeps to herself till strange things start to happen with her, namely her suddenly risk taking and promiscuous behavior. To the dismay of her family and best friend they take it the wrong way and it soon becomes very apparent to Emily that she is all alone. or is she?
I'm not going to bore you in this review with a synopsis of this story. I'm simply going to lay it all out for you. It is very rare that a book labeled Young Adult stretches the limits and dares to break free of the obvious formula that The Twilight series has token that genre of fiction. I not only was so refreshed, but I was up till 3AM reading this till I could no longer keep my eyes open. There was no whining where Emily was concerned. She knew that something was wrong and she stood up and it was either face it and figure it out. Or roll over and die, which seemed to be the running trend in the town with all sorts of random teens.
It reminded me a lot of Disturbing Behavior a paranormal film that had Katie Holmes and James Marsten, but it was taken to such a higher level that I caught myself tearing up a little, and wanting to throw the book at the same time. If I had to rate the books in Young Adult Fiction today I would say this was up there on the top ten books for teens the ages of 16-19 to read. I even think adults will appreciate this amazing novel. For me it deserves so much more than to sit in the Young Adult section, I think if it was tagged as paranormal fiction for adults it would have done so much better.
The story had excellent flow and rarely took a break. Just when we thought Emily would get some time to breath, a new challenge was thrown her way. She was a powerful figure for young teen girls. There was no whining female with a controlling older man that wanted to use her like a puppet. Not in this book. I think being that the series was written by a man, it takes on fresh new outlook that was very much needed. I can't tell you what supernatural element this book is about without giving away a major part of this story. All I will say is if you are looking for romance go elsewhere. This novel is a face paced Paranormal Suspense that leaves you breathless and biting for more at the end.

posted by Lindsey_Kirk on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

?????

Why do people write such long reviews??? Its not an essay people!!!!

posted by 10223582 on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Vesper

    The beginning of this book sucks you in. It is not like your typical Young Adult paranormal fiction stories. You are not going to get romance, you are not going to get a love triangle, and you are not going to get the A typical formula. Apparently, some people that read this before claimed it has the same formula simply because it has supernatural creatures in it. Once I read it, dug in deep to this story I realized I was reading total perfection pretty much. Jeff Sampson has given us a deep, dark, and gritty young adult novel that not only seems to break all the rules, but totally takes us on a roller coaster ride with a girl named Emily Webb.
    The token geek at school, Emily pretty much keeps to herself till strange things start to happen with her, namely her suddenly risk taking and promiscuous behavior. To the dismay of her family and best friend they take it the wrong way and it soon becomes very apparent to Emily that she is all alone. or is she?
    I'm not going to bore you in this review with a synopsis of this story. I'm simply going to lay it all out for you. It is very rare that a book labeled Young Adult stretches the limits and dares to break free of the obvious formula that The Twilight series has token that genre of fiction. I not only was so refreshed, but I was up till 3AM reading this till I could no longer keep my eyes open. There was no whining where Emily was concerned. She knew that something was wrong and she stood up and it was either face it and figure it out. Or roll over and die, which seemed to be the running trend in the town with all sorts of random teens.
    It reminded me a lot of Disturbing Behavior a paranormal film that had Katie Holmes and James Marsten, but it was taken to such a higher level that I caught myself tearing up a little, and wanting to throw the book at the same time. If I had to rate the books in Young Adult Fiction today I would say this was up there on the top ten books for teens the ages of 16-19 to read. I even think adults will appreciate this amazing novel. For me it deserves so much more than to sit in the Young Adult section, I think if it was tagged as paranormal fiction for adults it would have done so much better.
    The story had excellent flow and rarely took a break. Just when we thought Emily would get some time to breath, a new challenge was thrown her way. She was a powerful figure for young teen girls. There was no whining female with a controlling older man that wanted to use her like a puppet. Not in this book. I think being that the series was written by a man, it takes on fresh new outlook that was very much needed. I can't tell you what supernatural element this book is about without giving away a major part of this story. All I will say is if you are looking for romance go elsewhere. This novel is a face paced Paranormal Suspense that leaves you breathless and biting for more at the end.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missy's Reads & Reviews

    This was one of those books that I chose randomly from my reading pile, devoured in one sitting, then sat there staring at the novel for a while longer.. just thirsting for more. It's kind of like when you watch the season finale of your favorite TV show. They give you an ending, but they leave enough unanswered questions to keep you hooked for the next season. That's how this was. I read it, was perfectly satisfied with the ending because it ended at a good spot - but that didn't stop me from going, "Well, what's next? I want to know ... NOW!" I felt like Veruca Salt... I wanted to stomp over to my parents' house and scream, "Daddy, I want the second Deviants novel and I want it now," in a completely horrible fake English accent.

    Well played, Sampson.

    In all seriousness, I did love this novel. The interrogation transcripts placed between some of the chapters left you guessing about what was happening just as much as Emily's actions kept you guessing. It's a little confusing, but by the end it wraps up nicely. That's the easiest way for an author to win my heart with their novel: keep me guessing until the end! I don't like figuring things out too soon in the book... it makes the novel fall flat for me.

    Emily, oh Emily. I loved her willingness to accept her geekdom. She was completely wonderful and all of the pop culture references made me nerd out right along with her throughout the book. Actually, I was probably nerding out a little more. I tend to do that. She was also a strong character and didn't go completely head-over-heels for the romantic interest and spend the rest of book talking about how gloriously perfect he was. This also won me over - have a love interest, but don't make that the whole story! The other characters were pretty spiffy too, though the two characters that caught my eyes the most (Spencer and Amy) didn't take the spotlight as much as I'd like. For the story, you get enough of each character. For the series? I need more. Lots more! ;) And the twists on a certain friendship and romantic interest? My head was spinning because I did NOT see either coming. At all.

    Alright, so I'm sure that you've probably figured out that I'm in love with this book. I will sing its praises from the highest mountain tops.. well, if I could. The best way I can do this book justice is to just tell you that if you want a great YA paranormal read, you'll want to pick up this book. This is Jeff's debut novel and he definitely does not disappoint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    I love it to death

    This is a great book i couldnt put it down!!!!!!definately re¿ommenend!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Mack Attack

    I thought it was a great book with a captivating story line. It grabbed my attention from the moment I began reading it. The main character is very relatable, except of course for the whole "changing" thing. It did contain quite the normal teenage high school experience with the wild rebel streaks and the partying, but it also confronted the issue of death and how it affects some people more than others. Overall it was quite the roller coaster ride and it was fun! I recomend it to anyone who enjoys a good thrill ride without too much romance. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    AMAZING!!!

    My middle school librarian Mr. C reccomended this book to me. I thought it looked cool and I was about to be late for Language Arts class. I just said "What the hey."

    So, I went home and began reading it.

    It was REALLY, REALLY good. I couldn't stop reading it. I needed to find out what was happening to Emily and when I did (I'm not gonna say anything because some people who haven't finished it are reading this) I was on the edge of my seat. My twin sister Alanna would yell at me to go to bed because I was reading this for, like, two hours a night in a week.

    Overall, this was a very enjoyable read. ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    DestinyB

    Finished it in one sitting. This book is amazing!!!!!"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Should be a bestseller

    Sampson to you i say job well done! I absolutely loved it! Had my hooked in the first couple pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    LOVED IT

    I read this and i couldnt get enough of it! I love Nighttime Emilys courage and fearlessness! Cant wait 2 the second 1!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Cool

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Recommended

    Good book I read it on my nook and didn't realize until about half way through there was a conversation going on I should of been reading I skipped it. I enjoyed the book and am excited to read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    How good it is

    My nook just updagre sofware

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Heart stoping

    Love this book its so good if you want a new books to read this is your book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I enjoyed it.

    I enjoyed the story and I would like to read the next book. It was quite entertaining and I liked thinkijg about how much Megan is holding Emily back because of her feeling towards people.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great BOOK!!!!

    Talk about having a major headache. Poor Emily has no idea why she was changing and she is scared. One moment she was herself and the next, she was someone else on a mission. She was looking for a scent. A boy? Who was it and what is going on with her?


    This book was great! I loved the how it started with the whole getting interviewed and recorded. Very mysterious and a great hook. From the beginning, the book just filled me with lots of questions. I just kept on reading wanting to know the secrets already.


    The plot and the drama in the book was good. Emily has been seen as a nobody. Through out most of the book her own classmates would questioned who she was, when she was the changed. As changed Emily, no one could stop her. I like that she was filled with strength, fulfilling her mission. Although I concerned for her as to how she dressed and acted sometimes. Emily's constant change did keep me on my toes. I wanted to know everything that happen when she was changed and of course how she was when she changed back. And I must say, I like the change Emily.

    The paranormal stance in this book was good and was one I did not see coming. I thought that maybe Emily was a modern day Jekel and Hyde. But no. She was merely changing in her mind in order to prepare her body. At times I would freak out too. But the way Mr. Sampson wrote this was just WOW! He had me at the edge of my seat with excitement!!! He definitely wrote a book I could not put down.

    I like how this book had a lot to do with finding yourself. Although Emily struggled, she prevailed in finding out who she was. I was glad to see her mate wasn't so bad either. The big secret in the end was sort of a surprise. I was expecting it. I'm not sure if there is a next book, but if there is, I will most definitely read it. There are so many unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2