Customer Reviews for

Vespers Rising (The 39 Clues Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Book 11 was gooooooood!

39 clues book 11 was different from the rest because it wasn't totally focused on Amy and Dan. You find out Gideon's, Madeleine's, and Grace's past with the Vespers and then learn of Amy and Dan's first confrontation with them. It shows you what life will be like withou...
39 clues book 11 was different from the rest because it wasn't totally focused on Amy and Dan. You find out Gideon's, Madeleine's, and Grace's past with the Vespers and then learn of Amy and Dan's first confrontation with them. It shows you what life will be like without the clue hunt and how the Vespers could be so much worse than the meanest Cahill's! How is that possible, right!? I also think all of the authors did a great job. As the Black Eyed Peas sing "I wouldn't want to have it any other way,I'm addicted and I just can't get enough!" so all you former clue hunters, go read book 11!

posted by 7473008 on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Love the whole series

I read the whole series. Though they were written for the younger crown I found them intriguing enough to keep buying them until I reached Vespers Rising…..there are some other mini novel which basically go back and give a more in-depth look at each of the characters….i...
I read the whole series. Though they were written for the younger crown I found them intriguing enough to keep buying them until I reached Vespers Rising…..there are some other mini novel which basically go back and give a more in-depth look at each of the characters….it was worth it and I enjoyed Dan and Amy’s adventures

posted by BookeeKC on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Book 11 was gooooooood!

    39 clues book 11 was different from the rest because it wasn't totally focused on Amy and Dan. You find out Gideon's, Madeleine's, and Grace's past with the Vespers and then learn of Amy and Dan's first confrontation with them. It shows you what life will be like without the clue hunt and how the Vespers could be so much worse than the meanest Cahill's! How is that possible, right!? I also think all of the authors did a great job. As the Black Eyed Peas sing "I wouldn't want to have it any other way,I'm addicted and I just can't get enough!" so all you former clue hunters, go read book 11!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    The Adventure Continues

    This is one of my all time favorite series for kids and young adults. Originally the series was set to end with book ten Into the Gauntlet by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I was very pleased when I learned that the series would continue, if in a slightly different direction. This series is an excellent way to introduce younger readers to figures from history. Last spring I used one of the original 10 books with a lesson comparing/contrasting historical fiction with historical fact.

    What I liked about this book: In this book the reader learns more of the backstory about the 39 Clues. We learn how it all started. We also get to learn a little more about Grace Cahill. In fact, I would like to read a lot more about her.

    What I didn't like about the book: I liked it all.

    This is an all around great read. It's a good series for readers who like mysteries and fiction. The books are just the right length to hold a reluctant reader's attention and to keep a bookworm wanting more.

    Recommended for 3rd grade and up.

    Mrs. Archer's rating: 5 of 5

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    The 39 Clues Series

    A book worth reading. Everytime I imagine that I'm in the book with them as they go on their adventures. So adventurous wjile so thrilling!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    One of the best in the series, can't wait for the next.

    Vespers Rising takes a turn in a whole different direction from the first 10 books in the series, it starts with the story of the last days of Gideon Cahill, and reveals a major plot twist in doing so. Then it jumps to Madeline Cahill, and the origins of the Madrigals. Grace Cahill's first days as a agent are told next, and finally the new saga for Dan and Amy Cahill begins. In the end, the book leaves you excited for the next few books, you can already tell they will be much different, in a good way, from the previous 10. This book has a great way of telling each part's story, the authors did a great job, and the style is very distinct from the other books, most namely the heightened element of danger. The book answers many questions from the original books, but leaves just as many new ones, leaving you captivated all the way through. The previous book's main theme of "trust no one" still sticks here, with the new threat of the Vespers, a even more ruthless group of people bent on destroying the Cahill family by any means. The authors cross borders they haven't before, this book is a bit more violent than the others, which I thought made the story a bit more interesting, and you can see this will stick through the rest of the series if you read the excerpt from the upcoming book. If you have read the others, then I would recommend you read this one too, it answers many questions the others did not, and if you haven't read any of them yet, I highly recommend that you do, they're a great series with mystery, action, and adventure, mixed with some great historical fiction, for any young adult. Just don't read them all in six days...

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    He isint a vesper

    Ronald McDonald is a luntic!

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    I AM CENAS FAN

    I HAVE POSTED BEFORE BUT NOW I GO UNDER THE NAME OF CENAS FAN LOOK FOR ME IN 39 CLUES OR PERCY JACKSON OR LEMONY SNICKETT AND IF IM NOT THERE I WILL BE EVENTUALLY THIS SERIES IS GREAT! ESPECIALLY THIS BOOK

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Amazing got to read

    The setup is sooo cool. When I saw it was written by 4authors I was like ok are they all working on the same piece. But I was wrong. Each author writes a different section. On different people. Gideon, Madeleine, Grace, and Amy and Dan are all included in this book. It tells you how the different people defeated the Vespers. Really cool actually. Just for info I'm 11 and usually read really hard level books but these are just fun for me. I can see everything happen in my head and it makes it way more awesome. I love these authors. I am not really a girly girl and every girl at school is like oh so your the one that is reading the books that all the guys are reading. It makes me soooo mad because they are reading these romantic books and look down on me. I can't help reading them. They are soooooo exciting. I love the 39 clues and Cahills vs Vespers series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    A awsome book!

    In this exciting story we learn about Gildion Cahill last moment and a secert that is more powerful then the 39 clues that was said to have the power to destory the world i recommand this book to those who read the first 10 books if not those who never read the seires to read the first book because these series is awesome!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Read me

    Drago said to Grace Cahill in this book "Here is advice to pass to your grand children one day: trust no one"!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

    Many secrets. I won't tell what they are. You'!ll just hace read it yourself.
    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    I love all branches

    Totally like a Janus, love to sing, dance, and act! Like a Tomas cuz im competetive and love sports! Like Lucian because im sneaky and like to be in charge! Like a Ekat cuz im relly inventive and smart. Love this series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    John

    Who do u like

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    John

    Ummmmm........ im gonna go back to beimg tht lonely Labrand that talks to random people. Im gonna be in Battle of the Labrynth if anyone needs me but i doubt you will.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    H

    Best seris i've ever read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    RE:HELP

    Take him to the movies, share a popcorn, and get him a little something. Worked for me!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    After I reading 39 Clues Rising Vespers By Rick Riordan, Peter L

    After I reading 39 Clues Rising Vespers By Rick Riordan, Peter Lerangis, Gordan Korman and Jude Watson I was upset to find that my school library had bought them out of order and did not have the others. I was upset because this is an awesome series of books and I want to read the rest of them . In this book there are many cliff hanger chapters and many page tuners. The book is full of mystery it makes you want to pull your hair out at every twist and turn. The plot of the book is hard to figure out .The characters in this book are well thought out and are like real people they talk like real people they seam so real. The theme of the book in the beginning seams to be set in the middle ages. The style of the book is very inclusive it gives you a lot of detail. The setting is in middle ages and in the present.
    In conclusion I would recommend this book to anyone who loves mystery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Ekat

    Why no ekats?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Jeshauna

    Its the best of the best I know of in history.Its my favorite book I have on my nook tablet.I was forced to read it.I read it and loved it that I ordered it three times in a month!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Rick riordan rocks

    I have read all the percy jackson, all the lost heros,and all the kane chronicles. And have voted them best books ever, he was also voted best auther ever. Anyone who dosn't like Rick Riordan books must not have wanted to read them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    LOL

    lololol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9