Customer Reviews for

Vessel

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Amazing

    This book draws you in. Not only are the characters amazing but they're unique and diffrent in their own ways. I completley love this book! If you like romance and fantasy I highly recomend this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Liyana has trained most of her life to be the vessel of her clan

    Liyana has trained most of her life to be the vessel of her clan’s goddess, Bayla. When Bayla comes, Liyana’s soul will disappear as the goddess inhabits Liyana’s body and uses magic to ensure that the Goat Clan will continue to survive in the unforgiving, but beautiful, desert.

    Except Bayla never comes.

    Deemed unworthy, Liyana is blamed and left behind by her angry clan as they try to once again curry Bayla’s favor. Alone in the desert, Liyana doesn’t expect to live long until a dust storm brings a boy searching for her and a sudden change in Liyana’s fate.

    Korbyn is a god inside his vessel–a trickster god. He is also the only one who noticed five other gods go missing. With Liyana in tow Korbyn plans to rally the other vessels and, he hopes, rescue the missing gods. Unfortunately, Korybn did not earn his reputation as a trickster for his honesty. With many obstacles to face and Korbyn’s true purpose constantly questioned, their task is far from easy.

    The farther Liyana travels from her clan, the more she learns about Korbyn and herself, the less sure she is of her fate as a vessel. The Goat Clan needs Bayla to survive. Which means Liyana has to die. Unless a trickster god can pull off one more stunning feat and a mortal girl can find her own magic in time in Vessel (2012) by Sarah Beth Durst.

    Vessel is a great choice for anyone looking for a fantasy they can sink their teeth into. In a genre that is filled with tales of forbidden love and damsels in distress, Durst keeps the focus squarely on Liyana–a capable, clever heroine ready to rescue herself and maybe everyone else too.

    Durst peppers the novel with stories of her own making to show readers more of Liyana’s world and culture. Set in a haunting world filled with myth and magic this evocative book is filled with varied motives and a story that never quite leads where you expect from the completely original start to the refreshing and satisfying finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Absolutely Amazing story

    I absolutely loved this book. It brought tears to my eyes. It sometimes made me a little frustrated with certain characters too! That only means that it was a great book. It's different than anything I have ever read. Love love love love love!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Vessel by Sa

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Vessel by Sarah Beth Durst
    Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
    Publication Date: September 11, 2012
    Rating: 5 stars
    Source: Copy gifted by a friend




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Liyana has trained her entire life to be the vessel of a goddess. She will dance and summon her tribe's deity, who will inhabit Liyana's body and use magic to bring rain to the desert. But when the dance ends, Liyana is still there. Her tribe is furious--and sure that it is Liyana's fault. Abandoned by her tribe, Liyana expects to die in the desert. Until a boy walks out of the dust in search of her.




    Korbyn is a god inside his vessel, and a trickster god at that. He tells Liyana that five other gods are missing, and they set off across the desert in search of the other vessels. The desert tribes cannot survive without the magic of their gods. But the journey is dangerous, even with a god’s help. And not everyone is willing to believe the trickster god’s tale.




    The closer she grows to Korbyn, the less Liyana wants to disappear to make way for her goddess. But she has no choice--she must die for her tribe to live. Unless a trickster god can help her to trick fate--or a human girl can muster some magic of her own.




    What I Liked:




    Can I just say "everything" and be finished? Yes? Please. Because seriously, this book was THAT GOOD. I was shocked that I liked it that much. I had a feeling that I would enjoy it, but LOVE? Five stars? Wow. This book blew me away, in the best of ways. The gods and goddesses thing had me kind of skeptical, because I generally don't enjoy books that deal with deities. I don't know why. But I really, really liked this one, as you can see. 




    Liyana has been exiled by her clan, because on the day of the summoning ceremony, Liyana danced, but her goddess did not come and inhabit her body. Liyana is left alone, with the desert heat on her back and sand wolves for companions (companions that try to kill her... wonderful). Korbynn, a god-inhabited vessel, shows up and tells her that five gods have been stolen, unable to inhabit their vessels (like Liyana). Korbynn and Liyana set out to find the other vessels, and then find the stolen deities. But so much more is at stake. The emperor wants to take the desert people under his control, but the desert people don't want this. And the Great Drought is still the entire empire. Mama mia!








    First, I LOVE the world-building in this book. I love what Durst has created. This fantasy world is splendid, superb, amazing, fabulous, insert super positive adjective here. I could practically see, feel, touch the desert that Durst has brought to life. Everything so perfectly pieces together to make the world in which Liyana lives - the vicious sand wolves, the deadly sand worms, the scarcity of water, the intense sandstorms... Durst evokes the presence and essence of the world and setting beautifully.




    The culture is so rich in this book. The lore and history is deep and all-encompassing and so, so crucial in this novel. At first, I was like, ugh, another story. But every story that Liyana tells has its purpose. Also, it helps to give an even better feel of the world and culture of the Goat Clan, and desert people in general. The gods and goddesses have such a large place in the lives of the desert people. I'm impressed with how well Durst displays the importance of the gods to readers. The gods are EVERYTHING to Liyana, and to her people. Liyana is willing to die and give her body to her goddess, Bayla, even when she tastes freedom, when Bayla does not come during the summoning ceremony. Incredible.




    I LOVE Liyana. She is actually one of my favorite YA heroines. She has some serious spunk, grit, voice. The thing is, she's not over the top with her spunk. She is practical yet fierce, careful yet bold. She is extremely intelligent. I feel like she and I would get along really well, if she were an actual person.




    I love the supporting characters as well. There are so many! Korbynn, the god who is actually inhabiting his vessel (he is also the lover of Bayla), Jidali (Liyana's little brother, who she thinks of very often), Fennik, Pia, Raan (vessels for their deities), the emperor. I have to say, I LOVED Korbynn right from the start, and the emperor, and Raan. They are my favorite supporting characters.




    You are probably wondering about the romance. If Bayla and Korbynn love each other, and are lovers, where does that leave Korbynn and Liyana? It's not hard to see that Liyana will develop feelings for Korbynn, and vice versa. But Liyana is Bayla's vessel, and will die as soon as Bayla inhabits her body. Well, you'll have to read this book to figure out what happens in the romance. Personally, I LOVE what Durst did. I love the male interest so much, as a love interest and as a character with a pivotal role in this book. There is no real love triangle in this novel, if anyone was wondering. Don't believe people if they say that that's the case (I have no idea what people are saying, but I feel like that could have been something mentioned).




    I kind of loved everything about this book. The story is so intricate and beautiful. You'd think that for a "long" YA novel (I don't think it's that long) that it would drag a little, or the pacing would be off somewhere. That was certainly not the case in this book. I loved all four hundred and some pages of this book.




    So basically, you should read this book. Like right now. Forget whatever you're reading. This book got FIVE STARS from me, Alyssa, resident harda** when it comes to reading and reviewing and critiquing and picking things apart. So. There's that. Now off you go.




    What I Did Not Like:




    I can't think of anything specific to say in this section, but I'll update it if something comes up. Which probably won't happen. But you know.




    Would I Recommend It:




    YES! Whether you're a fantasy fan or not, whether you can't sit through "long" books or not, this is definitely a book for anyone (in my opinion). There is amazing world-building, an interesting story, tons of fascinating characters, and a lovely romance. I'm thrilled to have had a chance to read this book - the culture and world was enough for me to fangirl all over the place. YES, I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!




    Rating:




    5 stars. Oh my goodness. I loved this book so much. I'm actually angry at myself, for having a copy of it for nearly two years, and not reading it until now. This is an incredible fantasy novel. And I have a signed copy, yay! That makes me incredibly happy. Go get a copy for yourself, trust me on this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Life is arduous for the clans of the desert. They prize their t

    Life is arduous for the clans of the desert. They prize their traditions and independence from the Crescent Empire, and they depend on the beneficence of their gods. Every century the gods to them and inhabit the bodies of the Vessels, chosen from among the clans ranks, and bring water and life to the desert.
    Liyana has prepared for her whole life to be the Vessel of Bayla. She has been fed, clothed, and protected to provide the perfect Vessel for Bayla, and on the day of Bayla’s summoning, the goddess will take the body of her Vessel while Liyana’s soul will be forced from her body to return to the Dreaming. Liyana does not fear her death, for it will assure the survival of her clan.
    But when the summoning is done, Liyana still lives . . . the goddess did not come.
    Fearing a curse, Liyana’s clan leaves her with the bare necessities of survival and vanishes into the desert.
    Alone, Liyana faces an uncertain fate until a young man appears out of the desert. He is Korbyn, the avatar of a trickster god who brings the news that several of the gods have gone missing, and that Liyana and he must find the other Vessels and seek out the trapped gods.
    Beyond the desert, the young emperor of the Crescent Empire seeks the survival of his people in the form of a lake, seen only in a dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A moment of silence for all future attempts at fantasy desert no

    A moment of silence for all future attempts at fantasy desert novels, for I think they may have just been viciously crushed in a sandstorm.

    There is no secret that I am a fantasy fan. If you do not like fantasy, you will probably not like this book. If you do like fantasy, you will probably spend several days drooling over the near perfection of it.

    Vessel has so many things that are done right that it's hard for me to put it in a review that isn't going to be the size of a book report. I could go into so many details about why the characters were great and how I loved the characters arcs and this sacrifice and that realization and wait, when did I start loving Pia and oh gosh, Liyana, you are so much better than I am, and-

    well, you get the idea. I can go into a fangasm over it all.

    So I'll try to stay mildly cohesive and point out just a few things.

    The world Vessel is set in is deadly and dangerous and gorgeous, but most interesting to me is the fact that Sarah Beth Durst has never played the game Journey. I'm pretty certain that Journey is what the Dreaming looks like.


    The characters, as you can tell from my flailing above, are just amazingly well-crafted. The humans are so very human, and the gods are so very frail, and I just - please, just read it.

    The only thing - ONLY THING - I had a problem with was the love plot. There were hints of a relationship with her and Korbyn, but it never really happened, and that was okay. But something is thrust on for Liyana at the end of the book, and I can't help but feel the book would have been just as special and amazing if Liyana had remained romance-free.

    However, the perfection of the rest of the book far outshines that one ignorable problem, and this is definitely something I'll be rereading soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Storytelling within storytelling

    The imagery hooks you and draws you in. The pace of the book is perfect for what transpires in Liyanas journey and the characters carry themselves with a sense of believability. I couldn't put it down until I finished it. It was like habing an anime play in my head. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1